We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #10 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I went to Savannah with a friend for a girls trip and we stayed at the East Bay Inn. Our room on the 1st floor was spacious and clean with just enough charm. It had a patio also, but there were a lot of leaves and dirt on the outdoor furniture so we didn't really use it. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet ok for most people with eggs, different meat, grits each day plus standards like cereal and pastries (I personally wished for more fresh fruit, but that's just me). Excellent location for checking out historic downtown on foot. Parking situation did keep us from really driving anywhere outside downtown as we did not want to lose our space. Overall a lovely experience!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dubbs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    269
    70
    31
    9
See reviews for
209
637
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a classic old inn, classic decor, clean but some areas could use a little Spring cleaning. The location is ideal for walking to multiple parks and restaurants and if you're into the touristy type adventure you're just steps away from the river with the shops, etc. The staff were a bit unpredictable was hard to read who you might get 'friendly or frustrated' when asking for advice/guidance. I travel for business quite a bit and recognize good service vs. great service and see the potential for the East Bay Inn to up their game to ensure a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 857betsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Overall this was a very good place to stay. However, we experienced some of the shortcomings listed by other reviewers.
Pros:
The bed was extremely comfortable (superior king room), and it has excellent room darkening drapes.
Service (front desk, bellman) was excellent.
This is truly an old building, which is perfect for the historical area.
Free bottled water at the front desk, which will be needed as the city water does not taste very good. And Savannah is hot, even for a fellow southerner.
Breakfast in the basement restaurant is nice. Peaceful environment, and thankfully they did not install a TV blaring the news or the weather in Topeka. Breakfast food was good -- not as fancy as a B and B but nice buffet (no flippy-waffles if that's your thing).
The hotel is in the historic area - one block from the river, walking distance to shopping, restaurants, etc. The City market is down on the other side of Bay Street, maybe 10 short blocks away, not a bad walk at all.
Elevator quiet, reliable, fast.
Parking in my mind is acceptable, considering where it is. We were billed $12 a day which covers the side lot (maybe 10 spaces) and the deck (a block away). It also covers other locations throughout Savannah (meters over 1 hour long, other city decks). Not sure how it compares with the neighbors (Hampton Inn, Staybridge Suites).
Waffle robes in our room.
The superior king has a large sitting area with sofa and two chairs.
Air conditioner works well, and is thermostat controlled.
Cons:
The housekeeping is not what it should be. It's very good, but the furniture was a little dusty, the area in front of the couch was not vacuumed, the long mirror in the bathroom was not cleaned.
Some of the towels had holes in them, and a few others were threadbare.
There is not a closet. Plenty of drawers to put clothes in, but the space in the wardrobe was full of the two robes and an ancient ironing board. After extracting these, the space was maybe 11" wide, with 4 hangars for two people. OK for a long weekend but with the humidity here you've got to hang up a lot - or love ironing. Not sure if the other rooms were like this.
The noise has been mentioned before -- it is a factor, even on the third floor.
This inn is part of a 5 or 6 group of establishments. As far as support services, I get the sense that central management may not be providing sufficient resources to keep this inn running as it should be. Certainly the staff I noticed looked pretty busy.
Overall it is a very good place to stay and Savannah is definitely a great place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolina_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent a few days in Savannah in April with our friends from Canada and we were thrilled with this charming property. The central location is excellent, close to all the sights, the river, wonderful restaurants. The staff was exceptional. From the minute we were greeted by Julie at he front desk, we felt like we were valued guests. The accommodations were very comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious. We will definitely be back. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in early May (Wed/Thurs) while in the area. First, the location of this hotel is great. Right in the heart of the Historic District and only a block from the busy River St. area. We could walk everywhere, which was good, because parking is a challenge here. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Melvin the bellman was ever-present and more than willing to help with anything. The room we had (superior king) was a nice size and the bed was very comfortable. For an old building, it had the necessary modern features. The free breakfast each morning exceeded expectations and was a great start to the day.
With great location, comes noise. Our room faced busy E. Bay St. and although it didn't keep us up at night, there is a significant amount of truck/vehicle traffic at all times of the day. The air conditioning, although working very well, was also quite loud. The evening wine reception, while a nice, homey touch, could be enhanced if there was a cash bar available for the non-wine drinkers, like my husband.
All in all, if you want a great location and are looking for a historic experience, I'd recommend this hotel. If you're looking for a quiet, modern hotel, book a room at one of the many chains in the same area.

Room Tip: If you can get a room that doesn't face E. Bay St., it will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMMMilwaukee_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is truly a charming old fashioned hotel. The location was ideal to explore the historic area of Savannah. The room was also very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. I look forward to another visit to this hotel if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The staff was extremely polite and attentive. There was no manager around obviously who would have had the authority to repair the toilet properly in our bathroom. Meaning, call a plumber if your maintenance staff is not equipped. East Bay Inn is such a beauty it is a shame something simple causes such aggravation. It was impossible to switch rooms because the Inn was full.
Our room was spacious and did not face the street so it was nice and quiet. I would recommend this hotel if the housekeeping improves. This beauty of a building deserves some attention.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing