We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly wonderful Southern hospitality”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

From the time we arrived until the time we left we were made to feel very welcome and special. The room was huge and beautifully decorated. Beds were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with a lot of variety of food that changed daily. The wine and cheese reception each evening was an added touch of elegance. Location is perfect for exploring the squares and river walk. Very easy to find when driving into Savannah. I highly recommend East Bay Inn. i am so glad we stayed here!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarylandSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
There are newer reviews for East Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

We travelled to the East Bay Inn to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday. We required 3 rooms. All rooms were on the same floor, but different views. Everyone was very pleased with their rooms. All rooms were large, well equipped and maintained. We had no noise issues. The staff were gracious and friendly from the moment we checked in until we left. Both the complimentary breakfast and happy hour were not extravagant, but they were complimentary and therefore appreciated. We did not have parking issues with parking on site while there, but there was a garage within close walking distance. Speaking of walking distance, everything is within an easy walk. We had a wonderful stay, and would not hesitate to return !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogcabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This Inn stands out for its customer service. Every staff member has a smile for you. Our room was at the back and therefore not noisy- but any room at the front of the Inn is right on a busy street with big trucks. Wifi is also an issue, we could not get any service and even the hotel computer in the lobby is spotty. Do not count on any reception.

Still, a very convenient place to stayy close to everything.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room on the front!! Busy truck traffic and stop light right outside.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljlp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Definitely the worst desk people I have experienced in my many years of travel. The evening clerk just stared at us when we walked in. Parking arrangements were explained to us by members of our group. Morning desk clerk came across as rude, no hint of the "Southern Hospitality". Considering it was one of the most expensive places we stayed it in, it was the least accommodating. I never met the night desk clerk, but members of our group described her as very nice and helpful. I would have given 0 stars, however, the rooms were nice and so was the staff of the restaurant located in the inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMJ152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperEastBayInn, Manager at East Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Former Guest,

I appreciate you taking time to complete Trip Advisors online review, and I am sincerely sorry to hear that we failed in providing you an exceptional experience. While we earnestly strive to meet every expectation, we have, unfortunately, fallen short of our goal during your visit.

As Innkeeper of The East Bay Inn, I assure you that I take all guest feedback very seriously and I will review your comments with our staff.

It is my sincere hope that you will give us an occasion to serve you again in the future, so that we may have an opportunity to correct our mistakes and provide you with an unmatched Savannah experience.

Again, please accept our apology, and know that we are committed to providing an excellent experience for you during your next stay with us.

Best Regards,


Ronnie Jones
Innkeeper
East Bay Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Beautiful place! Loved the history of the building. Staff were nice, except the night desk clerk, though not rude, just not friendly. Right in the heart of Savannah! Kids loved it! Slept great! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie3641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a beautiful place to stay. All staff are very friendly and helpful. very knowlegeable about the area and tours. Also knew where the best nightlife could be found. Rooms were pretty and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KHel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Melvin the Bellman was awesome and made you feel welcome from the start! Very cute bed and breakfast. Rooms were decent sized and the beds were very comfortable. Really cool brick exposed walls inside the room!! My only complaint was the edges of the room needed to be vacuumed better. They had a nightly turn down service and filled your ice bucket for you. They had an evening wine and cheese gathering and this was a great place to find out from the staff where we should eat for the night. The breakfast was a mix of dry cereals, whole fruit, yogurts,bagels and toast and they had hot items like eggs, sausage, ham, biscuits and grits every morning. When the biscuits and ham are fresh they are amazing! This is in a great location to cross the street over to the River where all the fun restaurants, bars, and shops are located. We found a few local spots we loved that the staff gave us suggestions on. Also a heads up...this B&B has limited parking. We were told our room had a ghost but didn't see or hear of one... if that interest you or if it doesn't ask which rooms do in advance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,806 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#23 of 114 in Savannah
1,325 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#12 of 114 in Savannah
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 114 in Savannah
1,113 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £116 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing