We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Midtown
Ranked #44 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed 28 August 2009

On our first visit to Savannah we did some internet searching to find a good price and found the Oglethorpe Inn. It is a few miles from downtown, but right off some of the major streets that take you into the historic district. (Use Abercorn St!) We were very pleasantly surprised with a small suite with a sitting area and a bedroom in a very well appointed property (including a fountain in the main foyer). It had the typical continental breakfast fare available, but we had all of this at the price of one of the discount chains. We will stay there again and I highly reccomend this property to anyone looking for both a reasonable price and a nice room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrellV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2009

We stayed one night. The bed was a little too soft but reasonably comfortable. The cleanliness too was OK but not spic and span. Surfaces in the bedroom and bathroom did not look or feel especially clean.

We appreciated the free breakfast. It's possible to cobble together a fairly healthful meal with bananas, oranges, and hard-boiled eggs. I tried the pastries and they were awful -- gummy and rather flavorless.

We were in town for a late-afternoon wedding on a hot day and requested a 1pm checkout. We explained our situation, but the hotel wanted to charge us 1/2 day's fee for 1pm checkout, which we found disappointing. Nonetheless, we found the staff all to be unfailingly hospitable and polite.

Overall, the hotel is nicely located and the price is very reasonable. I would probably vote to return but my wife leans toward looking elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbanyHokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

The friendliest staff I have ever seen. If we needed help, they were there to assist us. Rooms and the hotel altogether were beautiful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiesclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

After researching several hotels, we decided for the price to stay here, We would do it again. The rooms are big and clean. The staff is very nice and go out of their way to take care of you. Very safe area. Restaurants and stores nearby. It is not far from downtown and river street. We have stayed here 10 years ago and did not know it was the same hotel (name change) until we pulled into the parking lot. I would recommend this place for all travelers (families and business) The breakfast could use some help though. The toasters were not working properly and the milk was not kept as cold as I thought it should be.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centurygigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

My husband,son and myself stayed at Oglethorpe based on most of the reviews we had read on here about it! Let me tell you we were impressed once we got there and checked in. The staff are friendly and helpful. THe room itself was clean and big! The pool and grounds were kept up. We must have timed our vacation just right by staying in the beginning of June from Sun to Thursday because we had the pool pretty much to ourselves during our entire stay! If you are looking for a nice place with a good location just a few miles outside of the downtown area and dont want to spend a fortune on a hotel room this is the place for you! If we ever visit the Savannah area again we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We stayed in 12 nice hotels during our 6 week trip but this was definitely the best. The room was very spacious and the decor was relaxing and unique. Everything in the hotel was conveniently located and the staff friendly and helpful. Although the hotel location was not in the middle of Downtown Savannah, it was easy to get to most places of interest including the wonderful River Street area.
We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_and_MBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

I would definitely stay here again. The breakfast wasn't much, but ok.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tntraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Central Inn
Best Western Central Inn
#36 of 115 in Savannah
911 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah/Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown
#60 of 115 in Savannah
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown

Address: 7110 Hodgson Memorial Dr, Savannah, GA 31406-2532 (Formerly Oglethorpe Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Savannah
#23 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#29 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £70 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gem Among Midtown Savannah's All-Suite Inn Near Savannah 's Historic District, Comfort Inn Midtown is an excellent and affordable alternative to the higher priced hotels in downtown Savannah. It's consistently one of the highest rated and most positively reviewed Savannah hotels on TripAdvisor. Easily accessible from I-16 /I-95 and Savannah International Airport, Oglethorpe Inn & Suites offers business travelers,vacationing families and sports teams accommodations close to all of Savannah's favorite spots, one block away from Oglethorpe Mall(over 140 stores) . Recently purchased all new bedding, sheets, comforters and pillows. Guests enjoy complimentary hot continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet with free lobby computers/printers, private outdoor pool / sundeck and a fitness center / laundry facilities on-site, free parking, 42" flat screen TVs in every suite with coffeemaker, microwave & mini-fridge, living room with over 450 sq. ft.all non-smoking, Free newspaper & local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oglethorpe Inn And Suites
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites Hotel Savannah
Oglethorpe Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing