We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very authentic flavors”

Rancho Alegre Cuban Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rancho Alegre Cuban Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 880 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: If you are a Cuban food fan, this is a great destination. Interesting variety, including Great choices, but the true Cuban dishes are wonderful. Don't miss the flan, the BEST I have ever eaten!and Paella to die for!!!
Gainesville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very authentic flavors”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We've eaten a lot of Latin cuisine over the years. This is some good, authentic Cuban food. The room Vieja is good, but the shredded pork or lechon asado is amazing. The staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is terrific.

Helpful?
Thank donsanchez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    128
    41
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Fresh and Vibrant”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Cuban food, at least in my experience, is known for it's flavors that bring out the most of the materials. Rancho Alegre met all of our expectations and then some. We're not surprised as it's reputation is well known in Savannah. It just took us too long to get there. Fish was fresh. Their pot roast (can't remember the menu item name ...) was out of this world. Nice atmosphere. Really friendly and knowledgeable service.

If you visiting or live in Savannah - this is a very good restaurant. Great food! Great value!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MicheleandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
“good choice!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I enjoyed my shredded pork, black beans, rice and plaintains. My boyfriend had the fish. We really enjoyed the food. It was reasonably priced and very good. Would definitely go again when in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 604barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awful! service was ok, but the taste was nothing Cuban”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I'm cuban and my husband is also from the Caribbean, we were highly disappointed. The taste was bland nothing caribeno about este restaurante. The service was ok, and they tried to offer us another entree but none of it was what we expected. Maybe for the locals,but not for us. :( sorry

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Menorca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This is our 'go to' place when we're in Savannah!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is our 'go to' place while we're in Savannah! The prices are reasonable and the service, depending upon what time you're there, is generally very good. And the food is, without fail, delicious. We love the flan, the roast pork, and my husband loved all the fish! Try the Sangria - and eat all the delicious bread that appears on your table when you're seated. We were in Savannah in May - and we ate here at least three times. Free parking behind the restaurant and we never had any trouble finding a space there on Jones street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rancho Alegre Cuban Restaurant also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Rancho Alegre Cuban Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing