We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hungry-- then this is the place!”

Sweet Potatoes Kitchen
Ranked #20 of 876 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
“hungry-- then this is the place!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I enjoyed the friendliness and great service. The food was excellent. We never ran out of tea. I enjoyed the pot roast, garlic mashed potatoes, and lemon collard greens. In fact, i wanted more greens. I highly recommend this restaurant.. Love the decor---bright and caribbean looking. Barb M.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 604barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    176
    60
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you are near this area then it is worth it to check it out and grab some grub. I had the peach glazed bbq chicken and it was worth it. I'd order it again and again. Plus the corn pudding was just great. If you are not in the area, don't go looking for it, there are a lot of places to chow in this city. But again, if you are near, go chow down here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Southern cooking in relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Once a year I pass through Savannah and I always have lunch at Sweet Potatoes. The food is good with lots of choice. Once I even planned my whole trip around the fact that fried chicken is served only on Tuesday (and I didn't want to miss that!). Having Southern roots, I can vouch for their collard greens being the best anywhere. Hot biscuits, ice tea, delicious fish and revered vegetables bring me back every year. The service is always friendly and pretty quick, considering how busy lunchtime is there. It's a great place to meet with friends and family of all ages.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, GA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Everything was great about this place! The menu has something for everyone, from liver and onions to fried catfish. The food was perfectly prepared. The mashed sweet potatoes were incredible. The banana pudding and pecan pie were also as good as mom made, or maybe better! The service was good too. I have no complaints at all about this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesterlee927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen, GA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good home cooking”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I both had the pot roast. DELICIOUS! Don't be fooled by the appearance of a small portion on a large plate, you'll have plenty to eat. I had cheese grits for my side and my wife had beets. Both were terrific. The banana pudding...you must try the banana pudding!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scottinkga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Potatoes Kitchen also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sweet Potatoes Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing