We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jack and Joanne's 50th anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Historic District
Ranked #50 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Jack and Joanne's 50th anniversary”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel was clean and neat. The front desk staff was pleasant and very professional. The morning breakfast was delicious and warm. Good coffee and fixins. The free shuttle to the riverside was wonderful as I'm disabled from a stroke. The shuttle made it a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planceer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA323_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff.

Thank you again, see you next time.

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    192
    57
    34
    31
See reviews for
173
238
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Comfort Suites is a good hike from the historic district and the walk is neither scenic nor pleasant, and it doesn't feel particularly safe. They offer transportation, but having seen people waiting for the van, we decided not to risk it. We stayed there because they are dog friendly (if you consider $50 per dog per night friendly), but it was a huge mistake. It's not good value for money and in no way captures the charm of Savannah. I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA323_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and hope that you will afford us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank you again. We appreciate your input.

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel rooms were spacious and bed was very comfy. The hotel was in walking distance of the historic part but not in it although they do offer a very convenient shuttle. Breakfast was good and all in all an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA323_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine
Level Contributor
188 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This was a great hotel for my Mom and I to stay in for our annual Mother/Daughter Labor Day trip!
The hotel is located at the very end of River Street near the bridge. If you want a hotel that is within walking distance to the historic district then this is not the hotel for you. However, the have a free shuttle which is an amazing service! It will take you anywhere within the historic district and pick up when you call. One the best parts of our trip was the times that our driver Andrea took us to our destinations and picked up. She was so sweet an wonderful as well as helpful. This service is a pure gem!
The hotel has free breakfast. We found that if you didn't get down there early enough they do run out of the hot food. The breakfast consists of one hot item (we had ham, bacon, sausage, sausage biscuits and gravy), bagels, toast, oatmeal and grits (you make them), yogurt, fresh apples, bananas, oranges, coffee, juice, and cereals. It is sufficient, but as I said it goes quick.
There is a lovely indoor pool and jacuzzi, we did not use it though.
We did find that housekeeping left a little to be desired. They didn't replace the things they should've like towels, bath mat, shampoo and conditioner etc, but they front desk took care of it immediately. They also never vacuum or sweep the bathroom floor because there was stuff on the floor all 3 days we were there.
The room itself was fantastic! Two nice queen beds, a separate area with a small sofa (that pulls out), nice tv, refrigerator (big!), microwave and a nice big bathroom. We were on the 3rd floor and it was VERY quiet!
One complaint is that the elevator (there is only one) is SUPER slow and SMALL so that can get a bit frustrating.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: 1st floor appears to be for pets, so just be aware of that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District.
We are so happy that you decided to spend your "Mother/Daughter" time with us! Your comments regarding Housekeeping issues have been duly noted. Please know that we are using them to better serve our guests.

Thank you again, see you next time.

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Suites on our way through Savannah. I was happily surprised at how nice it was even though we did not have a reservation. We upgraded to a King room and the accomodations were very comfortable. The room was clean and quiet. We did not get a chance to use the pool or other facilities since we weren't there that long but we did get a very restful night. We did enjoy the complimentary breakfast as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again. We hope you'll visit us again soon!

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Made mistake of letting husband book this. For 199$ thought he was getting a suite within historic district walking distance. We got BOX room with park lot view. You MUST use the shuttle as you are on outskirts of downtown 1 block from ghetto. I would not have felt safe walking and it is a good hike to ANYTHING. I have traveled quite extensively and this one was one of the worst values I have ever encountered. It is clean and relatively new. You be sure to look at pictures and know what you are in for!!

Room Tip: Belive all rooms same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corvette87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA323_Hotel_GM, General Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and hope that you will afford us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank you again. We appreciate your input.

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed at Comfort Suites in Fernandina Beach & was so impressed I had the clerk reserve a night in Brunswick and Savannah. Brunswick was wonderful. When arriving at this one in Savannah immediately I realized this was in NO Historic District. The main location for the Postal Service was next to the hotel across the street from that was government housing, our view was of the interstate. We had to pay to park. And to get to River Street we would need to walk about 15 to 20 minutes. I was overcharged because I had a reservation (164.95) when a walk in was charged $84.64....was told I was charged this amount b/c I had a reservation by the clerk at the desk. The only way I could change the amount was to cancel my reservation go 40 miles to the closest visitor center & get a coupon. I was (& say again WAS) a Choice Privilege Member. Interesting to me all these great ratings!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA323_Hotel_GM, Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Comfort Suites Historic District.
We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We are taking your comments very seriously and do hope that you would reconsider giving us another opportunity to better serve you.

Thank you again. We appreciate your input.

Best regards,

Ron Jean/AGM
Along with the Historic District Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Property: Comfort Suites Historic District
Address: 630 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing