We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired beauty needs attention”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tired beauty needs attention”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I wish I had read the reviews here before I booked this for my first trip to Savannah. The room was lovely but this place needs serious cleaning. Others noted mold on the shower curtains and dust in the room and we had both of those and a seriously dirty toliet lid and nearly broken toilet seat. Even the Kleenex tissue holder was cracked and broken. The safe didn't work either, needing a new battery, but that wasn't done even though we reported it on arrival. We stayed two nights. No turn down service the second night. The staff was very nice and the breakfast was fine. The location is very good although the street noise did bother me. I loved the bed and the bed linens were excellent but the rest of the furniture looks shabby. I will not come back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gfdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperEastBayInn, Manager at East Bay Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
While we earnestly strive to meet every expectation, we have, unfortunately, fallen short of our goal during your visit. As Innkeeper of the East Bay Inn, I assure you that I take all guest feedback very seriously and I will review your concerns and address each with our staff.
Again, please accept our apology, and know that we are committed to providing an excellent experience for you during your next stay with us.
Ronnie Jones, Innkeeper
East Bay Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    281
    72
    34
    9
See reviews for
229
678
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a lovely stay at the East Bay Inn. The staff went out of their way and really made us feel special. The room was spotless and the beds were very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ammain13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very good inn! The rooms are gorgious, much prettier than the old mansions we've visited. Breakfast is simple but high quality, service is top notch´ Jullie at the front desk is perfect. We were a family of five, we had two rooms and we will come back! Wéve recommended to Frencg friends of us!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mipougne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Spent 2 nights here over July 4th weekend and enjoyed the experience.
Originally staying 3 nights, but due to severe weather our flight was delayed/cancelled. The Manager was very understanding and refunded our missed night (thank you). We found that the positive and friendly attitude didn't stop at the Manager, but trickled all the way down to the rest of the staff including the front desk and bellhop (who is hysterical).
Location is super close to the restaurants and bars on River Street as well as Congress Street.
Room was a good size and quiet (even being on the 1st floor).
Bed was comfortable with lots of pillows and a soft comforter.
Parking is tight, but I was giving a voucher to park in the municipal parking garage just two blocks away, worked out great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel, never being in Savannah before. We absolutely loved the hospitality of the staff, the food was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We plan on going back to Savannah and we will stay at the East Bay Inn!! For sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We loved the East Bay Inn. Complimentary wine and cheese hour and breakfast. Walking distance to the Riverwalk and restaurants. We loved Melvin the bellman! Very helpful and full if historic tidbits.
We found this place last minute through the hotels tonight app. Very reasonably priced for the location and the added amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhgosem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
choochoo town
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Short and sweet--beautiful hotel, beautiful room, great location, good rate, nice staff, excellent breakfast and eating area, quiet room (just be sure and ask for room at the back of the hotel), wonderful "old" feel to it, complete with creaky floors. We would stay here again, preferably in the same third floor room!

Room Tip: Quiet in the back of the hotel--could see where front would be noisy due to Bay Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4tiresngas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,740 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#24 of 113 in Savannah
1,304 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 113 in Savannah
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing