We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Historic District
Ranked #47 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Woodstock, GA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the Money”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I was a little concerned at first, but this ended up being a good hotel. Admittedly, I have high standards when it comes to hotels. Considering we got one night free (due to points), I would say that we got quite a deal.

The hotel is very nice in appearance. It is in a rougher side of town, just before the huge bridge. The view of that bridge is awe-inspiring. I greatly enjoyed seeing it every time we arrived or left. Very cool.

The walk was short and doable, no problem at all. I didn't make that walk at night. I heard from a friend that lives in Savannah that the area become a bit dangerous after dark. We followed her warning and took the car after the sun went down. Still, not a huge inconvenience.

The room itself was nice. It was clean. Most of all, it was huge! The ceiling had to be at least nine feet, maybe more? Very spacious. Perhaps the only complaint I have is the fact that there was always someone talking in the hallway (once until about three in the morning). It was a tad frustrating. I am not certain if this should be chalked up to the hotel or the people within. Probably the latter.

All in all, I'd say it was well worth the money. Should I visit Savannah again, I will certainly consider Comfort Suites Historic District as my hotel of choice (when on a budget).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mudrock95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    199
    60
    34
    31
See reviews for
183
242
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Family of four stayed 2 nights 2.13-2.15.2012, had a great stay! I cannot understand anyone reviewing this property as anything less than a 4 star as the room on the first level had cathedral ceilings, excellent air flow, clean oversized rooms, huge bathroom, nice breakfast, location and 10 star indoor pool/hot tub area!!
We have traveled A LOT this past month in the south and wish that all hotels in this catagory were as wonderful with pride in management as this hotel was. A bonus is the close proximity to attractions and the trolly!! Would definitly stay again!! Did I add friendly staff and nice toiletries?

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, about 10 rooms down on the right past the check in desk. The 16 foot c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BellevueBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComforSuitesHistoric, eCommerce Marketing Director at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Wow! Awesome feedback to say the least. I have to be honest, reading a review like yours makes me smile big straight from the heart. Knowing that our rooms, air flow, breakfast, location, staff, & pool/spa exceeded your expectations is fantastic. We do have an amazing management team and staff members but more importantly we have amazing guest that allow us to take pride in what we do and how we provide for our guest 365 days out of the year.

Once again thank you for your kind words and we look forward to having you as a guest in our hotel again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Kristen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We'd give this hotel 3.5 of 5. The location is convenient to the Historic District if not really in it, but parking is free and the tour "trollies" stop here. There were no surprises and we were quite comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowBird0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComforSuitesHistoric, eCommerce Marketing Director at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us at the Comfort Suites Historic District while in Savannah, GA. Everyone at the Comfort Suites Historic District strives for a 5 out of 5 and we hope in the future you will bring to our attention anything we can do to achieve a 5 while you are a guest in our hotel.

The hotel location, free parking & trolley stops are major perks of our hotel facility. I am beyond thrilled that you appreciated all of the above.

We look forward to having you as a guest in our hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Kristen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Very comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful staff.
Just a short walk from edge of Historic District and free parking.
Most other hotels require valet parking at additional cost.
Hotel recommended local tour for Historic District. Bargain for 2 days transportation. Picked up and returned to hotel by tour company.
Indoor pool and Jacuzzi

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComforSuitesHistoric, eCommerce Marketing Director at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us such positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us in the Historic District while in Savannah, GA. I am beyond thrilled to know our rooms, location and staff exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to having you as a guest in our hotel again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Kristen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Both mattresses sank terribly to the middle. Breakfast was good. Old property. Shower was not clean but beds were. I expected more for $200 per night. Big disappointment.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComforSuitesHistoric, eCommerce Marketing Director at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest,

I want to first thank you for your feedback, we appreciate guests taking the time to share with us their thoughts and experiences. This is the first complaint I have heard regarding a mattress issue at our hotel. This is unacceptable and I can assure you management has made this a top priority in searching out any rooms with a mattress flaw. Also, the shower should have been sparkling clean, as it typically is in each and every room. This is something we have taken action on and should no longer be an issue starting today.

Your positive feedback regarding the breakfast is greatly appreciated. We do understand that hotel accommodations tend to be costly during certain seasons in the historic district of Savannah, GA. This is why we have taken it upon ourselves to not only include in our price a hot deluxe breakfast but also free parking. Most hotels in the historic district charge up to $30 a night to park.

Once again I truly appreciate your feedback and we all hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Kristen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I and my wife were traveling from Charleston, SC to Key West and we selected this hotel due to 2 reasons; one good review in Trip Advisor and the other, the location. The both criteria were well qualified.

We liked the hotel, the rooms; 02 queen bed room, was so clean, well-appointed, spacious and Spotless. Bathroom was extremely clean.

It has very nice breakfast area and they served very nice food free.

Sadly the Negative factor; we arrived the hotel between 1pm and 2pm; we knew it was little early, but my disable wife badly needed a rest after a long drive. But Hotel front staff was woody and extremely unfriendly. They turned us back asking us to return at 3pm saying check in time is 3. They applied their book, not common sense on us. They well noticed I was traveling with a disable person. I felt terrible as this was on our way from California to Key West and back on a road trip staying so many ( 15) hotels / motels and we never ever experienced or treated this way..

But the hotel was excellent, though missing kind staff with human face.

We may return.

Room Tip: Good Hotel at a nice location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asoka B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA323_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District, and to thank you for all the positive comments about our hotel. That your room was clean, spacious and to your liking. I am dismayed at the level of service you received from the front desk agent that day upon trying to check in. I am very sorry that you were not greeted nor accommodated very well upon your arrival. This is not the level of service we are known for, as you can see from other reviews here. I hope you will give us another try so we can prove to you that we do give the kind of service you should expect when staying with us, that is great service. If you should find yourself coming to Savannah in the near future, please contact me personally to arrange your stay with us.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review of our hotel, it is appreciated.

Best regards,
Ron Jean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

we stayed here december 19/2011
about 2 blocks from city market (walking distance)
the people at the front desk very informative and helped pick out sightseeing things to do..got coupons for money off..
rooms were clean ..check in check out was quick and efficient.
would stay again...only draw back our room was at the back and found road a bit noisy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannieannie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Property: Comfort Suites Historic District
Address: 630 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing