We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well, we didn't leave screaming....but it wasn't a nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
Ranked #70 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Well, we didn't leave screaming....but it wasn't a nice stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

First, the pros....it was a place to lay our heads for a night while in route from Maryland to Disney. They do not charge a pet fee and accept small pets up to 25 pounds, and the parking is ample and free. Now the Cons: I went into this hotel thinking it looked lovely in the lobby, and that we'd really lucked out with our $59 rate and no pet fee. The room wasn't exactly clean, but then again, we were only there to spend one night, so I could overlook that. Even if I had to sleep on top of the blankets, that would be fine...I just needed a place to rest for the night. However, the next morning, I went downstairs for the free complimentary breakfast, and there was none at the time the breakfast was supposed to be served. No one was even preparing it. There was, however, a man asleep in the lobby....not sure whether he was a guest or just camping out for the night. The ice maker at the end of my hallway had leaked at some point in the night, and there was water everywhere. I also had to kill a roach in my room. Didn't see any others....just that one roach, but it was still kind of disturbing. I didn't want to bring any of those little critters to Disney with me in my luggage. I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank C4vy579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    87
    68
    33
    41
See reviews for
107
106
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

We stayed here for two nights while exploring Savannah, and it was wonderful for our purposes (sleeping and showering) - rooms are clean, beds are comfy. The included breakfast and free internet access were welcome perks too. Only drawback was the location - slightly outside the city, so be sure to take the right turns and not get lost like we did!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pekoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2008

My wife and I stayed at this property in November 07 and December 07. When frist ariving it can be a bit confusing as the only access road is from an entrance rather far from the hotel. Our first stay was in a regular room. Our December stay was in a suite, comped from my Redicard membership with Red Roof. This property has not been remodeled or "redesigned and rededicated" as Red Roof says, but it is still in good shape and was very clean.

Standard Room: Large room with typical Red Roof layout. We had a king size bed, desk, TV, and a couch. The room was clean and the bed was comforable. the pillows were a bit thin, but that did not bother me.

Suite: Very large room with king size bed, couch, desk, coffee table, TV, Jacuzzi tub IN the bedroom, and a bathroom with sink seperate from the shower and toilet. We did not use the tub, but we did find it interesting that it was in the bedroom rather than the bathroom.

Free Breakfast: The breakfast has the usual cold cereal, bagels, toast, fruit and the like.

Internet: Wireless is available for a per day charge, but there is free highspeed access on a PC in the lounge area.

Overall this is a great property for the price, it is really hard to beat it in this area.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2007

We were on a budget and not familiar with the Savannah area, so we chose to stay at the Red Roof for our three night stay. The room was big and clean, the lobby and elevator were in good repair and very nice. The included breakfast had bagels & cream cheese, toast, packaged danish, juice and coffee, including a specialty coffee machine, which unfortunately, didn't work right during our stay. The area felt very safe, which can be a real bonus in Savannah, which like all bigger centres, has areas in which you don't feel entirely secure. There are a variety of chain restaurants in the area, including Waffle Houses.

The only problem with the hotel is the fairly long drive to the Historic District. We found ourselves carrying too much stuff around because we didn't want to drive all the way back to the hotel...nor did we go out in the evening, unable to face all the driving required. And, of course, it's generic...there's no atmosphere.

If you're on a budget, it's a great place to stay...good size, clean and a heck of a bargain! But personally, next time I'm going to try and cough up the bucks for a B&B in the District. I know I'd get more out of my Savannah experience that way.

  • Liked — Price!
  • Disliked — Too far from the Historic District
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Milaandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Va.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2007

I spent four days at this Red Roof, I had brought my laptop computer along, planned on doing some online work during my stay. Trying to connect to my ISP, would get only busy signals. Uning the motel phone, calling my ISP, still a busy signal. Using my cell phone phone calling my ISP, the line was open. I went to the front desk to complain, they offered to sell me a one day pass ($10.00) with T-Mobile. They finally verbaly admitted that the data ports was blocked, requiring the customer to rent the T-Mobile. I made a formal complaint to Accor North America, their reply "we were unable to resolve the situation". So computer users beware, of blocked data ports.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — blocked data ports, dening me access to the internet.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ButchNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2006

We stayed at this Red Roof in from July 20th-23rd. It was a weekend getaway with my husband, daughter and her BF. We had a late check in and no problems upon arrival. The room was not bad for the 60.49 we paid per night. It was your basic room with older furniture and didnt see any new remodeling. The walls could use painting or at least scrubbed some because there were some stains on them. Housekeeping did come and clean every day though so besides the walls (which werent awful) the room was kept clean. The pool looked a little greenish and besides seeing some people hanging out by it we never saw anyone actually go in it. Front desk and housekeeping were nice and helpful.
Downtown was maybe 20 min away which wasnt bad. Tybee Island was a haul from this gateway hotel. It took us about an hour every time we went to the beach. If I wasnt on a budget we would have stayed either downtown or on Tybee. Dont expect it to take less time then that to get there. Lobby was always clean. Outside looks good. Continental breakfast had bagels, wrapped danish, cereal, coffee and juice. I guess they dont serve the waffles on the weekends because we never saw any and we missed breakfast on Fri. morning. A/C worked great! Brrrr. If you are on a budget and dont mind the long ride to the beach then I would recommend this hotel because you cant beat the price. I would like to stay on Tybee next time but if im short on cash I would most definately stay here again! Good job Red Roof. Keep the low rates!

  • Liked — The A/C and the helpful staff
  • Disliked — distance to the beach
  • Tips/Secrets — Taking 17 to the beach might shorten the trip some instead of 204.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie9557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2006

We stayed at this motel twice - enroute to Disney and on our return. A great stay both times. On the way down, we went over to the River Street district in Savannah. It is about a 15-minute drive. The staff was very helpful on both of our stays. The buildings and grounds are clean and there are lots of restaurants in the area here just off I-95. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boater6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#75 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#48 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gateway
Comfort Suites Gateway
#61 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#86 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
Address: 405 Al Henderson Blvd, Savannah, GA 31419-6033
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Savannah
#9 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Savannah GA - I-95 is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is located off the I-95 Gateway and the hotel is close to Savannah Airport (SAV), Armstrong College, St. Joseph Hospital, Savannah Festival Outlet, the Mighty Eighth Air Force Museum, Savannah Mall, Historic District of Savannah, Ft. Stewart and Tybee Island Beach. The 100% Smoke-Free Red Roof Savannah I-95 features an outdoor unheated pool, free hot continental breakfast, voice mail and data ports available in all rooms, a coin laundry facility, business center, interior corridors, free Wi-Fi, free long distance phone calls (in the continental US) in all rooms, and an elevator. Our spacious suite rooms feature a hot tub, mini refrigerator, microwave and coffee makers. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. However, pets are not permitted in rooms with hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn And Suites Savannah
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah Hotel Savannah
Red Roof Inn Savannah
Savannah Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing