We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just close enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Historic District
Ranked #47 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just close enough!”
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

The folks at this hotel are phenominal. The service was spot on. Everyone that worked there answered any questions we had about tours or the area. I'm sure we will return to Savannah and when we do we will stay here!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    196
    58
    34
    31
See reviews for
180
241
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We returned to Savannah and stayed at the Comfort Suites Historic in late August. This trip we stayed for 4 nights. Now either these people are on top of everything or pure coincidence but we had the same room this year as we had last year. I think that they are on top of things....... That was great as we really enjoyed the room. the hotel is very clean and the staff go above and beyond to help out. Now for the people who continue to say that the hotel is too far too walk to anything......they are wrong....a nice easy 5 minute walk and you are walking along the river or into the sites of downtown. It is always a nice walk and there is nothing to be afraid or worried about. Should you decide you want to drive, the parking meter rates are very good and dont forget this property has free parking so you save yourself lots of money right there. The rooms are very spacious and you donot hear any noise from the hall or the elevator. If you are looking for a great hotel at a reasonable rate then this is the place for you......And remember do not worry about the negative comments on the length of the walk........

Room Tip: Room 309, a great room, facing west, close to the elevator.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtrtfromyeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I can't say enough about the young lady on the desk or the hotel. we stayed 3 days and it was terrific. the young lady helped us secure tour trips and knew answers for all our tourist questions. the stay there was so nice and we saw all the things we were interested in thanks to her help.

Room Tip: We had a king suite and it was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel over Labor Day weekend for the Craft Brew Fest. We arrived a little earlier than check-in and they allowed us to check-in early. The staff was very pleasant and were able to answer questions we had about the city and the events.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 250jinkyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed only one night, but we got a good impression of the hotel. The room was spacious with very high ceiling (maybe only at ground floor?!) and clean. Breakfast was ok. It is a chain hotel, so you do not get any special feeling of the old south, but for a short family stay it is perfectly OK.
The hotel is not in the historical district, but not too far.
During the day the neighborhood seemed safe though very poor. I am not sure it is equally safe in the night.
Savannah is wonderful. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank italy_norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

I was afraid we would show up in it would not be I was afraid we would show up in it would not be a good place. Boy was I relieved when we pulled up. lobby was very nice an lobby was very nice and clean and stuff that and staff that greeted us but very pleasant and informative. We had a king size bed in a pull out couch both were very comfortable. Entire hotel was clean breakfast was enjoyable though sometimes crowded. Hotel has trolley tour comes right to the hotel for pick up and drop off. Just a few blocks off the beaten path but well within walking distance of everything. Free parking. Great find and awesome price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramonad74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

We were returning north from Florida. We had extra time and were just not in the mood for fast food or a hotel by the interstate. We blindly chose this hotel in savannah. The price was reasonable. When we arrived the service was exceptional. Our room was amazing. Clean, new, high ceilings, awesome and for around $100. However, at first glance, we thought we were too far out to walk into town, but in about three city blocks walk we were in the heart of everything. Nice restaurants, etc. There is even a nice convenience store along the way. There are some older government projects on the opposite side of the highway but turned out to be only a visual distraction.
Breakfast was good, made myself a waffle.
The only slight negative, is that the pool is very small. Not an issue for us, but of you have a large group with kids, you might be disappointed. Our daughter enjoyed both the pool and the hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waxrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Property: Comfort Suites Historic District
Address: 630 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing