We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor standard of cleanliness, no answer to complaints”
Review of East Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Bay Inn
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Eschborn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor standard of cleanliness, no answer to complaints”
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We stayed at the East Bay Inn in May 2009 for three nights. Upon arrival I noticed that the sheets were (blood?) stained and the bedside glass table tops were dirty. I informed the lady at reception and she sent somebody up straightaway. We had to wait for approx. 30 minutes in the lobby but were served cold drinks by the friendly bell service. When we returned to our rooms I noticed that the table tops were still dirty and informed the lady at reception once again. She was very apologetic, sent somebody up to give the table tops a wipe and said that we would get the first of our three nights free and that she would instruct Expedia to give us a refund. We haven't received any refund yet, I have already inquired with the innkeeper (Ronnie Jones) by mail twice and never got a reply. This matter is not being handled professionally at all. I am disappointed. The East Bay Inn should be doing much better than that especially with the competition just "round the corner".
A really nice thing about the East Bay Inn is the wine and cheese at night where guests can socialise. There was a eight of us one evening and not a single one would come back - they, too, were not happy with the standard of cleanliness and the housekeeping (dirty coffee cups, glasses, etc. were not replaced, no toilet paper). None of those people (including myself) would consider coming back. .

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KerstinEschborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    278
    72
    32
    9
See reviews for
221
667
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2009

My wife and I came from Indy and spent a very nice long weekend in room 211. This corner room is liteally at the corner of East Bay and Lincoln with a great view of the waterfront area just across the street. The location is ideal for access to most all of the Historic District.

The room had high ceilings with two walls of exposed brick. That brought the history of this old building right into the room. The hard wood floors and tapestry drapes really gives your the feel of the old South.

The bed was very comfortable and although the A/C unit is pretty loud when it cycles on and off, we slept well. The rooms location puts you close to traffic and thus some noise along East Bay. Still, it was never annoying. (A large container ship blasting its horn gave us start early one morning.)

Breakfast in the bar is simple but very tasty, not-rushed and the servers were friendly and attentive. The bar is located just off the large and comfortable lobby.

This inn is in great location. The river district is just a few steps across the street. Lots of shopping - although mostly souvenir type finds and good food from very casual to sophisticated. We saw Savannah mostly on foot and that's part of the fun. We do recommend Ogelthorpe Tours - a great deal at only $10 per person. You get the lay of the land and can decide where you want to go. Shuttles pick up/ drop off all around the Historic District and take you to the transportation center Janet was our guide and she is a hoot! Funny and knows her stuff.

Parkingat the inn can be tight and is first come first served. If you drive, ask about very easy directions to a public parking garage only a very short walk from the inn. You'r about 20 minutes tops from the airport. Standard fare for a taxi is $28, plus $5 extra per person.

If you stay, read the traveler's journal in your room. It's fun to rea about what others did on their visit and we found some great help in deciding where to eat. (Try Issac's on Dayton. The crab dip is fantastic. It's quiet and dark and we had a very relaxing dinner. The Pink House is an easy walk from the inn. It's busy so make a reservation. Deandre is a great waiter!)

We loved this place. You will too.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This was my second stay here at the East Bay. I travel with my pet and they have 2 lovely rooms that are pet-friendly. Sheila, Melvin, Elizabeth and the owner...Ronnie are all fantastic!

This is similar to a B & B, the breakfast is included and has wonderful fresh fruit along with bacon/sausages and eggs. Their is a wine and cheese complimentary social each evening, this is a delight, b/c they serve chips, small finger sandwiches, etc. It is so genteel! You feel like you are a part of the old southern tradition....

I read over some less than flattering reviews and just have to shake my head....these folks have to be in search of high end, ultra posh, newly built rooms with NO character. I am 40 and love to travel to new places, I don't want anything dirty or seedy or less than what I would expect at home. Please understand you won't be disappointed. This is right in the center of all the activity...

I stayed over at The Planter's Inn the last time and thought it was just OK...the breakfast was served in a tiny room upstairs that made you feel squashed. The lady that served the wine at their wine/cheese (which was all they had) was unfriendly. So, I made a note to self never to stay anywhere, but, the East Bay Inn when in Savannah.

Don't miss the Pink House for dinner. Thomas is the BEST server and the food is the best this side of New Orleans. We rarely miss Paula Dean's, but, took a chance and this place was so above what expectations were that we will go back. Also, lunch at the East Bay downstairs at Schuylers is a local favorite...check out the crab cakes!!!

Love this place!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pescado96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvest, AL
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

East Bay Inn is in a fantastic location, just across the street from the river front area and close to all the shopping and dining in the historic district. Our first full day was wonderful. There were four of us in our party, including our two college age children. When we went down for breakfast the first day, we realized the dining area was comprised of two person tables. Melvin quickly remedied that by setting us up in the lobby at a large round table. He brought glasses, coffee cups, eating utinsils, and napkins. He kept our coffee cups full until we were finished. At the time, we thought this is going to be a great place to stay.

Unfortunately, Melvin wasn't around the next four days and breakfast service was abysmal. The interesting thing is it was worse each day than the previous day. On our second and third days, we had to ask for everything but the two men at least would get us what we needed and always had fresh coffee brewing. On the fourth and fifth days of our stay, two women were running breakfast and they did absolutely nothing. They didn't brew fresh coffee so all that was available was in the decanter. The fruit bowl was empty both days they were there. We had to scrounge to get eating utinsils from other tables.

Housekeeping was a similar story. Our bathroom was cleaned and beds made the first full day of our stay. The second day, when we returned in the late afternoon, the only thing housekeeping had done was swap out our dirty towels with fresh towels. They didn't make the beds nor did they clean the bathroom. We brought this to the attention of the woman at the front desk and she said she would speak to housekeeping about it. The third day, our beds were partially made (e.g., the bedspread was not pulled up and the throw pillows were still piled up on the couch) but the bathroom was again not cleaned. They did swap out the towels. My wife had to go down to the front desk to get toilet paper, there was NONE. On day four, our room was finally cleaned like it was the first day, though they never vacuumed the carpet during the entire 5 night stay. They also never swapped out the drinking glasses and never removed the forks, knives, and wine glasses that accumulated in our room from breakfast and evening wine.

The nightly complimentary wine and cheese was very good. It also gave us an opportunity to talk with other guests. One of the things we discovered was two other couples were experiencing the same housekeeping issues as us.

Management really needs to look into this. My wife and I are not complainers and are generally really easy to please. However, we will not stay at the East Bay Inn again and I will not recommend it to any of my friends or family. I have received much better service at chain motels such as Hampton Inn. At a Bed & Breakfast where you are paying $250/night, the one thing I expected was good service which we did not receive, except from Melvin.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NASA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Have had bad experiences before, just like any other traveler around, yet, not on this one. after driving for 8 hours, we were not expecting much of the weekend, since it was rainy the whole time, but as any busy couple out there, we just needed a little break with eachother. Upon arrival we found the place very charming, very light and bright areas, the staff was friendly and the place was clean and well kept, yet the best was yet to come, the room was fantastic! Old southern charm meets romance and comfort, great linens, very comfortable bed, great experience all around. Although we did not take advantage of it, they did have a wine and cheese social and full breakfast, wich is included with your room rental. Another selling point was the fact we were in the middle of everything, so getting around was a breeze, even though we had a car. Look forward to getting back there...

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaccinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

The East Bay Inn was a perfect choice for visiting the historic district of Savannah. The location is within easy walking distance of Factor's Walk and its night life - but it is nestled in a more subdued and genteel location near the elegant Reynold's square. Our rooms were spotless, the beds new and comfortable, and the breakfast was extensive. But, what really sets this small hotel apart is the staff. Our luggage was carried, our questions were answered, our coffee was served, our tours were arranged, our rooms were freshened several times a day and always with a smile and a genuine hospitality often missing today. These folks take pride in their work and it shows in the service. Don't miss the lovely afternoon tea compliments of Melvin the bellman, And Miss Elizabeth at the desk will arrange any tour plans you might need.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2009

The East Bay Inn was my husband's surprise gift of a romantic March get away. Charmed by their website photos, we invited friends to make the trip with us.

The Inn is fairly easy to find and has limited on site parking that is well lit at night. We were pleasantly surprised to learn that The East Bay Inn is pet friendly! The outgoing staff is wonderfully attentive which does much to make up for the Inn's well worn interior. A small lobby with lovely period furniture plays host to the late afternoon wine and cheese socials. Various light snacks are served along with healthy pours of both red & whites. A much appreciated hot pot of coffee is also provided to perk up those folks who are fading from the days' sightseeing. Be forewarned: the coffee served at the Inn tends to run toward the very weak. Those of you used to Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts, be prepared to go out in search of stronger brew, as the four of us did after breakfast each morning.
The carpets throughout are in sore need of a heavy steam cleaning and during our visit, there were issues with the general cleanliness of our room.
The in-room self-service coffee is lovely to have for early risers; however, the paper lace doiley placed underneath not too clean coffee cups o n the service tray was soiled & crumpled, stained with old coffee and remained there until I removed it late into our visit. Although the little half & half creamers were a nice touch, coffee stirrers and artificial sweetener would have been appreciated.
Further inspection of the room revealed a nice layer of dust on just about everything but the bedside table and the entertainment center cabinet doors. The glass topped tables had smears, cup rings and bits of crumbs, etc., from the previous occupants. The carpets could've done with a quick vac as well.
( Not wanting to make my husband feel bad, the housekeeping faults were overlooked. Although, looking back at what we paid for our rooms, we really should have spoken with management)
East Bay Inn does have many good points. The beds are wonderful with enough pillows for a princess. Crisp sheets with a down comforter atop a comfortable mattress made sleeping in a strange bed a dream. Turn down service at 7 each evening is done by delightful staff eager to point out wonderful places to visit in their city. Very helpful. In fact, every one of the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful during our visit. They were eager to help us make reservations for tours and were honest enough to steer us away from several of the tourist trap restaurants for which Savannah has become famous.
East Bay Inn has wonderful potential once the housekeeping details are smoothed out and a bit of sprucing up is done to its more fatigued interior. One other tidbit: Squeaky floors are expected in a building that old so be prepared. We were awakened very early each morning by the busy occupants on the floor above us.
I would only recommend the Inn with caveats towards the housekeeping.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVikinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
2,703 reviews
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,284 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bay Inn

Property: East Bay Inn
Address: 225 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1297
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The East Bay Inn seamlessly combines modern amenities and historic ambiance in 28 incredibly beautiful guest rooms. Located in the heart of Historic Savannah, just steps away from River Street, East Bay Inn is ideally located on Bay Street and is convenient to the beaches of Tybee Island and all of your favorite Savannah attractions. Included in your rate are: Complimentary WiFi, Wine & Hors 'doeuvres, turn-down service and more. Pets are welcome with a $50 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your East Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Bay Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing