We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic home in Savannah”

Harper Fowlkes House
Ranked #67 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic home in Savannah”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We were walking past and saw the "open" sign...so glad we did! This is a beautifully restored Greek classic revival home with a fascinating history. Purchased in 1939 by a single woman who was a successful business owner. She was an antique shop owner and collected beautiful pieces for the house while she lived there (until her death in 1989). She also preserved and/or restored some beautiful pieces including some incredible "gasolier" chandeliers, and immense parlor mirrors. Well worth a visit, both for the home itself and to learn about the woman who took such care to preserve it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieM4960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    28
    12
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Favorite house to tour in Savannah!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This house had so many unique features. For one all of the furniture and fixtures are placed exactly as the will stated. There is a lovely collection of original china from the Queen's Inauguration. The tour guide was excellent and showed so much enthusiasm. We also were able to go to the second floor, which is not always the case in some of these older homes.
Very nice all around!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank marylou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful home!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Harper Fowlkes House. Our tour guide was wonderful, telling us about the history and architecture of the home. The chandeliers are just amazing, as well as the architecture is gorgeous.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank swtjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Home to Tour!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This home isn't advertised as much as the others but it was definitely our favorite home we toured. The guide was excellent and the history very interesting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JOEMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We brought family to Savannah for the first time and this house was a perfect addition to our other tours. Lots of interesting history and architecture. Perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kcgslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harper Fowlkes House also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Harper Fowlkes House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing