We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Tour”
Review of Andrew Low House

Andrew Low House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.00*
and up
Savannah Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Historical Square Segway Tour in Savannah
Ranked #24 of 218 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Andrew Low commissioned New York architect John Norris to design and construct his house in 1848. Norris came to Savannah to design the Custom House on Bay Street and remained in Savannah to build many desirable residences with the latest in technology and luxury. The Italianate exterior features intricate cast iron railings and side balconies contrasting with the smooth stuccoed brick walls. The well proportioned rooms are decorated with elaborate plaster cornices and carved woodwork. The delicate balance of exterior restraint and opulent interior resulted in an elegant villa for the family.
Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Tour”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had a very nice tour in the Andrew Low Home. It was a very private tour, as only my fiance, another visitor, and I were in our tour group. The tour was decently priced and very informative. The house itself gave a good glimpse into the lives of average 19th century Savannah citizens. The home is beautiful but is not extravagant. I do recommend a tour through this home.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    128
    36
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Neches, Tx
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice tour”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Lovely home to see. It's not super ornate like the Green-Meldrim home but a more of a look inside a real family's home. Our docent was very knowledgable and answered many questions for us. She also recommended we stop by Jekyll Island on the way to Floria to see the summer cottages of JP Morgan, Rockefeller, and Goodyear.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved the history”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This was an amazing home. Very well kept and our guide provided lots of information. We were very pleased with the home and FYI you can buy for $18 a ticke to see this home and 2 others!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliffe
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My fav historical home tour”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Of the 7 homes we toured, this was tops. Everything inside and out had been well taken care of and the tour guide was excellent. I was not interested in seeing the companion properties that come with the 3 house ticket, but I was interested in seeing them after I finished the tour. Buy the 3 home ticket for $18 and see 3 for the price of the Owens- Thomas home tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
1,234 reviews
1,020 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,910 helpful votes
“Museum magic near Girl Scout First Headquarters”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This phenomenal example of Neoclassical Italian Villa style architecture features 13-foot ceilings, and has one of the three original Savannah gardens, the bedding plan maintained for 160 years. Given the museum-quality original furnishings, artwork, silver, jewelry and small items, roped-off rooms allow only a view of exquisite maintenance. Never renovated, but damaged in the 1886 earthquake that devastated Charleston, the house retains original intricate plaster corniced ceilings and chandelier medallions. Custom-made 1805 French porcelain and Bohemian glass adorn the opulent mahogany dining table constructed in 1848 that expands to accommodate 24 guests. Surprisingly, stored rain supplied flushable toilets and the mahogany-encased 7-foot copper tub, big enough for Shaquille O’Neal. Piazzas (balconies) surround the entire mansion, to shade windows and allow occupants to enjoy a view of magnificent gardens. Robert E. Lee slept around quite a bit☺, and has a bedroom named for him.

Andrew Low came to Savannah from Scotland in 1821. After the death of his first wife, he married Juliette Gordon, the deaf artist/entrepreneur who founded Girl Scouts in 1912, a month before Titanic’s fatal voyage. At 329 Abercorn Street (AndrewLowHouse.com, 912/233-6854) ALH is open 7 days until 4:00, closed holidays and first two weeks in January. The modest $8/adult fee is justified by limited access to magnificently furnished rooms and brief half-hour tour, the only thing that prevented a 5-star or 'excellent' rating. There’s no additional charge for enjoying the gardens. The museum gift shop has replicas available for purchase. While here, visit Girl Scout First Headquarters and Museum next door, at 330 Drayton Street and East Macon, not yet identified by TripAdvisor. :-(

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DeanMurphy2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andrew Low House also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Andrew Low House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing