We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Ranked #27 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I was greeted by such friendly staff on my first visit to Savannah and was so pleased to have picked a lovely hotel in a really convenient location. I loved the cookies that were temptingly located on the check-in counter.
My room was well appointed at the back of the hotel. It was quiet and very comfortable.
If you are in Savannah you will find this hotel so conveniently located for sightseeing on foot as well as a very comfortable place to base yourself.
There is a lovely lounge to relax in adjacent to the reception and the tourist officer is also located there so that you can arrange tours and activities.
I will definately stay there if I ever go to Savannah again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    516
    203
    95
    49
See reviews for
366
681
55
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Very convenient place for staying in Savannah and walking to many of the sights. The staff were all very friendly, particulary the concierges - Trina, and especially Pam. They were both a GREAT help in making the most of the limited free time I had during a recent professional conference in Savannah. Quiet, clean, and comfortable accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river - some even have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Check-in was fast and easy after reserving on-line. The AAA discount knocked off $20.00 (but the $18.00/day valet fee almost wiped that out). The front desk and valet staff were super nice. The room (King with Whirlpool tub) was one of the cleanest I have ever seen. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location very close to the Savannah River. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniekay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This hotel was in a great location for our first visit to Savannah, we could walk from the hotel to all locations in Savannah. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, it was easy to park, we had a clean room with a comfortable bed and had an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This Hilton is located only a couple of blocks from the riverfront and one block from Market Street. It is the perfect location. You don't have to deal with noise or crowds.

Our room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and there was a variety of pillows to choose from (soft/firm).

Breakfast is not provided but there are so many great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pbroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The property itself has a very good location backing up to the Market and fronting on Bay. From this location, you can launch your daily walkabouts in Savannah easily.

Our room, King Suite, was appointed well with the customary accoutrement of a Hilton Honors property. Nice shower head and comfortable bedding. Quiet A/C.

Breakfast was quite good and included cook to order waffles, pancakes, omeletes, eggs and eggs benedict along with sides of bacon, ham and sausage.

While that is normally enough to satisfy me for a stay, for this long time HH member I cannot remember a nicer staff at any other HH property. From the valets to front desk to housekeeping, each staff member greeted us, were smiling and happy to answer any inquiry or go the extra yard. In addition, theavailability of a conceirge to assist guests puts this staff at a different level when it comes to a property in this classification. The staff sets this property apart from every other HH hotel I have visited and deserve accommodation. Excellent staff.

Room Tip: To avoid music noise at night from the adjacent market, ask for a northern facing (Bay Street) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Conchobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
250 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed here when there was a Hotwire deal. Price was great however it was for a 4 star and this hotel is not. They did not have our room ready. We waited 2 hours. The room was simple like a 3 star would be. We would probably not get this hotel again unless we had that low price. Some people paid double what we did so I can imagine how they felt. The city itself made up for the initial poor experience when we got to the hotel.

Room Tip: Check for deals before you book. Hotwire, Priceline etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle V, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased you enjoyed the historic city and chose to stay with us for your visit to Savannah. We apologize you were mislead on the hotel’s rating but the AAA rating is 3 out of 5 diamonds for the hotel. The wait time for your room was unusually long and uncharacteristic for our hotel and we apologize for the inconvenience. We invite you to stay with us again for a more exceptional stay on your next trip to Savannah.

Sincerely,
Danielle Valenchis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
2,613 reviews
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing