We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Midtown
Ranked #42 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were so excited to go on vacation to Savannah. This was our first time to the city. We had plans to do the old Savannah tour, eat at lady and sons, uncle bubbas, and just enjoy downtown. We had no problems doing these things, they were awesome! Our problems started at hotel in first five minutes we arrived. When we got there at approximately 3 or 4 in the afternoon we approached the desk the clerk was in back on her cell with one earphone in and one out. She finally recognized us after a couple minutes. She came up checked us in In about 3 minutes she told us of breakfast hours nothing else. I had to call later and walk up to front for more info about WiFi password and such. We got into room, exhausted after a 6 hour drive. My wife inspected room because we always do because I am 35 and have cancer and going through chemo, so I have to be careful with germs. Anyway she immediately found hairs on bed and in bathroom and huge stain on bedspread. We called front they came in and changed bedspread without issue which was great. Then we realized we forgot our lysol , so we called asked for some and the clerk was a little snippy and said she would have a supervisor call us. We explained to her I was sick and we were just taking precautions. Which they never did just a housekeeper brought Lysol. Then we realized the heat was set to 80 but it was not hot in room and It kept running continuously. We just turned it off because it was warm. Next day we alerted them of the issue still not fixed when we got back from our day downtown. I asked for glen, the "manager" said he was not in. We were just extremely upset we got a great rate but tried not to complain but it got cold and heat never did work. No compensation was never mentioned our credits or such. I WOULD not stay here again the only nice ladies were our housekeeper and a blonde lady that worked desk at night. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Richard T.,
First, we'd like to thank you for acknowledging the housekeepers and the evening shift desk clerk during your stay at Oglethorpe Inn and Suites. Your experience with them does indeed sound like it was the most positive thing during your time with us! We sincerely apologize that your stay was so disappointing. Please know that the problems you experienced --- from room cleanliness to the HVAC issues --- are absolutely not acceptable, and we are working to improve the situation.

We were particularly disturbed to hear that our staff appeared insensitive to your needs and that the manager was not available to help solve the problems. It's certainly understandable that you have to take extra precautions due to your illness, and its unfortunate that you did not get extra-special attention while here with us. We do apologize.

Please allow us to make this up to you the next time you are in Savannah. Feel free to contact me directly for your next visit, and we will ensure you get a very good rate, but more importantly, we will make sure that you get the room and attention that you deserve.

Best Regards,
Cindy Roberts
Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    359
    116
    48
    29
See reviews for
272
459
38
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Ended up in Savannah on a weekend where every hotel and B & B we checked was booked. Stayed here based on prior reviews. Arrived just after dark and the front door was locked already. Another guest walked up and let me in. Front desk clerk was very kind and helpful but the hotel just had a weird vibe. The room was okay but the bathroom is in serious need of repair and updating. There was no plug in the tub and cracks along the baseboard in need of caulking. Hotel is a drive from the downtown historic area of Savannah. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny82Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This place was perfect for vacationing. Quick check in, friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Inside atrium is very pretty.
We came for a vacation/belated honeymoon. My mom was paying for the hotel as a gift. She picked the Oglethorpe because all the downtown places were either full or had jacked up their prices for a convention. Turned out to be a blessing.
Just wanted to complement their customer service. We had wanted three days but only managed to reserve two (Oglethorpe was booked solid that weekend). However, the desk clerks suggested we check back occasionally in case someone cancelled their reservation and a spot opened. A cancellation happened and they extended our stay by the day we needed. Moreover, they charged us the week-day rate for that extra night instead of the higher week-end rate. Saved us $30.
The drive from the Oglethorpe Inn to the history center or anywhere else in the historic district took 10 to 15 minutes, maybe 20 minutes if traffic was bad.
Convenient to lots of eateries. Mall close by, lots of fast food and sit-down-chain-restaurants within walking or short-driving distance.
Did not try the pool or exercise room. Continental breakfast looked a little bland, but we tended to get up late in the morning so we usually saw it as it was closing down; so cannot really say.
For someone who wants to explore Savannah conveniently without being overcharged for staying downtown, this place is ideal. We would recommend it to friends and family. Next time we visit Savannah, we will most likely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redneckbluevote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in December. We were welcomed as friends as left as family members. Maggie was particularly hospitable and charming s was all of the staff, really. We ate at the breakfast bar daily and it was typically set up earlier than the announced start time and left out a little later than the end time. During the breakfast hours, the staff kept everything stocked and clean. The coffee was wonderful. We used the guest laundry ($1 wash; 75 cents dry) with no issues. I did not feel like I had to monitor the machines at all. I used the guest computers and Internet daily. There are computers & printers on each floor beside the elevator and a 2nd one on the 1st floor. The 2 on the 1st floor were fairly new Dell's with giant monitors and towers built in to the monitor. Loved them!! The room was clean and huge with a comfortable bed and very nice toiletries.

We walked to Fiddlers Crab Shack at the recommendation of Maggie. It has a roof waterfall, a good selection of beers and yummy food. Also within walking distance is a Kroger and a decent shopping center (JoAnn Fabrics, shoes store, consignment store, etc.)

We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NomadLee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Our stay at Oglethorpe Inn was a very enjoyable experience. The staff made us feel welcome and even greeted us by name! Everyone was very polite from the front desk to the cleaning staff. The room was very clean and spacious. We ate at the breakfast bar everyday and the food was great and very tidy. We appreciate the staff not cleaning up the breakfast bar right at closing also. The lobby was beautiful and the Christmas decorations were so elegant. It was in a great location.The drive to historic downtown was only 10 minutes away and the mall was across the street. I recommend staying here if you want a great place to stay in Savannah!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My Wife and I were travelling to North Carolina for Thanksgiving. 14 hours straight...no thank you. We found and booked The Oglethorpe Inn and were delighted when we arrived. Very nicely kept inn. Open and spacious lobby, very comfortable beds, spacious rooms and a delicious selection of fresh breakfast choices. The staff was very friendly. Stores, restaurants, entertainment, the historic district, all very close to the Inn. We are planning a future trip...And a future stay at The Oglethorpe! Thank You!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Older property that has been taken care of. The check in person was very friendly and helpful actually every body were helpful. The suite was clean and comfortable. Micro, fridge and large flat screen TV. The breakfast was good. I feel like I picked the right place. I would consider this hotel on a return trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Central Inn
Best Western Central Inn
#37 of 113 in Savannah
825 reviews
9.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown
#58 of 113 in Savannah
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown

Property: Comfort Inn Midtown
Address: 7110 Hodgson Memorial Dr, Savannah, GA 31406-2532 (Formerly Oglethorpe Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
#23 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#29 Family Hotel in Savannah
#29 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gem Among Midtown Savannah's All-Suite Inn Near Savannah 's Historic District, Comfort Inn Midtown is an excellent and affordable alternative to the higher priced hotels in downtown Savannah. It's consistently one of the highest rated and most positively reviewed Savannah hotels on TripAdvisor. Easily accessible from I-16 /I-95 and Savannah International Airport, Oglethorpe Inn & Suites offers business travelers,vacationing families and sports teams accommodations close to all of Savannah's favorite spots, one block away from Oglethorpe Mall(over 140 stores) . Recently purchased all new bedding, sheets, comforters and pillows. Guests enjoy complimentary hot continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet with free lobby computers/printers, private outdoor pool / sundeck and a fitness center / laundry facilities on-site, free parking, 42" flat screen TVs in every suite with coffeemaker, microwave & mini-fridge, living room with over 450 sq. ft.all non-smoking, Free newspaper & local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oglethorpe Inn And Suites
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites Hotel Savannah
Oglethorpe Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing