We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
Ranked #93 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I was told that if I wanted a remote (that should be in the room) that I had to go to the front desk to get it. Out of 4 rooms I reserved, only one iron worked. Room 207 deadbolt lock doesn't work. Even though I was there 2 nights, house keeping entered the rooms, removed towels and we had to run them down to get more. None of the bathtubs had stoppers (I had my 8 month grandson who needed a bath). I wouldn't recommend this hotel......sorry :(

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lamira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest:

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding maintenance issues, front desk service and housekeeping on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with all of our departments to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.
Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Savannah.

Kind Regards,
The Team at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The room was decent. It was very cold when we first got in but the heat turned on quickly. The bed was rather comfortable. It was only 49.99 which was quite surprising being from Canada, you can't find anything decent at that price. The only complaint I have is the bathroom. We had a non smoking room yet the bathroom smelled like smoke in the morning. There is a weird pipe on the floor which is a bit creepy. If they renovated the bathrooms it would be an excellent hotel. The showers were quite alright. They need a bit bigger of towels! Overall it was enjoyable and such a helpful young lady to check us in at 1:30 am!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tlang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest:

We appreciate knowing the things that please you as well as those areas that need our attention. It is our goal to provide the high quality standards you have become accustomed to from the Wnydham Brand. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our bathroom layout and you will be happy to know we are in the process of renovating our rooms. I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We strive to please all of our guests and appreciate your comments.

Best Regards,
The Team at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

the room was old, dirty and virtually uninhabitable. Additionally, there wasn't any heat and I had to spend 1/2 of the night sitting up. Finally at 3:30AM I approached the front desk and was assigned another room. Although marginally better given there was heat, the room was only one step better than my original room.
The breakfast was loosey.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest:

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during your recent stay. I can assure you that your complaints and issues are heard and will be resolved immediately. As you acknowledged in your response we are looking into this situation. However, this does not excuse the unpleasant variables that resulted in your disappointing stay. I can assure you that steps are being taken to assure this issue does not re-occur. You will be happy to know that the Heat has been repaired and we are also in the process of improving our breakfast buffet.

In the future I do hope you would be willing to give us another chance and let us showcase our property.

Best Regards,
The Team at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We found this Howard Johnson via the Interstate 95 Hotel COupon Book. For the cost ($44.25), the accommodations were very nice. The beds were comfortable, the entire unit and common area very clean and the staff friendly. The breakfast provided was good for the price and enough room to accommodate the # of guests eating. The hotel was alittle difficult to find as it is located in a congested area with alot of hotels and eateries around it. Directions said take an immediate right and that was correct!. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetobeonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyCares, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest:

Comfort, Quality and Price, have to be three of the most important things when traveling and THANK YOU for noticing we provide them all. It is so great to hear when a guest is happy and enjoyed the stay. I will share your comments with the team and we hope if you are in the area we will visit us again. Thank you for sharing:)

Best Regards,
The Team at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#97 of 115 in Savannah
102 reviews
9.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Midtown
Econo Lodge Midtown
#82 of 115 in Savannah
87 reviews
0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#53 of 115 in Savannah
1,359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gateway
Comfort Suites Gateway
#61 of 115 in Savannah
355 reviews
9.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Address: 17003 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-9787
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £44 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Outdoor Pool and Walking Distance To Restaurants Welcome to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA hotel, near River Street, a great home base for your fun Georgia vacation. With a convenient location off Interstate 95, we put you right in the center of all the most exciting Savannah destinations. Start your day by reading your free newspaper over a free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to scout out attractions and look up Riverfront events from your hotel room. When you return from your long day of sightseeing, relax with a swim in our seasonal, outdoor pool. We offer free parking for your car, bus, truck or RV and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS A wide variety of fun destinations are minutes away from our Savannah, GA, hotel. The famous Savannah Riverfront, with all its shops, restaurants, historic buildings and museums is just a 15-minute drive from our hotel. River Street also plays host to many festivals throughout the year, including Tall Ship LYNX, First Saturday and Oktoberfest. Savannah Festival Outlet Center is just one quarter of a mile away for all your shopping needs, or you can hunt for hidden treasure at Keller's Fleamarket, the premier flea market of Georgia. If you are interested in military history, stop by the Mighty 8th Air Force Museum, where you can see battle-tested military aircraft and learn about the Air Force from World War II to today. DINING OPTIONS Many tasty restaurant options can be found nearby, including Cracker Barrel right next door. Our Savannah, GA, hotel is also close by The Shell House, where you can enjoy ocean-fresh seafood, and El Potro Mexican Restaurant, a local favorite. Rachael's 1190 is a fun spot for casual dining, with pool tables, wide-screen TVs and frequent special events. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Savannah offers free incoming fax service for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Savannah Hotel Savannah
Howard Johnson Savannah
Savannah Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing