We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Historic District
Ranked #47 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We visited the Savannah College of Art and Design for early orientation in late July. I had read many reviews on TripAdvisor prior to booking this hotel, and most of what I'd like to say, both good and bad, has already been said. BUT, I think it is very important to place more emphasis on the things that REALLY matter. We thought the rooms were very nice, clean, and a good value for the price. However, the location was not convenient for walking (too far in the 100 degree heat during the day) and not favorable at night at all. There is a subsidized housing project directly across the street and construction was taking place behind the hotel. It woke us up early every morning. You can't reserve the free shuttle, so it is first come/ first serve (which is nerve racking if you have a reservation), and it doesn't pick up as far as my younger son needed to return to the hotel from the College. (Someone told him, "Sorry we don't go that far, and simply hung up without offering him any other options.) Also, the shuttle stops running at 9:00 pm., so you have to make your evening plans early. The breakfast was o,k, but the eggs were in the shape of a large flat circle, the sausage didn't taste good, and because it is a long walk from other places, it is crowded and difficult to get a seat. The first morning, we took the food up to our room. In September, we have booked a room which is safer and more accessible to the river, the city market, and the Historic District in general, for my older son's college, move-in date. There is a reason why this hotel is less expensive than the others: Location, Location!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank fishlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas W, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I sincerely appreciate your review and your honesty. Please allow me to apologize for the mediocre experience during your stay in July. Since your last visit to Savannah Historic District, we've made some changes to our breakfast menu. We are also opening an annex for the overflow and congestion during breakfast. The construction next door is coming to an end within the next couple of weeks. The Hue has been constructing a new urban living facility to accommodate more of their students' living situations. We are very pleased to have SCAD students as our new neighbors!

I hope you give us a second chance to show you superior service. If you do decide, let me know and I will make sure your stay is most enjoyable.

Warm regards,

Lucas K. Walsh
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

When we arrived there was a very noisy school group staying on our floor. There was lots of door knocking and running about late into the evening. However, when we complained the management apologized and gave us some cereal bars and oranges as compensation. A small token but showed that they took note of the complaint and made an effort to make amends. The second night was much quieter.

There is a pool and hot tub, although they can be seen from reception, which is slightly strange. I also had some concerns around the cleanliness of the pool as there seemed to be clumps of hair floating around in the main pool. The breakfast area is a small area next to the reception, and both times we visited it was very busy, and it was a struggle to find a table. The area is quite small, and moving around to get breakfast items is tricky when the tables are occupied as many chairs and tables have been squeezed into the area.

The location of the hotel is not too bad if you don't mind walking – we found that the shuttle bus was not that convenient as it only started at 10am. The area around the hotel wasn't that great, but staying on the main street you seemed OK.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank richardwkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas W, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am very appreciative of your viewing of our hotel. I'm very pleased that you felt that you were heard by our staff. Our mission is complete guest satisfaction. Which is why we appreciate your honest opinion of our hotel. It helps us define our weaknesses as we aim to become a better hotel everyday. Our hotel is located in the outer edge of the Savannah Historic District next to SCAD's new apartment THE HUE. We do offer a complimentary shuttles, however, there are many other ways of getting around town. Savannah's Department of Transportation (DOT) has a complimentary shuttle, trolley, and ferry! All three of the trolley companies, Old Town Trolley, Old Savannah Tours, and Gray Lines, offer to pick you up and drop you off at our hotel! Just a few more suggestions for the next time you come visit with us.

Warm Regards,

Lucas K. Walsh
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I booked two nights here for my Girl Scout troops visit to Savannah. The price couldn't be beat so I was expecting a so, so hotel. I've stayed in plenty hotels so I have a pretty good idea what's out there. I was completely blown away by how clean and how nice this hotel was. For the price I was expecting something moderately rundown. Boy was I wrong. The foyer was beautiful, the pool - although tiny - was really pretty, the room was huge...super high ceilings, lovely arches, huge sitting area...the room really was unbelievable. The beds were super cozy, I couldn't hear my neighbors (thank heavens), the bathrooms were nice and everything was super clean and very nice. I was very, very surprised. The breakfast buffet was amazing...waffles, bacon, eggs, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit salad and all the standards like toast, waffles, yogurt, juice, oatmeal, cereal, etc... The staff was lovely. Super friendly and very accommodating. Only negatives were the small elevator and the fact that although the hotel was in the historic district...it was just too a wee bit too far to actually walk. Thank you for the wonderful visit! I will def visit the next time I'm in Savannah & wil recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florida32968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas W, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I'm very excited to hear that you had such a terrific stay with us! We are honored to host Girl Scout in the birthplace of Juliette Gordon Lowe. Thank you for passion for guiding this young ladies as they grow into some of our future's leaders of America.

It pleases me to hear that the service was so great that we are spreading the word to all your friends and family! Hope to see you again soon!

Warm regards,

Lucas K. Walsh
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Best hotel I've stayed at in a long time! Nicest staff I've ever met at a hotel! Rooms are neat, clean, and very spacious! Free rides to river street and back. Cheapest hotel parking in the historic district!! Great experience and defiantly will go back! Recommend to everyone!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas W, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words! Next time you're in town, I suggest also take it down to Forsyth park. It's an amazing park, half covered in historic trees, the other have open fields to run, play, and sun bathe. Our shuttle will be able to you anywhere in the historic district not just to the must see River Street. Next time you come visit, as our shuttle about some of our local favorites!

Hope to see you again soon!

Lucas K. Walsh
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Clean room, with comfortable beds, nice hot shower, and a delicious breakfast! The hotel staff were helpful and professional. The location was close to shops and restaurants - within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas W, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay. One of the most important things to me is how you sleep, especially the night you arrive and the night before you leave. Near the beginning of the year, we received new mattresses, new pillows, and new bedding. We updated the duvet covers for a clean modern look. We are pleased that the changes are paying off for our guests! We want to you be well rested to explore the many things Historic Savannah has to offer!

Hope to see you again soon!

Lucas K. Walsh
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is one of the nicest and by far the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. It's a bit of a walk to the river shops but a shuttle is available. The rooms were immaculate, and the service was great, especially the desk clerk. Beautiful décor. My one down side is that our mattress was a bit too comfortable and soft for me. The hotel will go down in memory as one of our favorites of all time. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cheryl201426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas W, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! Thank you so much for the flattering review of our hotel. I am elated to hear that we've made our hotel one of your favorites! I hope we do see you again soon!


Warm regards,

Lucas K. Walsh
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. There was a power outage but things were not as bad as I thought they would be. The rooms were spacious, the bed was comfortable. I'd choose to stay here again. I love the shuttle, we had the opportunity to travel river street and go to the city market. I enjoyed my trip. Looking forward to going back to Comfort Suites historic downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 653Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucas W, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your patience and understanding during those difficult times. We were scrambling around to accommodate all out guests as best as we could. Unfortunately, we were not the only ones in the Savannah Historic District by the power outage. But during the crisis, you were able to have an enjoyable stay and I am very glad that you did!

Thank you for your kind words and I hope to see you in Savannah again soon.


Warm regards,

Lucas K. Walsh
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Historic District

Address: 630 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#30 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £96 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Shuttle Service available to drop off and pick up our guests anywhere in the Historic District of Savannah. Hotel is located on the outer edge of the Historic District of Savannah, within walking distance of River Street and City Market. Just minutes from the Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, Savannah Civic Center and the Savannah College of Art and Design. Enjoy the shops and boutiques, restaurants & many museums, book tours available throughout the Historic District with our concierge from 10am-5:30pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Historic District Hotel Savannah
Comfort Suites Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing