We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap rate for an OK room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
Ranked #93 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Got a cheap rate and it was a nothing special room. We wanted and got a king room bottom floor so we could keep an eye on our bikes. Not sure why it always seems like we get stuck in the back of the motel not sure if they think we are "bikers" and that is the only place to put us? But they said the hotel is under renovation and i sure hope they get to the carpet and bed. Carpet looked dirty and the bed was flat and hard, pillows could stand an upgrade as well pretty much like the bed flat and hard. Bathroom bothered me, the type of tub/showers they have are plastic and they don't seem clean you could see where they were sprayed because you could see the streaks were running down the side of the tub! Staff was nice and check in and out was no hassle. I would prefer express check out where i don't even have to go to the lobby. Breakfast wasn't much but I am sure you could get enough to get ya started. FRUIT would be nice, they didn't have any so we went on our way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missmymts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for choosing Howard Johnson. I would also like to thank you for your feedback concerning issues with hotel. We take each and every concern our guest have serious so that we can better serve you in the future. It is correct we are renovating and carpets and mattresses are definently on our list of things to improve. I hope you will give us the plessure of serving you again in the future. If you are ever on your way back into savannah please contact me directly for a special rate and so I can assure the room location you prefer. Again thank you for choosing Howard Johnson it was a plessure serving you.

Thank You'
Eva Johnson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed one night over Labor Day weekend. The staff was nice, friendly and professional. The room was clean. The hotel was not in the best location. We didn't have the breakfast. It was a great value at the last minute.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Howard Johnson. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the service provided. We do thank you for sharing your feedback, these are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Howard Johnson in the near future.

Best regards,

Eva J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My profession requires me to travel away from home approximately 200 days a year. My stays in Savannah are always at Howard Johnson. I have been impressed with the manicured lawns, the cleanliness of the lobby and most importantly the clean fresh rooms. They offer a hot breakfast in a pleasant dining area. The staff is polite and professional.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redvet62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson. It was a plessure serving you. I would like to take this time to also thank you for your feedback. We value all of our feedback weather it be good or bad, it is always helpful. We look forward to serving you again.

Thank You,
Eva Johnson
(Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed for the Labor Day weekend. Nice staff. The breakfast wasn't bad. The pool could be a little bit bigger. The room I stayed in was clean, beds were comfortable. Location of the hotel is good. I can't complain. Overall, happy with the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjaimes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Howard Johnson. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the service provided. We do thank you for sharing your feedback, these are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Howard Johnson in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

$90.00 for one night in a run down hotel. Never again. The room was very dingy and didn't feel clean at all. No military discount either! I would not reccomend this place! Find somewhere else to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armywife1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest


We are in receipt of your complaint and would like to respond with sincerity. Howard Johnson takes pride in our property with customer service ranked our number one priority.

We regret your experience was not suitable. We adhere to stringent customer service guidelines with emphasis on amenities, cleanliness and safety. Hosting a very large percent of repeat corporate and leisure clientele our reputation is one of quality, integrity and value.

We take your unfortunate situation seriously and we regret your dissatisfaction. We have taken your comments to heart and would like to take this time again to apologize sincerely. We would like the opportunity to accommodate you in the future and for you to experience a pleasurable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We did have to wait a few minutes for check in but only because the lady at the front was busy. She was very cordial and always smiling. The rate was exceptional for a last minute and in Savannah, GA on Labor Day weekend. It was just very comfortable after our long trip. The ice, drinks and snacks were very easy to find. The continental breakfast was wonderful...hot and plenty! Overall, it was just very pleasant experience. I would certainly return again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

I wish to thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Howard Johnson. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the service provided. We do thank you for sharing your feedback, these are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Howard Johnson in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

from checkin the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. i missed breakfast so cant give my opinion there but house keeping as well as on checkout staff showed intrest in my stay. the hotel is on the service rd so very careful not to pass it as youre getting off the freeway on SR 204. The surrounding moise is minimal to none and the curtains do a good job at keeping out the sunlight so make sure you dont forget to put your alarm. i had room 113 which is towards the back but lighting is ample.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank protege31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson. We value your opinion and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We here at Howard Johnson strive to give you the best experience possible. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Thanks,
Eva Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#97 of 115 in Savannah
102 reviews
9.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Midtown
Econo Lodge Midtown
#82 of 115 in Savannah
87 reviews
0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#53 of 115 in Savannah
1,359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gateway
Comfort Suites Gateway
#61 of 115 in Savannah
355 reviews
9.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Address: 17003 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-9787
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £44 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Outdoor Pool and Walking Distance To Restaurants Welcome to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA hotel, near River Street, a great home base for your fun Georgia vacation. With a convenient location off Interstate 95, we put you right in the center of all the most exciting Savannah destinations. Start your day by reading your free newspaper over a free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to scout out attractions and look up Riverfront events from your hotel room. When you return from your long day of sightseeing, relax with a swim in our seasonal, outdoor pool. We offer free parking for your car, bus, truck or RV and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS A wide variety of fun destinations are minutes away from our Savannah, GA, hotel. The famous Savannah Riverfront, with all its shops, restaurants, historic buildings and museums is just a 15-minute drive from our hotel. River Street also plays host to many festivals throughout the year, including Tall Ship LYNX, First Saturday and Oktoberfest. Savannah Festival Outlet Center is just one quarter of a mile away for all your shopping needs, or you can hunt for hidden treasure at Keller's Fleamarket, the premier flea market of Georgia. If you are interested in military history, stop by the Mighty 8th Air Force Museum, where you can see battle-tested military aircraft and learn about the Air Force from World War II to today. DINING OPTIONS Many tasty restaurant options can be found nearby, including Cracker Barrel right next door. Our Savannah, GA, hotel is also close by The Shell House, where you can enjoy ocean-fresh seafood, and El Potro Mexican Restaurant, a local favorite. Rachael's 1190 is a fun spot for casual dining, with pool tables, wide-screen TVs and frequent special events. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Savannah offers free incoming fax service for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Savannah Hotel Savannah
Howard Johnson Savannah
Savannah Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing