We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Happy with the Hotel And Its Great Employees”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #10 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Extremely Happy with the Hotel And Its Great Employees”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

In spite of the rain we had a fantastic time. The room had huge vaulted ceilings and was painted cheerfully. The bed was a brand-new king-size mattress and was by far the most comfortable mattress of the trip we took to Atlanta and back via Savannah. However, what really makes the hotel is the southern hospitality of the employees, which he found incomparable. The only downside was the lack of restaurant accessibility. Frankly, the inaccessibility of the restaurant was extremely disappointing. It was closed on Sunday and Monday. It's the single largest blackeye for this otherwise fine establishment.

Savannah itself was interesting and we had a great walking tour with a gentleman by the name of Cecil Waters. I will try to do a separate review on Mr. Waters if there is a category. If not, his phone number is 912-238-1151 and he has three tours a day. He is a true gentleman and a historian who has no peer. We were directed to him by the hotel – they know just about everything about Savannah.

On the negative side, do not let the first impression of the East Bay Inn discourage you. The street they are located on is exceptionally busy and apparently part of the necessity of being the fourth largest port in the United States. Once you get by turning into the hotel parking lot and walking into their side lobby, you can relax and have a nice remainder of your trip.

Savannah is a city in need of a thoughtful management structure. It is way too dirty and way too busy to maintain its reputation as a great tourist city. I have many ideas on how to change the unfortunate traffic flow and dirty look of the town, but it is the town's political structure that needs to make the decisions that keep an attractive. Whoever is in office now is not doing the job.

Back to the hotel, I highly recommend this hotel whether you have a pet or not. The only noise we heard was her own dogs brief barking when we went to breakfast and came right back to the room. Everybody seems to be very focused on customer service and they are a class act.

Room Tip: If you have any concerns or questions, you can rely on the front desk for help when you make a reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    269
    70
    31
    9
See reviews for
209
636
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I am not one to post on trip advisor but our stay was so enjoyable that I had to. For one, the rooms are absolutely beautiful with high ceilings, exposed brick and beautiful drapes and bedding. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, with a wide range of choices and very fresh ingredients. The most amazing part of it all was when my husband left his phone plugged in in the lobby while we were waiting for our cab. We made it all the way to the airport and then he noticed. Sheila from the front desk called me and the manager drove to the airport and dropped it off for us! I was so touched at how they went above and beyond to help us. Amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of our Deep South Road trip in late February, 2014. The hospitality was the high point, from the lady on reception (whose name fails me) to the porters and staff at breakfast.
Breakfast was pleasant but not the best point. Social hour was a lovely touch, it was good to meet other people and enjoy the wine and canapes.
The room was gorgeous with its wooden old fashioned bed, exposed brick walls and beautiful furniture. We had a peaceful stay and it was in a perfect location and we always managed to get a parking space. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Cosy queen (cheapest option) was gorgeous and perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My girlfriends and I try to take a trip at least once a year. The staff here was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We loved the charm and ambiance of the Inn. We walked all over the historic district and really enjoyed the Southern Charm of the city. The food in the restaurant was a bit pricey, but really good. Make sure you go to Henrys one morning while you are there and get their shrimp and grits - it was to die for. My friends and I are coming back to Savannah this year for our annual getaway - looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQ287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the East Bay Inn. The rooms were spacious, very clean and decently equipped. The free breakfast turned out to be better than we expected, with hot foods as well as fruit and muffins. The location is outstanding, and we found the staff to be friendly, welcoming, and useful.

Room Tip: Front of the building has nice views, but the street is busy and will generate some urban noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footyyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed with our small dog. The staff was very friendly the room was very nice and comfortable. One evening while we were out the person at the desk called us on our cell phone. Our fur baby was barking and she was concerned because she had not heard her back bark before. We rushed back to our fur baby in her portable crate to find she really needed to go potty. To much Vacation food had upset her stomach. Our stay was very nice and I would highly recommend East bay Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The East Bay Inn is in a convenient location close to the river and many of the historic attractions of Savannah, as well as within walking distance of many fine restaurants and the free inner city bus service.

Our adventure began in our finely appointed third floor room, 323. It got interesting when I put "Corduroy" , a book character stuffed animal, on the pillows of my bed for picture taking. I was using him to tell a story for my 6 year old granddaughter. He was in place for over an hour before we went out for the afternoon. Upon returning we found him upended off the pillows and face down on the mattress. It did seem strange, and later we discovered a journal kept by guests who had stayed in the room. This was when it became really interesting because we learned that it is believed the room is haunted by Charlie, one of the workmen who fell to his death during the conversion to the inn. We spent two nights in the room and nothing else untoward happened during our stay. So if you're up for an adventure, stay and see for yourself.

The staff really warmed up to "Corduroy" as did some of the guests during the daily wine and cheese reception. The buffet breakfast was delightful as was the dining room. We really enjoyed The East Bay Inn and would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing