We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ,Comfortable and Convenient”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

what a nice surprise East Bay was. Very cozy just like the description of our room. Loved the change from a routine hotel to a comfortable and charming Bed and Breakfast.We will definitely stay here again though I would also like to stay at one of the sister locations as well. East Bay gave us the great "Savannah" feel that I was expecting in such a special location. Short walk to the River St. shops and venue is a great asset to this hotel

Room Tip: Loved the "cozy" queen on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed for 2 days over the Thanksgiving Holiday so first want to thank everyone for working so we could have a lovely holiday. From making the reservation to checking out everything was in order and as expected. Shirley at the front desk and Melvin the Bellman were awesome, helpful, friendly and helped us plan what to see and how to see it. The location made walking to just about anything we wanted to see easy enough for the average person. Being across from the river made it fun to go and watch the huge ships, people and street entertainers. Restaurants, shops and City Market close and worth checking out. The hotel is historic and strives hard to keep that apperance and still keep up the hotel to today's standards. We had a top level room so no noise and creaking above us but we did hear guests coming down our hall and there was one guest who insisted on loudly closing their door. The room was decorated beautifully and in period and was clean. The linens and towels were adequate and good. The mattress firm and comfortable enough.The bathroom while small was adequate but could use a thorough cleaning and updating. We did take the Oglethorpe Trolley Tour on Thanksgiving morning and while the tour guide did a great job on the history, it was cold (low 40's)and it was necessary to have the plastic curtins down for comfort it did make seeing out the side windows difficult. Most of the trolley tours had those windows so on a cold morning try and find one that has glass. The evening meeting hour at the hotel w/ wine and appetizers was nice and allowed guests to chat and compare notes of what they had seen. I'm not a wine drinker and unfortunately while the wine was free the water & soda you had to pay for??? Breakfast was adequate not much more than typical chain hotel offerings but enough to get you through until you found a lovely spot in town to have lunch. We had lunch at Kevin Barry's Irish Pub across from the hotel on the waterfront and had a very good Rubin and Shepards Pie and the view of the river was great and the staff very friendly and accommodating. We had a traditional Thanksgiving dinner buffett at the Pirates House and it was very tasty and the staff very nice, and helpful and we enjoyed dining in such an historic venue even if we didn't get to view any of the resident ghosts. Once again I appreciate everyone working on Thanksgiving for us to have a nice holiday and enjoy Savannah. We would definitely go back and visit in a heartbeat..

Room Tip: Upper floor to avoid creaking boards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was one of the best hotels that we have stayed in for a very long time! Great rooms with a little entryway and rooms with brick walls, great rustic decor. This hotel has evening cordials in the late afternoon and a complimentary breakfast with cheese grits, biscuits and gravy, fruit, etc. Located on the main area of downtown you can walk behind the hotel to the restaurants and shops or down the stairway to River Street. We did not move our car once, walked everywhere - will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXMARTINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at the East Bay Inn last Thanksgiving and returned this year for our Thanksgiving getaway...and we will be back again!! We love Savannah and have visited many times, but the EBI is our new home while in Savannah. Friendly and knowledgable staff; clean, spacious and comfortable rooms; great breakfast and the wine and cheese each evening is a nice time to unwind and meet other guests; location is convenient...just park and walk to enjoy all the sites downtown. We especially love that we can take our pup with us when visiting the EBI. Savannah and the East Bay Inn are a wonderful combination!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago for a girls' weekend with my mom and aunt. The whole experience was wonderful at the East Bay Inn. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, especially Julie at the front desk and Melvin the Bellman. We had a room on the top floor, so the ceilings were very high and the room was decorated beautifully! Anything we needed during our stay was there and the front desk was very helpful to offer recommendations for dining, finding things to do, etc. The wine and cheese hour was fun and I would recommend going early to get the best appetizers! Excellent location as well, just a short walk to the major attractions!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

From start to finish we had a wonderful stay! Each staff member was friendly and helpful. The room was beyond what we expected, the breakfast was so good. We even discussed how good with other guests on the elevator ride back to our floor. Great location. Only drawback was intermittent WiFi. We will recommend to others and will be back.

Room Tip: Just ask for corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

10 reasons I am extremely satisifed I chose to stay at this hotel in Savannah:

1) Southern Hospitality at its best! The staff were so accomodating & hospitable. Staff did their best to genuinely demonstrate the definition of southern hospitality.

2) The Inn's decor is charming and quaint. Upon entering, one feels as though they've stepped back in time. The room was charming, clean and welcoming.

3) Free Wi-Fi in your room

4) 'Cordials' served in the evening

5) Complimentary breakfast in the morning.

6) Located downtown and within walking distance to ferry.

7) Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, parks

8) Nice Touch: A guest book is left in your room to share your personal experiences about your stay at the East Bay Inn

9) Helpful staff.

10) A great price!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Happy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,961 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 115 in Savannah
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 115 in Savannah
1,168 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 115 in Savannah
2,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £104 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing