We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service”
Review of Sweet Spice

Sweet Spice
Ranked #73 of 864 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a restaurant that offers authentic caribbean and american cuisine.Our goal is to share the caribbean exotic flavors all over the world..
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Excellent food and service. The food is delicious and plentiful. I recommend having the three meat sampler, and a patty to go. Look forward to weekends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    84
    22
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yep, that good”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Definitely off the normal tourist path, but something that's worth the trip out of the historic district. I'd never had Jamaican, so I can't really compare it to anything else. Just spicy enough, yet my daughters, neither of whom like spicy foods, both thought the jerk chicken was something they could eat. Whatever you get, I'd recommend you plan on it to go, as there are 4-5 tables inside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Markdav98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great experience and great food!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

If you are like us and love food and are looking for something off the beaten path then Sweet Spice is a bullseye! The minute you walk in you can tell that Donavon and his family are passionate about Jamaican food and sharing that passion with their patrons. My wife and I both had the sampler but left the choices up to Donavon. It would be a mistake to come anywhere near Savannah and not stop in and experience this place. It felt like eating Sunday supper your best friend's table.

Helpful?
1 Thank Austin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Happy!!!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Decided to try something new this time during our annual trip to Savannah! My husband and I couldn't of been happier! The staff was super friendly and the owner so energetic and personable! Meat was so tender and there was a flavor party happening! We will be back for sure!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Lalongshore520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I went to Savannah with family. We ate at sweet spice due to feedback on trip advisor. I was glad to have the warning about the appearance of the restaurant as it is very small and looks a little sketchy from the parking lot. It is also very small inside. However the food was excellent as was the service. I was there with my parents and daughter. We each had something different and everyone was very happy. Probably good to know that they close at 8 so you need to get there early. Also, they do not serve alcohol and we usually like to have a drink. However, it was worth it and we had a glass of wine when we got back to the hotel:).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Spice also viewed

Pooler, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sweet Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing