We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Ranked #28 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The hotel is in a great location for seeing everything in downtown Savannah. We valet parked the car on arrival and did not see it until we left 3 days later. Loved River Walk which was just across the road (flat shoes recommended as the cobbles are very uneven). There are lots of good restaurants with good food at varying prices but would recommend Cotton Exchange and Huey's. Don't bother going out to look for breakfast. The hotel serves an excellent buffet or made to order for $10. Finally, I cannot say enough about Southern hospitality. All the staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful. Try the little bar for happy hour. It is a good spot for meeting other guests. We came away from Savannah with very happy memories.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the back of the hotel and was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
We are thrilled you loved your stay with us and found the hotel met all your needs and more. It’s great being immersed in Savannah’s downtown district and having all the fun right around the hotel. Thank you for your wonderful compliments and sharing your experiences with other travelers. We hope you will come visit us again shortly.

Best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    543
    213
    102
    51
See reviews for
392
718
59
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This is a relatively new hotel so everything is very nice. Rooms are very nice, breakfast buffet was good and resonably priced. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Valet parking in their underground garage is required. Consider it part of staying in a nice hotel in the city, like so many other cities. Once parked, we did not need our car again until we left two days later.

The hotel is located directly in front of City Market, where much of the night life and restaurants are. Everything else in the Historic District is a walk away.

And now the bad. Bay Street. This is an extremely busy and noisy thoroughfare. A room on the back of the hotel facing the town would no doubt be much quieter than the rooms facing the river, which are directly over the street. Luckely, I travel with ear plugs for just such circumstances, so I got through it. Any of the hotels alobg Bay Street will have the same noise issue. This hotel would have gotten a 5 if not for the road.

I would certainly stay here again. I will ask for a room in the back, and keep my earplugs near.

Room Tip: Face the city, not the river. The view of the river is nice, but it is not worth the noise at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaAndLovingIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms and location of the hotel. We do apologize that you didn’t love the Bay Street side of the hotel. Next time you stay with us, you can enjoy a different view of Savannah and face City Market and overlook the Historic District. We never want our guests to sleep unsoundly! Thank you for leaving your review and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Kristina Rhodes was so nice. She told me how to get around in the Savannah area. She told my business partners and I about a food place called Fiddlers which was great. She gave us a very easy route to St. Simons beach. The rooms were clean with a great pool,jacuzzi, and workout facility. Thank you Kristina for a great stay here. I plan to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The location is perfect for walking around downtown Savannah! We walked everywhere and this was perfect. It is between two major nightlife areas and we definitely felt safe walking around late at night.

The pool area was small, but nice. It got a little bit crowded, but nothing too crazy.
Rooms were nice. Service was on par with other HGIs around the country. You're not going to get anything specially fancy, but everything was as to be expected. I will definitely stay here again when in Savannah.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KUO100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Hello Guest,

We are very pleased that you loved the location of our hotel and enjoyed all the services of our Hilton Garden Inn. We strive to give our guests the best in service when they stay with us and we thank you for sharing your experiences with other travelers. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

You area close enough to riverwalk to enjoy savannah and yet far enough to get a good nights rest after a long day. The staff was accommodating and gracious. The food was good (if you have time it still would be cheaper to it out of the hotel). Rooms were updated, clean, and modern.Take advantage of the valet parking especially with parking being so hard to find in that area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckybe4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
We’re glad you enjoyed being one block from River Street and found the hotel comfortable and clean. We love the photo you took of the room – so welcoming it makes us want to take a nap upstairs! Thank you for staying with us and leaving your review for other travelers. We hope you will return again soon.

All the best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I cannot say enough positives about the Hotel Staff from the Front Desk, Valets, Bar/Restaurant to Housekeeping Personnel. The Hotel is well kept and the location is convenient to a number of shops and restaurants. However, the road noise is unbelievable and for our next trip to Savannah we will be staying elsewhere in the city. I booked our September reservation way back in March and specifically asked for a quiet room on the City Market side of the hotel. I even called the hotel a week in advance asking for that. Our room was on the 5th floor right on busy West Bay Street with a view of the river, power plant stacks, the run-down hotel across the street, and the never-ending heavy truck traffic. I even resorted to wearing ear plugs on our 1st night, but even 5 floors up you could hear and feel the truck traffic. The 2nd night had the added police car chase down below. So overall a nice hotel in a terrible location.

Room Tip: If they cannot guarantee the City Market side do look elsewhere or pack hearing protection and a whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
We’re glad you enjoyed our excellent staff and the clean upkeep of the hotel. Being one block from River Street and adjacent to City Market, there is traffic noise from Bay Street and we apologize you found this uncomfortable. Rooms are assigned on the day of arrival and although we try our best to accommodate all the requests of our guests, sometimes due to availability we cannot fulfill every one. We deeply apologize you did not receive a room on the City Market side and felt unsatisfied in your stay. We hope you will enjoy your future visits to Savannah.

All the best,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is the ONLY hotel I can give 100% to regarding excellent customer service From the minute we pulled into the hotel to park someone from the Valet service greeted us as we got out of our car. Otis welcomed us to the Doubletree, unloaded our bags, and told us to please check in and he would bring our luggage to us. He was up with our luggage within 15 minutes of us arriving in our room. We were greeted promptly at the front desk and were on our way to our room with our complimentary cookies within 10 minutes. The room was clean, the beds were perfect and the view was outstanding. We were overlooking the bridge and the river. .We had breakfast he following morning and were waited on by Michelle, who had to be one of the most efficient and friendly waitresses we're ever had. The cleaning staff was friendly and everyone who works at the Doubletree spoke to us as we walked by. The day we were to checkout they allowed us to keep our car in the parking garage until 2:00p.m. while we went to shop one last time. I realized, when I returned, I locked my keys in my car. The Valet attentant, Nathaniel, went above and beyond in helping me call someone to come help us. After waiting 30 minutes for the service to arrive, the facilites person said he would help us get into the car. We were leaving the Doubletree 20 minutes later. I truly have not ever had a better experience than staying at this particular Doubletree Hotel. Thank you to each of you for your excellent customer service.

Room Tip: If you want the ultimate customer care, clean rooms, great food, convenient location to River Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,834 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing