We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
Ranked #93 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I would definitely stay here again. About 20 minutes to Savannah 25 minutes from Tybee. Not alot of traffic to keep you awake. Restaurants near and rooms were nice and clean. Any time you book a hotel online, you never know what you're getting. If you want a nice clean room for a decent price, this is it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank CLARA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal T, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It was wonderful to read your comments regarding our nice and clean guest rooms. Our staff strives to achieve guest satisfaction in every aspect and we are happy to have exceeded your expectations.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our property, as it provides both easy access to I-95 and Savannah’s downtown historic district.

We would also like to thank you for your recommendation of our hotel to other travelers and we look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Warm Wishes,

Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank PATRICIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eva J, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Clean sheets and a good central location were the best things about the hotel. The carpet gave us black feet and was coming unravelled at the transition spot to tile in the restroom area. Beds were hard. That said, it is a budget motel and you get what you pay for. Could use some updates but OK otherwise. Close to several dining options and shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear you had some issues with your stay. It is our goal to make each guest's stay enjoyable and comfortable. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention for immediate correction. We take all our reviews seriously and hope you will still consider us for accommodations in the future. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely Eva J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

bugs in room and help comes in the room without permission and when front was notified we were told that bugs happen with other guests and cant be helped

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear you had some issues with your stay. It is our goal to make each guest's stay enjoyable and comfortable. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention for immediate correction. We take all our reviews seriously and hope you will still consider us for accommodations in the future. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Eva J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed two nights over the Labor Day Weekend. Everything was booked in Tybee Island and in the downtown Savannah, so we settled for a hotel outside of these. The location was not the greatest but the drive to Tybee was not too bad.The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was pretty clean and we could relax after a long day. The breakfast was okay but there was not a seat to sit at so we had to bring ours up to our hotel room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

I wish to thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Howard Johnson. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do thank you for sharing your feedback, these are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests. I have taken your concerns and forwarded them to the appropriate department for review of guest satisfactory. Again thank you and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Eva J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Got a cheap rate and it was a nothing special room. We wanted and got a king room bottom floor so we could keep an eye on our bikes. Not sure why it always seems like we get stuck in the back of the motel not sure if they think we are "bikers" and that is the only place to put us? But they said the hotel is under renovation and i sure hope they get to the carpet and bed. Carpet looked dirty and the bed was flat and hard, pillows could stand an upgrade as well pretty much like the bed flat and hard. Bathroom bothered me, the type of tub/showers they have are plastic and they don't seem clean you could see where they were sprayed because you could see the streaks were running down the side of the tub! Staff was nice and check in and out was no hassle. I would prefer express check out where i don't even have to go to the lobby. Breakfast wasn't much but I am sure you could get enough to get ya started. FRUIT would be nice, they didn't have any so we went on our way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missmymts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for choosing Howard Johnson. I would also like to thank you for your feedback concerning issues with hotel. We take each and every concern our guest have serious so that we can better serve you in the future. It is correct we are renovating and carpets and mattresses are definently on our list of things to improve. I hope you will give us the plessure of serving you again in the future. If you are ever on your way back into savannah please contact me directly for a special rate and so I can assure the room location you prefer. Again thank you for choosing Howard Johnson it was a plessure serving you.

Thank You'
Eva Johnson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed one night over Labor Day weekend. The staff was nice, friendly and professional. The room was clean. The hotel was not in the best location. We didn't have the breakfast. It was a great value at the last minute.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Howard Johnson. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and you were satisfied with the service provided. We do thank you for sharing your feedback, these are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Howard Johnson in the near future.

Best regards,

Eva J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#97 of 114 in Savannah
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
#83 of 114 in Savannah
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#49 of 114 in Savannah
1,332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Savannah I-95
Quality Inn Savannah I-95
#84 of 114 in Savannah
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gateway
Comfort Suites Gateway
#61 of 114 in Savannah
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Address: 17003 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-9787
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £45 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Outdoor Pool and Walking Distance To Restaurants Welcome to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA hotel, near River Street, a great home base for your fun Georgia vacation. With a convenient location off Interstate 95, we put you right in the center of all the most exciting Savannah destinations. Start your day by reading your free newspaper over a free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to scout out attractions and look up Riverfront events from your hotel room. When you return from your long day of sightseeing, relax with a swim in our seasonal, outdoor pool. We offer free parking for your car, bus, truck or RV and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS A wide variety of fun destinations are minutes away from our Savannah, GA, hotel. The famous Savannah Riverfront, with all its shops, restaurants, historic buildings and museums is just a 15-minute drive from our hotel. River Street also plays host to many festivals throughout the year, including Tall Ship LYNX, First Saturday and Oktoberfest. Savannah Festival Outlet Center is just one quarter of a mile away for all your shopping needs, or you can hunt for hidden treasure at Keller's Fleamarket, the premier flea market of Georgia. If you are interested in military history, stop by the Mighty 8th Air Force Museum, where you can see battle-tested military aircraft and learn about the Air Force from World War II to today. DINING OPTIONS Many tasty restaurant options can be found nearby, including Cracker Barrel right next door. Our Savannah, GA, hotel is also close by The Shell House, where you can enjoy ocean-fresh seafood, and El Potro Mexican Restaurant, a local favorite. Rachael's 1190 is a fun spot for casual dining, with pool tables, wide-screen TVs and frequent special events. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Savannah offers free incoming fax service for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Savannah Hotel Savannah
Howard Johnson Savannah
Savannah Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing