We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
Ranked #93 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Great staff the guy at the front desk jon was very helpful with pointing out the restaurants and things that savannah was offering. it was my first time visting this area. The rooms were ok. i recived a call from jon a hour or so later to check to see how my stay was going. my next trip there i would most def consider this property.

Room Tip: Give this property a try to price is fair. and the service is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Guest,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. W strive to give you outstanding customer service. Your feedback is always important. We look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed overnight at this motel on Saturday, april14th to Sunday morning april 15th, 2012. In all our travels we never couldn't wait to get out of a place as we did here. First of all their advertisement in the coupon book available at the I95 reststops is misleading. The coupon states the price is 49.95 per night and 10.00 additional on friday & saturday night. When we checked in we were told by john the counterclerk that the rooms at the coupon price were sold out and the best he could do is $69.00 plus tax. When we expressed our dismay he appeared unconcerned about the situation. In addition bottled water was sold out in both vending machines and there was none available at the desk or nearby. There were numerous individuals gathered outside their rooms all night drinking, smoking, and being very loud with no consideration for their neighbors and no corrective measures taken by management. It appeared that people are living in this motel. We expressed these concerns to the owner when we checked out and he said the ad was fine and that the noise level should be expected when you have a full house. Hopefully after enough savy travellers check sites like trip advisor they won't have too many more nights where there is a full house. A watchdog group needs to be established throughout our beautiful country to expose these price gauging run down places. So do yourself a favor, do your family a favor, do your friends a favor and do not stay at this motel even if he have to drive further and pay alittle more.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgzinnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear you had some issues with your stay. It is our goal to make each guest's stay enjoyable and comfortable. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention for immediate correction. We take all our reviews seriously and hope you will still consider us for accommodations in the future. Thank you for your time.


Sincerely
Eva Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here over the July 4th weekend. When we arrived late, the A/C did not work properly. We were told to hold off for 20 min and see if it would kick in. After an hour, it was worse and they kept delaying moving our room. It was midnight and we had 2 kids, when we finally packed up our stuff and went to the front lobby.
The night manager was rude and proceeded to make us wait another 20 minutes before switching our rooms. She told us, it was only for that night and the rest of our 3 night stay would need to be in the old room with the bad a/c. (We had booked 3 rooms for 3 nights each, you would think they would treat us better than that.)
The next morning the day manager allowed us to stay in our room and not move. Wahoo, a plus. However, while my kids were changing in the room later that day, a male employee walked in, without knocking. Walked right in on my naked children. I was told he was going to check the room to see if it needed cleaning and he was not aware we were there. HELLO, have you ever heard of knocking??????
Terrible experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iheartadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear you had some issues with your stay. It is our goal to make each guest's stay enjoyable and comfortable. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention for immediate correction. We take all our reviews seriously and hope you will still consider us for accommodations in the future. Thank you for your time.


Sincerely,
Eva J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I stayed at this motel for 1 night while on a business trip. The property looked a little ran down from the outside. The room had a nasty smell and stains on the carpet. The next morning I noticed stains in the shower and roaches. Also the toliet would not flush and the ac leaked all over the floor and got my stuff wet. I went to the desk and the woman there Connie said we have no maintance guy and theres nothing I can do for you. If you need to use the restroom you can use the one in the lobby. By they way what time are you leaving. This was the worst motel that I have have seen and the worst staff ever. I used wyndam points to pay for my stay. I contacted customer service for howard johnson to request a refund because it was so bad. The hotel manager said no but would offer me a discount on a future stay. I dont think so. I would rather sleep in a park first it would be much cleaner. Over all this motel should not be under the wyndhan hotel chain if gives them a bad name. Over all stay away from this filthy place. TERRIBLE!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear you had some issues with your stay. It is our goal to make each guest's stay enjoyable and comfortable. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention for immediate correction. We take all our reviews seriously and hope you will still consider us for accommodations in the future. Thank you for your time.


Sincerely,
Eva Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Similar to the review a few down, I made the mistake of allowing Priceline to search 2 star hotels. Needless to say, I've since advised Priceline that the hotel was not clean, comfortable, or close to historic Savannah. This place was smelly, decorated in probably 1982, and was falling apart. I'm not sure what grossed me out the most, the electric outlets that were so loose you couldn't plug anything in them, the nasty strand of what was probably a hooker's hair hanging off of the lamp, or the bug bites that covered my arms the next day. In a nutshell, I was booked for two nights and I ended up choosing to end my trip early rather than spend another night. Absolutely horrible.

Room Tip: Don't get a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear you had some issues with your stay. It is our goal to make each guest's stay enjoyable and comfortable. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention for immediate correction. We take all our reviews seriously and hope you will still consider us for accommodations in the future. Thank you for your time.


Sincerely,
Eva Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I came here as it is was right off the highway and my eyes couldn't stay open much longer so I thought I would just crash here for a few hours and then go on my way in the morning. . The room I was given was musty smelling and had a hint of mold in the air. After going into the bathroom I was greeted by two cockroaches and only one towel on the rack, maybe the cockroaches took the others ? I wound up just sleeping on top of the covers and keeping one eye on the door and my other on the floor. Mattress in my room was worn out as well. Needless to say I didn't sleep much and wound up checking out earlier then I planned on. After I checked out, I had wished I just slept in my car and used the rest stop access at the state line instead. Not a good experience at all, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IceCandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear you had some issues with your stay. It is our goal to make each guest's stay enjoyable and comfortable. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention for immediate correction. We take all our reviews seriously and hope you will still consider us for accommodations in the future. Thank you for your time.


Sincerely,
Eva Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

just wanted a good night sleep and a little pool time..got both at a very good price..the staff was very nice. the only hotel we have stayed at when the front desk calls after we get to the room and ask if everthing is ok...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buford927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

I wish to thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Howard Johnson. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the service provided. We do thank you for sharing your feedback, these are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Howard Johnson in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#97 of 115 in Savannah
102 reviews
9.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Midtown
Econo Lodge Midtown
#82 of 115 in Savannah
87 reviews
0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#53 of 115 in Savannah
1,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gateway
Comfort Suites Gateway
#60 of 115 in Savannah
355 reviews
9.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Address: 17003 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-9787
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £43 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Outdoor Pool and Walking Distance To Restaurants Welcome to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA hotel, near River Street, a great home base for your fun Georgia vacation. With a convenient location off Interstate 95, we put you right in the center of all the most exciting Savannah destinations. Start your day by reading your free newspaper over a free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to scout out attractions and look up Riverfront events from your hotel room. When you return from your long day of sightseeing, relax with a swim in our seasonal, outdoor pool. We offer free parking for your car, bus, truck or RV and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS A wide variety of fun destinations are minutes away from our Savannah, GA, hotel. The famous Savannah Riverfront, with all its shops, restaurants, historic buildings and museums is just a 15-minute drive from our hotel. River Street also plays host to many festivals throughout the year, including Tall Ship LYNX, First Saturday and Oktoberfest. Savannah Festival Outlet Center is just one quarter of a mile away for all your shopping needs, or you can hunt for hidden treasure at Keller's Fleamarket, the premier flea market of Georgia. If you are interested in military history, stop by the Mighty 8th Air Force Museum, where you can see battle-tested military aircraft and learn about the Air Force from World War II to today. DINING OPTIONS Many tasty restaurant options can be found nearby, including Cracker Barrel right next door. Our Savannah, GA, hotel is also close by The Shell House, where you can enjoy ocean-fresh seafood, and El Potro Mexican Restaurant, a local favorite. Rachael's 1190 is a fun spot for casual dining, with pool tables, wide-screen TVs and frequent special events. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Savannah offers free incoming fax service for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Savannah Hotel Savannah
Howard Johnson Savannah
Savannah Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing