We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hospitality”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Although we didn't stay at East Bay Inn, we had an occasion to experience the hospitality they offer and were truly impressed. We had been out walking for several hours during the heat of the day, making our way down to the river, and we were exhausted, hot, and hungry. Walking along East Bay Street, we perused the menu posted for Skyler's Restaurant and decided to stop. Entrance to the restaurant is through the East Bay Inn and so we entered their lobby. It turned out that the restaurant didn't open for another hour so we decided to take a short break and sat down in the seating area of the East Bay Inn's lobby to soak up the air conditioning. The folks behind the desk must have overheard us talking about how hot we were and the next thing we knew, a gentleman was offering us each a cold bottle of water. He chatted with us, gave us a coupon for a free margarita at One Eyed Lizzy's and told us to stay and rest as long as we wanted to.

He was kind and charming and the very epitome of southern hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Mitzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

793 - 799 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were on the way home from Florida with a 10 month old and decided to stay the night in Savannah on June 21. We called every single hotel, B&B and even motel (YUCK) in downtown Savannah looking for a place to stay. EVERY single one was booked. We called East Bay Inn and the very nice lady informed me that they were sold out and she even took the time to let me know of three other properties that she knew were sold out as well. We decided to stop anyways and park and walk around to get dinner. We happened to walk by the East Bay Inn and popped in to ask if we could get a on a cancellation list just in case. Jennifer was so nice and so helpful and enthusiastically explained that she did in fact have a rare last minute cancellation so we could take that room. She was so pleasant to deal with. We stay at hotels all the time and I rarely take the time to note good service or bad service. Her service was exceptional and deserved recognition! The hotel was very comfortable and the room was very nice. The décor was beautiful and made us feel like we had stepped back in time. Everything is older, but very well maintained. We did not get ready in time for the breakfast so I do not know if it was good or not. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJacobs65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed three nights at the inn. Cannot express how satisfied we were with this entire property and the staff. They went beyond the call of duty in making our short stay for our first visit to Savannah pleasant and memorable. We have stayed in other historic properties and have been less than pleased but East Bay Inn has their act together. These are just nice people doing a great job of trying to give each guest as much attention as they can. The hotel was quite booked while we were there and yet they offered as much help and guidance to as many of the guests as they could while still juggling their duties. Sheila, Julie, Jennifer, Melvin and Skyler and innkeeper Ronnie himself - all I can say is thank you for making my husbands 60th a great trip! Tastefully decorated, comfortable beds, great food and great ghost stories - what more can you ask for! Perfectly located about 2/3 the way down the main section of the riverwalk up on East Bay St. and convenient to walk to dining, the squares, the shops and more. Don't miss a stay at this inn!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the higher the ceiling and bigger the room. We were given a tour of several of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coleen1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were delighted with our time at the East Bay Inn. The staff (Sheila and Julie) were so welcoming and pleasant. Our room was spacious, beautifully appointed, light and airy. The late afternoon wine and cheese hour was a lovely touch. The Inn is centrally located in the historic district. Women will want to know the towels are soft and fluffy, lots of mirrors in the room, good lighting as well. The East Bay is a great choice when you visit Savannah.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We loved our stay at East Bay Inn! The friendliness of the entire staff made you feel like you were family. The afternoon wine/cheese was great and allowed us to meet others who were staying at the Inn. If you opportunity to go to Savannah this Inn is definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: Any room is great but if you want quite request room on side or back of Inn due to traffic during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

What a great stay even though it was only one night. Our room had a 20' ceilings very comfortable. Everyone was helpful, will return again. Loved reading the journal in our room from past visitors. Within walking distance to what we wanted to see.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The East Bay Inn is a good place to stay in Savannah (we stayed for two nights). The hotel is clean, the rooms are very spacious, and the staff is friendly. The breakfast on the other hand is a major letdown. Served in the basement, quality of the food below average, poor variety.

The location is great - many attractions are within walking distance. The busstop for the hop on-hop off tours is right around the corner.

Room Tip: Try to find somewhere else for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,898 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 115 in Savannah
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 115 in Savannah
1,384 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £116 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing