We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and peacefull”
Review of South Beach

South Beach
Ranked #47 of 217 things to do in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Montréal
Level Contributor
177 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice and peacefull”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The south end beach is great and clean specially at low tide.
And in comparison to the 2 other beachs at Tybee, it is very calm and peacefull. Wonderfull place to have a walk and look for marine life.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank NRRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    110
    54
    18
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We love Savannah's south beach”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

As always parking was alittle expensive. . We love just sitting back and enjoying the waves. . It is our happy place

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chickamauga, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice!!!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We spent a few hours on the beach. It was nice. Was crowded but fun. We sat close to the pier and were close to the restrooms and anything we would need! Besides having to pay $2/ hour for parking, it was a great and cheap trip to the beach!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank Lacey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, Clean, Fun”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

My family and I had a blast! The only cost was to pay for parking. The bathroom we changed in smelled awful and I made sure I touched none of the surfaces! But after that was over, we walked over the hill and were on the beach. The beach was clean, there was a small crowd, but plenty of room to enjoy yourself. Some of my family walked to the pavilion and got hot dogs. I didn't get a chance to go, because I was too busy splashing in the water and building sand castles! Overall it was a great experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
16 Thank Cocoabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cheap shuttle, but doesn't run often enough”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It would be so cool if it ran every hour! I missed the 10am one because I thought (my bad) that there was one at 11am. Instead, I had to take a cab and pay $31 (which is 10x as much as the $3 shuttle fee) to make my kayaking appointment. It's also not very clear if the last shuttle that comes from Savannah goes back to Savannah as well (it does, thank goodness).

I'm grateful for its existence though, it was somewhat convenient and saved me some cash.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Andrea_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Beach also viewed

 

Been to South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing