We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay except...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Ranked #28 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good stay except...”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel cannot control clients smoking on the balconies and the smoke gets sucked into your room by the air conditioning system. At a minimum, the hotel should put a reminder sign on the balcony doors saying that smoking is not permitted anywhere and can affect other rooms. Also, clients talking on the balconies until the middle of the night affect your sleep. Do NOT request a balcony room!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank 846kathleenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are so sorry to hear that another guest disturbed you during your recent stay with us. We make every effort to ensure all our gusts are satisfied with their stay and apologize you left unsatisfied. We hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our property and provide you with an excellent stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    527
    206
    100
    50
See reviews for
370
701
56
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Savannah. It's located very near the historic area, and the river walk is basically right across the very busy street. The valet, as mentioned before is $25/nt. We checked the car in and didn't need it again until we left. The valet personnel were helpful and friendly. The staff inside however, were less so. We had been on a road trip through the south, where everywhere but here, we encountered very helpful and friendly people. So we were surprised to find the staff here less than happy to help. Not sure if we just hit it on a couple of bad days based on other reviews, but none the less, that was our experience. The rooms did not have safes, but other than that, they are comfortable enough. The river walk was absolutely a tourist trap, but was easy to walk to just to see it once. The Doubletree is just next door, so perhaps we'd try that next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gowzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. While we are glad to hear our valet staff provided you excellent service, we are sorry to hear you did not experience the same regarding our front desk staff. Our goal is that all departments provide superior customer service and we have passed along your feedback to our General Manager to ensure future guests do not have a similar experience. While we understand if you would like to try another hotel on your next stay, we do hope that you will give our Hilton Garden Inn another opportunity to provide you with a better stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We only stayed one night in Savannah as a rest stop from Orlando to Charlotte. We chose this hotel because we are Hilton rewards members and it was close to the River Walk. We found the location to be close to the major attractions we wanted to walk to that day. The staff were friendly, the room and common areas were clean and welcoming. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor looking out at the pool. You are literally on the same level as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

One of the nicer hotels in the Hilton Garden Inn chain. Excellent location and well trained staff made this stay a pleasure. Valet parking is a bit pricey @ $25 but worth not having the hassle of finding parking in this crowded spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Shankar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I picked this hotel based on price and location because I could have stayed at two other hotels for a similar amount but the location was not near River Street. I got a balcony king room. The room was very nice, big, had a refrigerator and microwave, Kruige Coffee Machine, and ample sitting. The problem was it faced Bay Street overlooking the river. The semi-trucks woke me up every morning at 6am and lasted til 9am. It was very noisy from traffic, not people. The gym was small, but no one was in it while I used it so it was good for me. The pool is good size but the deep end is 4 feet. Hot tub is very nice but it states limit is 6 people but any more than 2 (or 4 if your together) is awkward. I could only imagine if there were 6 in there we all would be touching. They had a business center that was free to use internet and printing. This was a lifesaver when the airlines changed our flight out. Front desk was very friendly and gave me coffee every time I asked for more because 2 Kruige cups are never enough. Housekeeping was bad as they never changed our toilet paper over 4 days and I had to keep asking the front desk for more. Overall not a bad stay just would have stayed closer to the Outback restaurant to be near the center of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side of hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize you experience excess noise during your stay. Hotels located in the Historic District can have more noise than less active parts of town, however, should you find yourself staying with us again, please note that we have ear plugs available for our guests. We also apologize for the issues you had with our housekeeping team. We have forwarded your comments to our Housekeeping Supervisor for further review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Everything about my stay in this hotel was warm and welcoming. The property is well kept and every employee went over and above the call of duty. One of my coworkers asked where she could find tea, and moments later a warm cup of tea was delivered to her by a staff member. WOW! Housekeepers wished us a 'good day', valet parkers were kind and welcoming, front desk staff was attentive. I asked a question and a man I later found out was the General Manager made sure our news were met. I'd never stay anywhere else in Savannah.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Hidden charges for parking, breakfast that is over-priced, and with better hotel values in the area! These are the experiences that I am looking for in a hotel that is close to the activities in Savannah

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie S, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. We are especially sorry to hear you were not made aware of the breakfast and valet charges. Should you be interested in staying with us again in the future we suggest asking about our Bed & Breakfast package which includes our southern breakfast buffet in your rate. Again, we are sorry you were disappointed in our hotel and hope that you will give us another opportunity to showcase our property to you on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing