We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambience”
Review of Garibaldi's Cafe

Garibaldi's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Garibaldi's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

A very nice interior that makes you fell like you are in Chicago or NY. The food and service is also excellent. The seafood is fresh and the presentation is great. Service was also great. Thanks to Crystal!

Helpful?
Thank DrCraigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    301
    141
    66
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent service.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We were recommended Garibaldi's by our hotel and were not disappointed. The service was attentive, the atmosphere lovely and the food delicious.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't make it past the front door”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I was recommended to this place by several people. We were excited to go but that came to an end quickly at the front door. The young lady on at the front desk was terrible! When we walked in she just stood there and looked at us. I finally said hello and then she spoke. She automatically told us that there was no seating until 9pm....that wasn't an issue for us being that it was 8:30. We walked through town and returned at 9pm. We were about to be taken upstairs for seating when my husband explained that he'd had a recent knee surgery and could not go up. She says well you're going to have to wait again. That would of been okay if we weren't standing there looking at two empty tables. My husband asked why we couldn't sit at either of those and she rudely said "well there is someone else wanting that table" My husband told her that there were two tables and asked what the issue was?! She just gave us a blank stare and then proceeded to tell us we would just have to wait. He told her he didn't understand why. She replies "You SAID your leg was hurt right?!" At this point I told my husband that we were leaving. What was the point of us making a reservation and still have to wait. She never gave a valid reason as to why we couldn't sit at one of the empty tables. Our thoughts are, if we were treated this way at the front door, what's the service like at the table? We were extremely disappointed. The positive to our experience was that we saw an amazing Restaurant right across the street called Belford's. That was the BEST $200 we spent on dinner. Based on the way we were treated at the front door at Garibaldi, we will NEVER spend a single penny there!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ageesbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food! Excellent service!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Garibaldi's is almost like two restaurants in one. You have the downstairs, which is the bar area and smart, trendy looking, while upstairs you have what is known as the "ballroom". - open, spacious and elegant. We sat upstairs. Our server was Remie, who truly helped to make the dining experience especially good. There were 6 in our party. One of our friends has very specific dietary needs, which were easily and graciously taken care of by Remie. The oyster special was delicious as was the signature dish of scored flounder in an apricot glaze. Everyone indicated their dishes were very flavorful. We skipped dessert, but coffees were great! We understand that noise can be a problem upstairs, if the rooms is full. But on this particular evening, that wasn't an issue.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Puddin12609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food and fantastic service”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We used to live in Savannah and enjoyed going to eat at Garibaldi's. It is always on our list of "must-eats" when we go back to visit. This trip we had a friend with some special medical considerations and the staff went ABOVE and BEYOND to make the visit comfortable. The service was amazing and the manager even stopped by our table to make sure everyone enjoyed their food and check if we needed any further assistance with our special considerations. Save room for dessert, it is awesome! I highly recommend the scallops with risotto, but everything we have ever tried is amazing. If you have time, arrive early for your reservation and stop by the bar. The bartender is so funny and will tell you all about the drinks he creates.The downstairs is decorated completely different than the upstairs so it is always fun to go check out both (we prefer to sit at the bar downstairs and then eat dinner upstairs).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garibaldi's Cafe also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Garibaldi's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing