We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood / Oysters are incredible”

Bernie's Oyster House
Ranked #109 of 859 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
189 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great seafood / Oysters are incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is an oyster bar on riverstreet. Lots of history for this spot, including 1800's building, cotton, and Eli Whitney.
Their seafood is great, and oysters are incredible. I recommend this place for good seafood.
Atmosphere is bar and very casual, but it's fun, historic and delicious.
Check it out.
~ Jeffrey

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    189
    61
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Eat here only for the Oysters !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was the first nights dinner in Savannah, needless to say it was the last time we would visit Bernies. My husband had the raw oysters which were fine, the rest of the food especially the fried shrimp was terrible, overcooked and small.. Only eat here for the Oysters anything else you will be wasting your money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slambert50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Time and Good Food at Bernie's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good food and good portions at Bernie's. Located in downstairs on River Street, Bernie's has a fun atmosphere. It was very busy when we were there but we were greeted promptly and served quickly. We all had seafood (raw oysters, fried oysters, and the low country boil and it was all good. Great for a good lunch while enjoying the riverfront.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Go_Fish22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
324 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“For the Oysters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Don't let the lack of ambiance deter you. The raw oysters are amazing. This was a return visit for us and we were sad to learn that we couldn't get "you-shuck-em" oysters by the bucket deal like we did last time due to limited supply. So we just settled for a dozen each, a pitcher of beer and walked away happy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janiewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Oysters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I hit Bernie's to get some great steamed oysters. We had eaten at Bernie's in years past while visiting Savannah and they never disappoint. We ordered a bucket and received some of the largest oysters I have ever seen! Delicious! The decor is nothing spectacular but it is what you would expect on a old timey wharf seafront. The service is a little slow so make sure you order your next beer when you are half way done with the one you are working on. I wouldn't recommend any parties over 4 because the place isn't very large. But if you go with one other couple you should do great! If you are going to Savannah and you enjoy oysters, Bernie's is the place for you!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bernie's Oyster House also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Bernie's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing