We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent desserts here”
Review of Kanpai 1

Kanpai 1
Ranked #491 of 864 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent desserts here”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My cousin who lives in Savannah, GA brought us to Kanpai for some dessert. (We were visiting from New Jersey). Their special Lava cake was so delicious. The soft and moist chocolate cake was very warm and topped and surrounded with cold ice cream and whipped cream. My kids love them. And the mochi ice cream (different flavors) was also delicious. I like the green tea flavor the best. They also have the unique Japanese soda where there is a marble that you will push in to open it. My kids had fun opening the bottles. They serve great desserts here. Service was excellent. We are glad we stopped by here. We will visit again if we are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great sushi at Great Prices”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The tybee roll is the best! Everything here is super fresh and beautifully presented. The prices are extremely reasonable, and the menu is HUGE!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny_Machete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
262 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Ehhhhhh...”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

A quick stop for Wilmington Island residents, this place provides average Japanese cuisine at reasonable prices. It's not known for its attractiveness by any stretch, but you can usually get a decent meal here. The shrimp sauce is delish. I thought the restaurant had an odd smell when there last week, but my friend didn't notice. Service is average.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carzim59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's a nasty looking place”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We used to like Kanpai, but it seems to get dirtier every time we go. The food has always been good, not spectacular-but you really start to doubt what's in your meal after you look around the dinning area. I think we have had our last visit to Kanpai...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Savannah_Living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This place is SOOO Yummy!”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

AHHH-mazing! Get "The Geisha" it's a sampling of sushi, tempera-shrimp and veggies, chicken terriyaki, rice and veggies. There is not much atmosphere, but it makes up for it with the food which is amazing, we go there like twice a week, so good!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetpotato018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kanpai 1 also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Kanpai 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing