We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this IS a hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Ranked #27 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 July 2011

whew..I was starting to think that I was a crabby old traveler and then I came off the highway with impecable directions, was greeted nicely , check in was seamless, upgraded to a nicer room-- and everything worked... the bed was very comfy... the shower was good, ammenities were terrific,, (but not so good tv channcels for me.). Janice , the concierge was charming and helpful, the front desk staff were nice and cheerful as well as being helpful...and the bellmen/car people were very nice and efficient. This is what hotel travel USED to be like and I found it again in Savannah. its really cental and convenient .. -- when I left the Hilton people said it was nice to meet me ..and you know what? It was really nice to stay there and meet them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,673 - 1,679 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

I have but one complaint...the light switch to our bathroom was outside the room and behind the open door. That was not the case in the other rooms I was in. Okay...done with the negative.

Great breakfast. Good service and good food. We paid for our breakfast ($10 each) and it was well worth it. Staff in the dining area was pleasant and worked hard. We also enjoyed drinks in the lobby. That too was a pleasurable experience.

Room was good...nothing special. Everything worked okay and we had plenty of room. We had a suite since we were with a family group. Enjoyed a swim in the pool. Staff was helpful with restaurants and sightseeing.

Would definately stay here again. On the edge of the historic district...easy walk to most everything.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Best parts: balcony rooms, nice pool area, friendly staff, walking distance to everything

They only real complaints are unreliable Internet service, over-priced breakfast buffet, and scratchy sheets

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunnerJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulkomanecky, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

RunnerJH,

Thank you for offering your feedback. I am sorry you were not impressed with our breakfast. We pride ourselves on having hot, fresh selections that are affordable when compared to similar offerings. I apologize that your sheets were not comfortable and will look into this with my housekeeping manager.

Sincerely,
Paul Komanecky
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My husband and I stayed in Savannah for several days at the beginning of July. This hotel really knows how to cater to its guests. Each and every staff person was friendly and very helpful from the moment we arrived until the day we departed. This was truly home away from home with a great view of the Savannah River (and the fireworks display). Excellent location - easy to walk to attractions, restaurants, and shopping. One of the best hotels in terms of service, location, and decor. Don't pass this one up!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Although approaching the hotel from one direction is somewhat shady (a couple of blocks from low-income "projects,") this must be, more or less, the dividing line to a much nicer area. Once we arrived, our itinerary always took us in the street direction which was much more appealing. We were comfortable in our surroundings and never felt unsafe.

This area is home to several other hotels, as well, such as the Hyatt, Quality Inn, etc.

The greatest advantage, I believe, is the hotel's proximity to the river. About a 5-minute walk will take you to an assortment of shops and restaurants.(Also, rather than take any of the several ramps which scale down to the river area, note that there is also an elevator available, located to the left of city hall). This is a great area to take a leisurely walk (and sample some of those wonderful pralines!!!).

We had two wonderful concierges at this hotel: Janice and Pam. Both ladies were extremely accommodating, and assisted us in finding whatever tours, restaurants, and entertainment we sought. We arrived on a very hot and humid day at 1:30 PM. Janice knew our intention was to do a hop-on-hop-off itinerary later in the day. Rather than see us sweat miserably, she located and secured a comprehensive, air conditioned, Old Savannah Tour which could pick us up at 2:00 PM. We couldn't have gotten anything more convenient, and it was very much appreciated.

Pam was helpful, as well, providing directions to Tybee Island, and securing tickets for the Old Savannah Theater. She recommended a small restaurant (Six Pence Pub) as a place close to the theatre. Both the theatre show and pub were great for a casual evening out.

The hotel room was rather basic, but comfortable. The air conditioning worked perfectly. The pool was small, but clean, and served our needs well for that refreshing afternoon dip.

We were travelling on rewards points, and were provided with a cooked breakfast.

I wouldn't hesitate staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulkomanecky, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

llovestotravel,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our concierge staff went above and beyond for you. Please visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Komanecky
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This was our second stay at this location. We have also stayed at the Doubletree directly across the street. The quality and cleanliness of the rooms was as expected in a Hilton property. The location makes it easy to experience the City Market, the riverfront and the rest of the historic downtown. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulkomanecky, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

mrmice,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your loyalty. I hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Komanecky
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Hotel was great and was in a perfect location to see everything there is to see in Savannah. You can walk to the City Market area and River Street (on the waterfront). I'd highly recommend using the concierge service at this hotel. We stepped up to the desk..asked a few questions and got a wonderful day of activities, including reservations for The Chart House at 8pm on the balcony overlooking the waterfront (free appetizer since our concierge set up the reservation). Don't miss out on a wonderful time in Savannah...stay here...and use the concierge desk..they made it all easy and fun! Don't let the fees for valet parking scare you...parking in Savannah is scarce..so use it..the daily fee is comparable to other parking options that aren't as handy/close by. We loved the hop on and hop off trolley tour, the green spaces of the numerous parks, and the friendliness of the people. The hotel made it all the more enjoyable by being centrally located and helpful! Thanks Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District...you'll see us again soon...it's a promise!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caytoncristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulkomanecky, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Caytoncristy,

Thank you so much for such a stellar review! I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Paul Komanecky
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#29 of 116 in Savannah
3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Savannah
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £99 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing