We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice visit”

Coastal Georgia Botanical Gardens
Ranked #75 of 220 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A unit of University of Georgia Extension, CGBG is a historic property with trees and farm buildings dating to the 1920s, 30s and 40s, when "the Bamboo Farm" was an active USDA Plant Introduction Station. Today, new gardens and paths are being developed and installed. By increasing the plant diversity on the 51-acre property, CGBG aims to bring people in touch with the wonders and beauty of the plant world. Admission charge, free parking and amenities include a Gift Shop and two public restrooms on site. Among the gardens to enjoy include the Woodland Shade Garden, Whiet Garden, Water Garden, Garden for All Abilities, Orchid House, Mediterranean Garden, Rose Garden and Judge Arthur Solomon Camellia Trail. Numerous cold-hardy palms, bamboo species and camellia species are highlights in our botanical collection.
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was a nice place to visit, with a wide variety of plants and flowers. The orchids were lovely. A great place to take photos.

1  Thank AbraCadabra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalGeorgiaBG, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Georgia Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to visit and post a review.

Based on your comments, and the time of year you visited, we'd also add that from May to September -- when the weather is warm to hot -- it's best to plan a visit in the morning hours. Often on sunny days after 10:30 am it's already too warm: sweating and flushed faces make you want to get an ice cream cone or cold beverage in air conditioned comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

"Is this it?"..."is this all there is?"...what's this?..what's that?...The big sign to the restroom is nice and the many tobacco-free facility signs are easily visible.
Some parts like the shady camelia walk and myrtles are nice, but we frequently didn't know where we were, where we were going or what we were looking at. Most of the place seemed open and hot. Was not really sure the actual size of the place and possibly where we were until we got home and tried to figure it out by looking at the map of the 'future' place again. Never saw the lake(s). The dead stuff was/were bananas. There were clumps of bamboo that were ok - nothing really amazing. The cozy little office building, nearby gazebo and basic greenhouse with orchids were nice, as well as some individual trees and plantings. This is not a major botanical garden and don't clearly see how the word 'coastal' applies. Just barely ok.

Thank Enzironment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalGeorgiaBG, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Georgia Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Unfortunately, it sounds as though you may not have nabbed a visitor's guide and map off of the main (paved) parking lot on your arrival. Maps may be acquired at the bulletin board kiosk by the parking lot or in the office foyer at the Cottage Garden. It would have made navigating and locating our existing gardens much easier. Numerous full-color interpretive panels as well as metal plant label signs would have assisted in answering many questions if you were able to spend time in the many garden areas around the historic buildings and large shade trees. We hope you find time to visit again the next time in Savannah, as we are indeed adding more gardens as per our master plan.

"Coastal Georgia" is the name of our region. We are definitely not immediately on the Atlantic Coast as you would experience on Tybee Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This free attraction has much history going back to the 1800s. There are some interesing historic buildings with information plaques and information about plants and bamboo. Right now it going through a building process with the building of a visitors center with developing trails and displays. Given time it should be an interesting attraction. If you are in the area, it is still a pleasant place to visit and there is no cost. If not from the area, a GPS is necessary in finding the gardens.

Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We drove 25 mins outside of downtown Savannah to visit this site. But, as far as we could tell, there is very little to see. They seem to have lots of plans, but the current reality is pretty empty and boring. A few clumps of bamboo and a small cluster of Narcissus and that's it?

2  Thank eastward24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalGeorgiaBG, Public Relations Manager at Coastal Georgia Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We're sorry your initial visit didn't meet your expectations. Based on your description, you may have entered from Canebrake Road and only seen the open meadow and bamboo groves. Many gardens were just to the right of that area, at the paved parking lot near all the buildings and large shade trees. We already have a large camellia garden, orchid greenhouse, cottage garden, Mediterranean courtyard, rose garden, accessible garden, hardy palm collection and 50,000-gallon water garden. Depending on when you visited in spring, there are also large beds of bearded irises and daylilies that offer seasonal color.

We'd love to have you stop by to see these existing gardens (or the you-pick berry fields) the next time you're in the region if you have a love of plants and the outdoors!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Looks promising from the website and has big aspirations but it's not much more than a field with a few clumps of bamboo. And it's quite a distance from the coast.

1  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoastalGeorgiaBG, Guest Relations Manager at Coastal Georgia Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We're sorry your initial visit didn't meet your expectations. However, it sounds as though you entered through the Canebrake Rd entrance and never ventured to our parking lot, and where our existing gardens are currently concentrated. All our photos on our website are taken from our existing gardens and plant collections. In mid-March (the height of spring), you would have seen spring bulbs and numerous trees and shrubs in either bloom or new leaf flushes across our existing gardens. Our new Andrews Visitor and Education Center is being built in from our Canebrake Road entrance and will be a better starting/orientation point to the 51-acre site. This new facility is set to open in September 2014.

"Coastal Georgia" is the name of our region. We are not on the beachfront.

Please visit us again to catch a glimpse of the wealth of plants, gardens and historic buildings already here! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coastal Georgia Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Georgia Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing