We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The staff is what makes this hotel particularly fabulous. Everyone was helpful, and they went out of their way to return a pair of earrings I had forgotten in my room. The location is also ideal, but be sure to request a room above the ground floor for privacy, and one that faces the courtyard for quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa D, Front Office Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. We are pleased to learn that our staff is “fabulous” in your eye and are glad we were able to reunite you with your earrings. Thank you again for your comments. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Elisa Dickerson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were visiting Savannah recently on a vacation trip. In general The Mansion was a very good place to stay. Great decor. The staff was efficient but not exactly gushing with hospitality and charm. The location was a tad far from everything but there is a shuttle to the property on the waterfront which we used several times. The location on the park was a plus. The location however sits on the edge of what we call a 'transitional' neighborhood. We were hesitant to walk around there at night. In fact there's a market just 2 blocks away which Yelpers said basically 'don't even go there'. Which was too bad because we might have stocked up on water since the hotel wanted to charge $5 for a bottle of water. When I looked in the bathroom (which was amazingly spacious) there were bath salts and bubble bath, for sale of course. The art on the walls in the hall was I was told was also for sale. So basically every time we turned around there was something for sale. And for all the grandiose pretensions there seemed to be a few details missing. If there was a concierge it was news to me. The first night we came back to our room there was no turn down.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank levermontois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had a lovely room overlooking the courtyard. This hotel is across from beautiful Forsyth Park and away from the hustle bustle of the riverfront. We really enjoyed the sanctuary after a busy day sightseeing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 481barbaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My daughter and I decided to explore Savannah for a few days. This hotel was perfect. I booked the concierge level and the morning breakfast offered on this level (coffee, juice & fruit for us because we're vegans) was enough to tide us over until we stopped our walking exploration for lunch. Because it rained for most of our stay, we spent our evenings with a couple of cocktails in the Casmir Lounge listening to musical performances. The free hotel shuttle to the partner hotel, The Bohemian on the Riverfront, was a nice opportunity to have dinner in a different part of town, but we also quickly realized that we had made the right choice with the Forsyth Mansion because of its setting (right across from the beautiful park) and quietness.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here overnight on business and dined at their 700 restaurant. The hotel's luxurious style and charm was captivating and not like any place I have been and the price is also unlike anything I have seen even close to the same caliber (1/4 the cost). Art is displayed on the walls and rooms are sexy and glamorous and yet manage to still feel comfortable and warm. The dining experience at 700 was wonderfully warm and delicious. Shane the chef's creative take on the scallops dish I ordered hit the mark perfectly unlike many fusion dishes that usually are either over or under done. I would highly recommend this hotel and restaurant and above all, Shane, you rock!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sspandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and child have stayed here a total of 10 nights. We travel a lot and this is among our favorite couple of hotels in the US. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Huge bathrooms. And lots of luxury features such as the gym, bar, art gallery, restaurant and cooking classes. The staff is amazing -- valet, front desk, housekeeping -- all professionals. Great neighborhood too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank lucadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

All areas of this hotel are exceptionally clean. There is no better location if you wish to participate in events at Forsyth Park. I felt very safe at this hotel and enjoyed morning walks around the park. There is a shuttle to the Riverfront, although I did not take advantage of this. For all of these reasons I would certainly return. However, it should be noted that this property missed the mark in several areas. I did not see the consistent level of top quality service that Marriott is famous for and this was a disappointment. This is my first stay at an Autograph Collection property, but I expected, since it is in the Marriott family, the same level of service. There were small things that surprised me (styro cups for coffee instead of china cups, no coffee available during the the 5-8 concierge lounge hours, concierge breakfast items appeared to be appetizers, causing me to wonder if they were from the evening before. My king size bed was too short (I am 5'8") as if it had been turned horizontally to the wall. The rooms above the entrance are noisy as smokers congregated outside in the evening. The decor is somewhat over the top and not always tasteful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nasizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa D, Restaurant Manager at Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Greetings Mr/Ms Nasizzy-

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Mansion on Forsyth Park. I am glad that you enjoyed the location and the park. However, I am terribly sorry to hear about your experience in the concierge lounge as well as the noise from the courtyard. Our morning standard is to provide eggs and bacon with fresh pastries at our concierge lounge buffet. In addition, I apologize for the confusion and although we do not have a coffee station from 6-9pm, we do offer coffee service upon request. Thank you for sharing your experience with us as it is our most important tool as we strive to exceed the expectations of our guests.

Tim Hehman
700 Drayton Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 114 in Savannah
1,417 reviews
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 114 in Savannah
3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,340 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection

Address: 700 Drayton St, Savannah, GA 31401-5803
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
#17 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £174 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion On Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection Hotel Savannah
Mansion On Forsyth Park Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing