We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Customer Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georgia State Railroad Museum

Georgia State Railroad Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$90.00*
and up
Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Ranked #29 of 210 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the former Central of Georgia Railway Roundhouse and Repair Shops Complex at Savannah, the Georgia State Railroad Museum exhibits a collection of historic, restored rolling stock and interprets the history of railroading in the state of Georgia, offering guided tours, student programming, private tour & event bookings, and more!
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Was a bit confused over the time choices on the board above the cashier station. The young woman who appeared to be in charge was not helpful. She was downright sour. We paid $30 for three tickets, only to find out we had just bought a time slot for something we could not do because we had a tour to get to. She was unmoved and did not even tell us where to go to start the basic tour. Her helper was more gracious and told us which door to go through. There was very little to see or do at the Railroad Museum, okay if you want to see the inside of boxcars. We spent perhaps 15 minutes there. Had the pleasure of chatting with an employee outside, who told us they were trying to raise money for the museum to do more things. My suggestion is fire the young woman we encountered and get some better reps to convince donors you deserve the money.

If you go, plan to be outside in the heat to see the actual "museum" and to wait 45 minutes to an hour for the attraction they give you. You can go back across the street and visit the History Museum if you want to pay $17 for a ticket to the three museums at the Visitors Center. That would be a better plan than the one we chose. The History Museum looked interesting and the gift shop cashier there was very nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily_Beck, Historical Interpreter at Georgia State Railroad Museum, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We are so sorry that you had a negative customer service experience at Georgia State Railroad Museum! We agree that our site is unique as far as history museums go in that much of our exhibit space is outside and indoor exhibits are spread throughout the buildings of the former repair shops complex that now houses our museum. It sounds like perhaps you might have missed part of our museum: the shops behind the roundhouse. The See 3 Pass combination ticket which you mention is a great deal, and will let you experience several museums in Savannah. We hope that next time you are in Savannah, and you are able to schedule some time, you will give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    194
    52
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit but will never go during the hottest part of the year. Got to ride on the train. Great for train enthusiasts.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dana123-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The negative reviews are from those that did not appreciate the museum for what it is. It is great btw!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My kids 10,6 & 2 loved this as well as my husband & me! Very cool to see all the trains, tools & history! Not an all day visit...prob spent about 2 hrs & then headed to the children's museum next door. Great value & something enjoyable for the kids. The negative reviews are no doubt from those that need adrenaline & none stop entertainment. Self guided tour for those that appreciate it for what it has to offer....trains & history!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not the best for smaller children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We took our two small kids, and while there was the train ride and the trains in the roundhouse to look at, that was about it for them. A small kid won't care about the history or what the smokestack was used for or that there used to be a bunch of boilers in a particular room. My husband and I found that interesting, but as this was more for the kids than is, it fell short. There were a couple model train tracks, but one was under construction and the other only had one very short train on a huge track so it was hard to find where the train was. I did like how knowledgeable the your guide was, she did great. We got some great info on the things that have happened there and its history, and an interesting tour of two luxury train cars. Overall, while I personally enjoyed it, I don't feel it's enough to hold a small kid's attention, so maybe hold off until they're older and have a longer attention span or more interest in the history behind the trains.

Helpful?
1 Thank timofmylif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We hopped off for a minute and stayed for over 3 hours...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We absolutely loved this museum. We were on a hop on/hop off tour of Savannah, and our 6-year old son wanted to hop off here. We hopped off to humor him, but it ended up being the highlight of our day in Savannah for all of us. First, the staff is so passionate about trains and the restoration work they are doing, you can't help but get excited about trains - even though I previously had no real interest in them. Our "tour guide," Bill, was a former journalist who now volunteers at the Museum. He is extremely knowledgeable about both trains and this history of the roundhouse. He gave a handcar demonstration, and all who wanted to could operate the handcar for a ride. Then we went on a steam engine ride - short but informative, and they demonstrated how the roundhouse worked while we were on the train, so we were on the train as it moved, which the children liked. Then, Bill gave us a tour of the locomotives and showed us the restoration work that they are undertaking. So many people stayed on the tour that they decided to also give us a tour of the Executive Cars, even though there was not a tour scheduled while we were there. The best things about this museum is that a) it is very much a "hands on" museum - the staff removed the "do not climb on this" signs so that we could explore the train cars - and they made everything accessible - not off limits, although obviously they pointed out where we needed to exercise caution and b) the staff is wonderful and Bill, in particular, had such a passion and excitement for sharing his knowledge that his enthusiasm for trains and history was contagious. We ended up staying at this site for 3 1/2 hours - far longer than we thought we would. There is also a children's museum there, but it closed by the time we were done with the railroad museum. For us, this was definitely worth the stop, and we hope that they succeed in their continued restoration efforts. Most of this tour is outside, so if you are not a fan of heat and humidity, standing, walking, the smell of steam engines, or the accessibility of grime, this will not be for you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keri-Lyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Georgia State Railroad Museum also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Georgia State Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing