We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great find just outside of historic savannah” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn Midtown
Ranked #44 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a great find just outside of historic savannah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

My husband and I spent one night at the Oglethorpe Inn and Suites. The room was very clean, and was very roomy and had a good setup. Free breakfast in the morning, and free internet. However, ours did not work because we were in a far corner of the hotel. The lobby was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our television was not working properly, and they sent someone up immediately to come look at it.
This hotel is not in historic Savannah, which was more than fine with us because of the money we saved. It is just a short 5 minute drive into town where you can find free parking on the streets. I would stay here again, and will recommend this to anyone I know going to Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABRGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    347
    111
    45
    25
See reviews for
250
447
36
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

We were very impressed with Oglethorpe Inn. First of all, I talked to Penny on the phone when I was checking out hotels, her friendly and helpful attitude is what made me decide to stay here. Other places I called had negative attitudes and seemed like it was a bother to answer questions. When we checked in Amber assisted us, she and all the other staff that we came in contact with were all very nice. The breakfast is good for the money. The property inside and out was extremely clean. I loved the layout of the room, my husband said it was very cozy. We got a great deal for the money, it was much nicer than we expected to get for what we paid. Two years ago, we stayed maybe a mile down the road at a chain hotel, paid much more and the place was nasty. I would say that this room was the best hotel stay I have ever had--and I am also including casino hotel rooms as a comparison. I would recommend Oglethorpe Inn & Suites to anyone and everyone!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavygirlMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

stayed here for 3 nights with my teenage son. The front desk staff was very accommodating and professional. Our room was clean and spacious. The continental breakfast was typical bagels/donuts/cereal. The toasters were not working properly so you did have to 'wait your turn' to use one side of one toaster. I'm not sure why management hasn't replaced the toasters since I've read a lot of complaints about the toasters online. I would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patsy1Pennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graSavannah, Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, 30 September 2009
We are sorry that we didn't have the opportunity to speak with the guest, so that we could have addressed their concerns prior to their departure and before any comments were posted without our knowledge of the situation.

We were completely full with a holiday week end during their dates of stay, which resulted in the availability of rooms to be very limited.

We are very concerned if any of our guests are not pleased with their accommodations, and we want our guest to be satisfied before they leave our property.

We strife for excellent customer expectations and we are very proud of our guest satisfaction comments on all of our search engines and Travel Advisor.

Today, we replaced all toasters, per our guest request, we are sorry if anyone was inconvenience.

We value everyone as a customer and hope that we will be given an opportunity to better serve our guest on any visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

After extensive research, I choose this place because of the reviews, despite the fact that pictures are deceiving, I took my chances. The staff was friendly, and responded quickly; however, when I got there I cut my right heel with the hotel entrance door and was not offered any help (bandaid, etc.) We were let into the room earlier than scheduled, but the room was so musty that the sheets and towels felt damp. When I complained, they came to spray the room, but never suggested giving us another room. Then when I turned on the TV, and it went on the blinks with smoke coming out of the back causing me to quickly unplug it. Although the TV was replaced, a change of room was never suggested. The continental breakfast wasn't all that, the room furniture was dusty, and rugs seem stained. The hotel definitely needs a face lift. Although I was very dissappointed, we made the best of the situation, but will NOT recommend this place to anyone planning to visit Historical Savannah.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Real2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graSavannah, Manager at Comfort Inn Midtown, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
We are sorry that we didn't have the opportunity to speak with the guest, so that we could have addressed their concerns prior to their departure and before any comments were posted without our knowledge of the situation.

We were completely full with a holiday week end during their dates of stay, which resulted in the availability of rooms to be very limited.

We are very concerned if any of our guests are not pleased with their accommodations, and we want our guest to be satisfied before they leave our property.

We strife for excellent customer expectations and we are very proud of our guest satisfaction comments on all of our search engines and Travel Advisor.

Today, we credited their Visa credit card, which is per their request, for a one night’s credit for any inconvenience experienced.

We value everyone as a customer and hope that we will be given an opportunity to better serve our guest on any visit in the future.

We also offered to provide a complimentary one night accommodations in an executive suite which includes our new plasma HD flat screens TVs and a whirlpool tub. The guest declined our offer.

Again, we wish to offer a sincere apology for the problems a guest may have encountered and we thank them for bringing their concerns to our attention.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norcross, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

On our first visit to Savannah we did some internet searching to find a good price and found the Oglethorpe Inn. It is a few miles from downtown, but right off some of the major streets that take you into the historic district. (Use Abercorn St!) We were very pleasantly surprised with a small suite with a sitting area and a bedroom in a very well appointed property (including a fountain in the main foyer). It had the typical continental breakfast fare available, but we had all of this at the price of one of the discount chains. We will stay there again and I highly reccomend this property to anyone looking for both a reasonable price and a nice room.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrellV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

We stayed one night. The bed was a little too soft but reasonably comfortable. The cleanliness too was OK but not spic and span. Surfaces in the bedroom and bathroom did not look or feel especially clean.

We appreciated the free breakfast. It's possible to cobble together a fairly healthful meal with bananas, oranges, and hard-boiled eggs. I tried the pastries and they were awful -- gummy and rather flavorless.

We were in town for a late-afternoon wedding on a hot day and requested a 1pm checkout. We explained our situation, but the hotel wanted to charge us 1/2 day's fee for 1pm checkout, which we found disappointing. Nonetheless, we found the staff all to be unfailingly hospitable and polite.

Overall, the hotel is nicely located and the price is very reasonable. I would probably vote to return but my wife leans toward looking elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbanyHokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds, al
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

The friendliest staff I have ever seen. If we needed help, they were there to assist us. Rooms and the hotel altogether were beautiful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiesclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
BEST WESTERN Central Inn
#41 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Midtown

Property: Comfort Inn Midtown
Address: 7110 Hodgson Memorial Dr, Savannah, GA 31406-2532 (Formerly Oglethorpe Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
#23 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#29 Business Hotel in Savannah
#29 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gem Among Midtown Savannah's All-Suite Inn Near Savannah 's Historic District, Comfort Inn Midtown is an excellent and affordable alternative to the higher priced hotels in downtown Savannah. It's consistently one of the highest rated and most positively reviewed Savannah hotels on TripAdvisor. Easily accessible from I-16 /I-95 and Savannah International Airport, Oglethorpe Inn & Suites offers business travelers,vacationing families and sports teams accommodations close to all of Savannah's favorite spots, one block away from Oglethorpe Mall(over 140 stores) . Recently purchased all new bedding, sheets, comforters and pillows. Guests enjoy complimentary hot continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet with free lobby computers/printers, private outdoor pool / sundeck and a fitness center / laundry facilities on-site, free parking, 42" flat screen TVs in every suite with coffeemaker, microwave & mini-fridge, living room with over 450 sq. ft.all non-smoking, Free newspaper & local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Comfort Inn Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oglethorpe Inn And Suites
Oglethorpe Inn & Suites Hotel Savannah
Oglethorpe Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing