We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
Ranked #92 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    66
    94
    64
    66
See reviews for
129
102
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Good part: The prompt service at front desk. After that it was downhill. I got in at 10 pm. The first room I got #124 had a defectives I and the door would not open. Moved to another room 208. Unpacked and the room smelled musty. The carpet had a faint odor of urine and the pillowcases and sheets were yellow with age and stains. Encountered small bugs in the bathroom and a large roach behind the refrigerator.
Overall just hung in there for one night and got out fast the next morning. I would like to get my $ back please. Very unpleasant stay.
The old Indian couple handling housekeeping could barely speak English. The older man Did not understand hair conditioner.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lol-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal T, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of myself and the entire team at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah I would like to apologize that you had an unpleasant stay with us. We value any feedback we receive from our guests and appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention. We have resolved the issues regarding the defective door lock and the cleanliness of the room. We have also made some changes to our bed linens.

We would like to thank you for your comment regarding our prompt front desk service and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve your lodging needs.

With Kindest Regards,

Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MC CLELLANDTOWN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I would definitely stay here again. About 20 minutes to Savannah 25 minutes from Tybee. Not alot of traffic to keep you awake. Restaurants near and rooms were nice and clean. Any time you book a hotel online, you never know what you're getting. If you want a nice clean room for a decent price, this is it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank CLARA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal T, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was wonderful to read your comments regarding our nice and clean guest rooms. Our staff strives to achieve guest satisfaction in every aspect and we are happy to have exceeded your expectations.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location of our property, as it provides both easy access to I-95 and Savannah’s downtown historic district.

We would also like to thank you for your recommendation of our hotel to other travelers and we look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Warm Wishes,

Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Clean sheets and a good central location were the best things about the hotel. The carpet gave us black feet and was coming unravelled at the transition spot to tile in the restroom area. Beds were hard. That said, it is a budget motel and you get what you pay for. Could use some updates but OK otherwise. Close to several dining options and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear you had some issues with your stay. It is our goal to make each guest's stay enjoyable and comfortable. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention for immediate correction. We take all our reviews seriously and hope you will still consider us for accommodations in the future. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely Eva J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELIZABETH CITY
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2012

bugs in room and help comes in the room without permission and when front was notified we were told that bugs happen with other guests and cant be helped

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva J, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review. I am sorry to hear you had some issues with your stay. It is our goal to make each guest's stay enjoyable and comfortable. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention for immediate correction. We take all our reviews seriously and hope you will still consider us for accommodations in the future. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Eva J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#85 of 113 in Savannah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#75 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
Travelodge Savannah Gateway
#82 of 113 in Savannah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#49 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gateway
Comfort Suites Gateway
#64 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
Address: 17003 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-9787
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Outdoor Pool and Walking Distance To Restaurants Welcome to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA hotel, near River Street, a great home base for your fun Georgia vacation. With a convenient location off Interstate 95, we put you right in the center of all the most exciting Savannah destinations. Start your day by reading your free newspaper over a free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to scout out attractions and look up Riverfront events from your hotel room. When you return from your long day of sightseeing, relax with a swim in our seasonal, outdoor pool. We offer free parking for your car, bus, truck or RV and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS A wide variety of fun destinations are minutes away from our Savannah, GA, hotel. The famous Savannah Riverfront, with all its shops, restaurants, historic buildings and museums is just a 15-minute drive from our hotel. River Street also plays host to many festivals throughout the year, including Tall Ship LYNX, First Saturday and Oktoberfest. Savannah Festival Outlet Center is just one quarter of a mile away for all your shopping needs, or you can hunt for hidden treasure at Keller's Fleamarket, the premier flea market of Georgia. If you are interested in military history, stop by the Mighty 8th Air Force Museum, where you can see battle-tested military aircraft and learn about the Air Force from World War II to today. DINING OPTIONS Many tasty restaurant options can be found nearby, including Cracker Barrel right next door. Our Savannah, GA, hotel is also close by The Shell House, where you can enjoy ocean-fresh seafood, and El Potro Mexican Restaurant, a local favorite. Rachael's 1190 is a fun spot for casual dining, with pool tables, wide-screen TVs and frequent special events. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Savannah offers free incoming fax service for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Savannah Hotel Savannah
Howard Johnson Savannah
Savannah Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing