We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
Ranked #92 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

My profession requires me to travel away from home approximately 200 days a year. My stays in Savannah are always at Howard Johnson. I have been impressed with the manicured lawns, the cleanliness of the lobby and most importantly the clean fresh rooms. They offer a hot breakfast in a pleasant dining area. The staff is polite and professional.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redvet62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson. It was a plessure serving you. I would like to take this time to also thank you for your feedback. We value all of our feedback weather it be good or bad, it is always helpful. We look forward to serving you again.

Thank You,
Eva Johnson
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    66
    93
    64
    65
See reviews for
127
102
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed for the Labor Day weekend. Nice staff. The breakfast wasn't bad. The pool could be a little bit bigger. The room I stayed in was clean, beds were comfortable. Location of the hotel is good. I can't complain. Overall, happy with the stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjaimes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Howard Johnson. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the service provided. We do thank you for sharing your feedback, these are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Howard Johnson in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

$90.00 for one night in a run down hotel. Never again. The room was very dingy and didn't feel clean at all. No military discount either! I would not reccomend this place! Find somewhere else to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armywife1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest


We are in receipt of your complaint and would like to respond with sincerity. Howard Johnson takes pride in our property with customer service ranked our number one priority.

We regret your experience was not suitable. We adhere to stringent customer service guidelines with emphasis on amenities, cleanliness and safety. Hosting a very large percent of repeat corporate and leisure clientele our reputation is one of quality, integrity and value.

We take your unfortunate situation seriously and we regret your dissatisfaction. We have taken your comments to heart and would like to take this time again to apologize sincerely. We would like the opportunity to accommodate you in the future and for you to experience a pleasurable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We did have to wait a few minutes for check in but only because the lady at the front was busy. She was very cordial and always smiling. The rate was exceptional for a last minute and in Savannah, GA on Labor Day weekend. It was just very comfortable after our long trip. The ice, drinks and snacks were very easy to find. The continental breakfast was wonderful...hot and plenty! Overall, it was just very pleasant experience. I would certainly return again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
I wish to thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Howard Johnson. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the service provided. We do thank you for sharing your feedback, these are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Howard Johnson in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

from checkin the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. i missed breakfast so cant give my opinion there but house keeping as well as on checkout staff showed intrest in my stay. the hotel is on the service rd so very careful not to pass it as youre getting off the freeway on SR 204. The surrounding moise is minimal to none and the curtains do a good job at keeping out the sunlight so make sure you dont forget to put your alarm. i had room 113 which is towards the back but lighting is ample.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank protege31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson. We value your opinion and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We here at Howard Johnson strive to give you the best experience possible. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Thanks,
Eva Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

The checkin process was long. We settled into our room, it was clean and didn't smell. We had a king accessible room. We were in town for the family reunion. The bed was a little hard but nothing to complain about. Went to eat breakfast and I noticed it was clean, however the desk person, maybe the manager, watched us like we were going to walk out with his waffle iron or something. We fixed our plates and were about to go back to our rooms when the manager asks could we eat in the breakfast area because the rooms have a problem with ants. Fine. However, when you go on vacay you want to relax and maybe have breakfast in bed or something. Not here. You get what you pay for. A clean room, maybe ants, and a school cafeteria breakfast. Pool was dirty.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicfanlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Howard Johnson for your lodging needs. We always strive to give you the best experience possible. We value your opinion and feedback. I would like to take this time to appoligize if you were made to feel uncomfortable during breakfast. I can assure you this is not everyday behavior for our front desk staff. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Thank You,
Eva Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

You could do a little bit better but also a lot worse.Location has a swimming pool.Outsid..e could use a little maintence.This is a good exit for choice of motels and resturants.I would consider this adverage for the price range.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Guest,
First let me say I am pleased you chose to stay with us. As always here at Howard Johnson we strive to give our quest the best experience possible. I noticed you mentioned we could use some work and we totally agree, that is why we are under renovation even the date of your stay we were under renovation. I hope you can make it back this way to see the improvements to our hotel. And as always thanks for choosing Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#86 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#75 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
#77 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#48 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gateway
Comfort Suites Gateway
#62 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
Address: 17003 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Outdoor Pool and Walking Distance To Restaurants Welcome to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA hotel, near River Street, a great home base for your fun Georgia vacation. With a convenient location off Interstate 95, we put you right in the center of all the most exciting Savannah destinations. Start your day by reading your free newspaper over a free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to scout out attractions and look up Riverfront events from your hotel room. When you return from your long day of sightseeing, relax with a swim in our seasonal, outdoor pool. We offer free parking for your car, bus, truck or RV and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS A wide variety of fun destinations are minutes away from our Savannah, GA, hotel. The famous Savannah Riverfront, with all its shops, restaurants, historic buildings and museums is just a 15-minute drive from our hotel. River Street also plays host to many festivals throughout the year, including Tall Ship LYNX, First Saturday and Oktoberfest. Savannah Festival Outlet Center is just one quarter of a mile away for all your shopping needs, or you can hunt for hidden treasure at Keller's Fleamarket, the premier flea market of Georgia. If you are interested in military history, stop by the Mighty 8th Air Force Museum, where you can see battle-tested military aircraft and learn about the Air Force from World War II to today. DINING OPTIONS Many tasty restaurant options can be found nearby, including Cracker Barrel right next door. Our Savannah, GA, hotel is also close by The Shell House, where you can enjoy ocean-fresh seafood, and El Potro Mexican Restaurant, a local favorite. Rachael's 1190 is a fun spot for casual dining, with pool tables, wide-screen TVs and frequent special events. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Savannah offers free incoming fax service for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Savannah Hotel Savannah
Howard Johnson Savannah
Savannah Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing