We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Accommodating Staff”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Friendly & Accommodating Staff”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Spent 2 nights here over July 4th weekend and enjoyed the experience.
Originally staying 3 nights, but due to severe weather our flight was delayed/cancelled. The Manager was very understanding and refunded our missed night (thank you). We found that the positive and friendly attitude didn't stop at the Manager, but trickled all the way down to the rest of the staff including the front desk and bellhop (who is hysterical).
Location is super close to the restaurants and bars on River Street as well as Congress Street.
Room was a good size and quiet (even being on the 1st floor).
Bed was comfortable with lots of pillows and a soft comforter.
Parking is tight, but I was giving a voucher to park in the municipal parking garage just two blocks away, worked out great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    279
    72
    34
    9
See reviews for
222
668
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel, never being in Savannah before. We absolutely loved the hospitality of the staff, the food was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We plan on going back to Savannah and we will stay at the East Bay Inn!! For sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We loved the East Bay Inn. Complimentary wine and cheese hour and breakfast. Walking distance to the Riverwalk and restaurants. We loved Melvin the bellman! Very helpful and full if historic tidbits.
We found this place last minute through the hotels tonight app. Very reasonably priced for the location and the added amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhgosem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
choochoo town
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Short and sweet--beautiful hotel, beautiful room, great location, good rate, nice staff, excellent breakfast and eating area, quiet room (just be sure and ask for room at the back of the hotel), wonderful "old" feel to it, complete with creaky floors. We would stay here again, preferably in the same third floor room!

Room Tip: Quiet in the back of the hotel--could see where front would be noisy due to Bay Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4tiresngas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My mom, aunt and I decided to stay in Savannah one night this past week. Seeing Savannah has always been on my bucket list. Not only did I fall in love with the city, but the charm of East Bay Inn made our visit even more memorable. It is in a great location and within walking distance to many antique shops, restaurants and squares. Also, to our delight, the trolley stop was right behind the inn. The staff was incredibly sweet and multiple attendants stopped to talk to us. Each time we saw an employee we were asked if we needed help with anything and if they could answer any questions. It was "southern hospitality" at its finest. If you are looking for a clean, convenient and friendly place to stay look no further than the East Bay Inn.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank summerfrog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

East Bay Inn is an excellent place to stay when staying in Savannah. It's a short walk to the riverfront and almost anywhere else you want to go. The parking lot is small, but there is a loading spot so you can easily unload and load your baggage, even if the lot is full. If there are no more available spots you can park a block away in a parking garage at a cheaper rate which is nice. The staff is very helpful and very friendly. The room was gorgeous & very comfortable (didn't have a single issue with the AC like at most hotels). Breakfast was very nice and there were things that aren't common to most continental breakfast bars (like french toast, and biscuits & gravy)> They also had coffee available all day and having cans of coke for sale at the front desk was very convenient. The only possible complaint was that the walls were a little thin and the floors were pretty creaky, so we heard every footstep of the people above us and occasionally their conversation. It wasn't really an issue, but was something we noticed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuTianHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in July. The hotel is located right off river street and is closely located to a lot in the HD. The room was gorgeous. Had high ceilings an brick walls. It was such a cool place to stay. Luckily we had no ghost encounters! The breakfast every morning was delicious-the home made, from scratch biscuits were amazing! Every single staff member we came in contact with was SO friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megn2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,707 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,284 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing