We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable accommodation”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #8 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for four nights at this quaint Inn. There was a problem with the room we were shown to (it was not the room I had booked over the telephone ). Although we could not move immediately into our desired room, which was a corner room on the 3rd floor, Julie at reception helped facilitate the move as quickly as possible.
Special mention must be made of the Innkeeper, a very nice guy called Ronnie.Not only did he make a generous gesture, he listened and genuinely cared about our grievance.
Sure mistakes happen, but to rectify them in the way Ronnie did was very thoughtful.
The breakfast room in the basement is full of character with brick walls and spacious seating. the food here is very good, served buffet style, with the exception of one morning, when a cooked omelette was brought to your table.
A wine hour each evening with nibbles added to the excellent extras provided here.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the 3rd floor are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpressGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Can't say enough good things about the staff, the hotel, the rooms (319, corner king with 18ft ceilings, and one ghost visit) Breakfast was fabulous, best biscuits I've ever eaten (thank you again, James). Left my Ipad in the b'fast room, returned 8 hours later, they had it for me! Wow, impressed! Front desk folks all so wonderful, embodiment of Southern Hospitality. Ice water there at the desk complimentary, newspapers every morning, wine and cheese in the afternoon. And a frequent visitor program! I can't wait to take advantage of that. Location was fabulous!

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other rooms, but ours as a corner room had a wonderful view of Bay St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyn2lax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a great stay at this inn. the staff were friendly & very helpful. Our room was very quiet , we were in the back side of the inn as a front room on Bay ST. could prove to be a bit noisier due to traffic. we would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Inn is very pet-friendly. For its people guests, it provides a friendly cocktail hour with delicious wines and great help in seeing Savannah. Julie on the desk was fantastic throughout--arranging a carriage ride, discussing restaurants, giving directions, and just being downright friendly. Our room was huge. Included breakfast had variety and excellent taste. Would come back here in a flash.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on busy Bay Street. First floor room in rear is perfect--especially for dog owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdwardBonekemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

In spite of the rain we had a fantastic time. The room had huge vaulted ceilings and was painted cheerfully. The bed was a brand-new king-size mattress and was by far the most comfortable mattress of the trip we took to Atlanta and back via Savannah. However, what really makes the hotel is the southern hospitality of the employees, which he found incomparable. The only downside was the lack of restaurant accessibility. Frankly, the inaccessibility of the restaurant was extremely disappointing. It was closed on Sunday and Monday. It's the single largest blackeye for this otherwise fine establishment.

Savannah itself was interesting and we had a great walking tour with a gentleman by the name of Cecil Waters. I will try to do a separate review on Mr. Waters if there is a category. If not, his phone number is 912-238-1151 and he has three tours a day. He is a true gentleman and a historian who has no peer. We were directed to him by the hotel – they know just about everything about Savannah.

On the negative side, do not let the first impression of the East Bay Inn discourage you. The street they are located on is exceptionally busy and apparently part of the necessity of being the fourth largest port in the United States. Once you get by turning into the hotel parking lot and walking into their side lobby, you can relax and have a nice remainder of your trip.

Savannah is a city in need of a thoughtful management structure. It is way too dirty and way too busy to maintain its reputation as a great tourist city. I have many ideas on how to change the unfortunate traffic flow and dirty look of the town, but it is the town's political structure that needs to make the decisions that keep an attractive. Whoever is in office now is not doing the job.

Back to the hotel, I highly recommend this hotel whether you have a pet or not. The only noise we heard was her own dogs brief barking when we went to breakfast and came right back to the room. Everybody seems to be very focused on customer service and they are a class act.

Room Tip: If you have any concerns or questions, you can rely on the front desk for help when you make a reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I am not one to post on trip advisor but our stay was so enjoyable that I had to. For one, the rooms are absolutely beautiful with high ceilings, exposed brick and beautiful drapes and bedding. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, with a wide range of choices and very fresh ingredients. The most amazing part of it all was when my husband left his phone plugged in in the lobby while we were waiting for our cab. We made it all the way to the airport and then he noticed. Sheila from the front desk called me and the manager drove to the airport and dropped it off for us! I was so touched at how they went above and beyond to help us. Amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of our Deep South Road trip in late February, 2014. The hospitality was the high point, from the lady on reception (whose name fails me) to the porters and staff at breakfast.
Breakfast was pleasant but not the best point. Social hour was a lovely touch, it was good to meet other people and enjoy the wine and canapes.
The room was gorgeous with its wooden old fashioned bed, exposed brick walls and beautiful furniture. We had a peaceful stay and it was in a perfect location and we always managed to get a parking space. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Cosy queen (cheapest option) was gorgeous and perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 116 in Savannah
3,004 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#23 of 116 in Savannah
1,444 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#18 of 116 in Savannah
2,879 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 116 in Savannah
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £112 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing