We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antwuan was amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Ranked #27 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This was our first time to stay in the Historic District of Savannah, and we liked it real good. All employees were of the highest caliber, and yet one person stood out from the rest, Antwuan, our valet attendant. He met us at the door when we arrived with a huge smile, which he seemed to wear continuously, and genuinely, as we found out from experience throughout the next few days. But the very first time we came down to retrieve our car, Antwuan greeted us warmly by name, and ran, yes ran to get our car. :) I've been in business for over 35 years now, and when you find someone who treats people the way this young man does....You keep them, and take care of them. Thanks Antwuan, for making this part of the trip memorable, Thanks Hilton Garden Inn. PJ
ps. All of the men working in Valet, were very polite, and courteous. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allthebaers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,507 - 1,513 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

We had a fifth floor room facing City Market. It was easily the noisiest hotel room I have ever stayed in. My husband and I always choose Hilton Hotels for their quality, and this stay was quite surprising. Not only could you hear every word sung from the Karaoke bar across the street until 2AM, but you could hear cars driving by all night, as well as people's conversations on the street. I actually got up three separate times to make sure our windows were closed thinking something had to be open, but alas, it was just poor insulation. I finally called the reception desk for help, and she simply said she couldn't do anything about it. There was never an offer to move to a different room even though the hotel was quite empty. Thankfully we didn't have any kids with us, but I certainly would not recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with children, and would suggest requesting a room facing Bay St., not City Market.

My cousin was travelling with us and had a room with her son on the other side of the hotel. She didn't experience the noise problems we did, however her window was level with the pool deck and didn't have any blackout curtains. It wasn't an issue in November, however she said if it had been pool season, she would have requested to be moved to a private room.

Additionally the price of parking when I booked the hotel said $15, but when we got there we were informed it was $18, even though we showed the confirmation that said $15.

Finally, I booked the room with a discount code on the website. When we checked out the next day, they charged full price. I asked about it, and she said if I had the confirmation with the price of the room they could grant it. However, the confirmation I received only had dates with no prices, and I even showed this to her to which she just stared at me blankly and said "I don't know what to do." I finally gave up because it wasn't worth arguing about. All in all this was a VERY disappointing stay. Even more disappointing was that I tried to address these issues with the manager directly, but cannot locate any contact information other than the reception desk. We will be staying at a different Hilton on our next trip to Savannah!

Room Tip: Request a room facing Bay St. City Market gets very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for your loyalty to Hilton and choosing to stay with us while in Savannah. We deeply apologize for the shortcomings during your stay and we can assure you that these experiences are out of character for the hotel and our staff. Please know that all the rooms have blackout curtains and all email confirmations from Hilton provide the rate paid on the confirmation. We do not change the rates at the Front Desk therefore what you were charged is what was booked online. We apologize you did not enjoy your stay with us and we hope to provide you with a more characteristic stay in the future.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

From the moment we pulled up to the hotel and were greeted by our valet, Antwuan we were impressed with this hotel. When we arrived, our room was not ready so Savanna offered to store our belongings in the back office so we could explore the city. The hotel is a very short walk to both City Market and River Street.
The lobby was decorated for Christmas and was very charming with the lit fireplace and beautiful tree. Every employee we came in contact with on our stay was super friendly.
Our room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable.
We had breakfast the following morning in the restaurant and our server Nelson was fantastic. We did not have to ask for anything. Try the eggs benedict!
We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Couple022512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

After my stay here in September, I returned with my daughter for Thanksgiving. Another great stay...front desk staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Only downside was the breakfast on Friday morning. My daughter was very frustrated that her omelet was runny when she specifically requested well done. Service could have been better because there weren't that many guests. Would still stay here again, though.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank Catector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We hope you and your daughter had a great Thanksgiving and thank you for staying with us again. We apologize you didn’t have an excellent time at breakfast and hope you will come back to dine with us again for more characteristic experience. Thank you for being loyal guests and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Danielle Valenchis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location. Walk out the side door and you are on the corner of City Market. Walk out the front door and you are a couple blocks from the River Front. What I loved about the hotel is that they had a bar. Another nice touch is the book of restaurant menus in the lobby. Having a concierge is nice, too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Lovely Hilton Garden Inn at the West (North?) end of historic River Street. We booked a suite and loved the 6th floor view of the river with the ships passing by. Very convenient walking location. Delightful front desk staff. Only quibble is that in order to have dessert at the hotel after dinner we had to go across the street to the Doubletree (amazing cheesecake and we were able to bill it to our room at the HGI - plus the Doubletree had no suites).

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in the Savannah Historic District in October. The hotel was lovely, the people very helpful and we got a room with a balcony which was fabulous. It was so enjoyable to look out over the city at night. The only draw back was the concierge woman who seemed very put out that we attempted to talk to her. She was not what I'd call helpful. But other than her, we had a great stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhedsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 116 in Savannah
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Savannah
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £99 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing