We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Ranked #28 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
Reviewed 10 November 2009

The good - Great location. The over worked desk clerk was very friendly as was one woman parking attendant.

The bad - the checkin took about 30 minutes. The parking is attrocious, it took forever to get the car in and out. The room phone didn't work.

The ugly - the room smelled toxic, like mold and mildew. We asked for another room but it was the same smell. Looking at the carper in the hallway it looks like the hotel had a flood of some sort. I love Garden Inns but this one was a total bust.

They did allow us to check out at no charge. We went to the Hilton up the street for $10 more and it was better in every way.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacySturgis, Social Media Sales Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 27 April 2010
BuckOh,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and post your concerns. I sincerely apologize for the time it took for you to get to your room. This is not the norm for our staff and I can only imagine that it was a busy day/time. As far as the smell of the rooms/carpet, we do make every effort to keep our hotel in top shape, but things do happen that warrant repairs/deeper cleaning and unfortunately, whatever happened this time directly affected your stay. I am sure this issue has been taken care of, but will follow up on it. I am glad you were able to find a hotel to accommodate you on such short notice and am sorry you had to go elsewhere.

Sincerely,
Stacy Sturgis
Social Media Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    550
    220
    106
    52
See reviews for
408
729
61
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rubiera, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2009

entering GA from SC we stoped at the welcome center and got this hotel booked for 1 night at a very good rate. It had no hilton signs yet, thouh we could use the internet computer at the hilton next door...maybe hilton group just bought it...good location right across river street. no need of a car to get around. very nice, stayed 2 more nights

Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SaraMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacySturgis, Social Media Sales Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 27 April 2010
SaraMK,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. When you stayed with us in August 2006, we were very new and operating as an independent hotel, The Garden Hotel, and received our Hilton Garden Inn flag in December that year.

Sincerely,
Stacy Sturgis
Social Media Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

So $124 a night seemed ok. We were getting a whirlpool and a king bed. And the location was GREAT!!! I was satisfied. That was until we checked in and were told that the only option for parking was valet. *$17.50 We pulled up and were totally confused on what they were doing. The man didn't explain anything, just assumed we knew to get out of our car and go inside. He was going to park the car, find what in our car we would need and bring it to the room. We we just figured it was ok that he forgot my husbands shoes. We could just go down and get them, right? Wrong. Waited 20 minutes to get the keys to the car then were finally told where the car was. Moving on. Went to make coffee to take with us as we strolled around. We only had one to-go cup. So my husband went to the front desk, thinking it would be no big deal to get another cup. Well he was told that he would need to wait in his room they would bring them. So we waited and waited and waited. 30 minutes past and finally decided to share the coffee and leave with the one cup we had. We had only those interactions with the staff.....both not pleasant. On the other hand, the room was nice, very roomy. The bed was not that comfortable. We end of the story.....we received our bill. The 17.50 was per day, not a one time charge and with taxes and historic district fee, blah, blah ,blah.....the total for our $124/night was $319.??????Not worth that for 2 nights. Almost forgot......it was like $13 for breakfast.......what hotel doesn't have some sort of something to eat without charging that much????? Not even a box of cereal...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnevr480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocatello, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

The hotel has an excellent location for enjoying the many charms of Savannah. City Market is less than a block away, and River St. less than a five minute walk, Although my room was at the front of the hotel facing Bay St., I did not find it particularly noisy. The hotel staff were courteous and accommodating. The business center has free internet access and printing; there is also free wifi available in your room. I had breakfast at the hotel several times. It is buffet style although you can get eggs cooked to your liking. I did not have a car to park; some reviewers have commented negatively on the cost of parking at the hotel. There appeared to be some on-street parking available in the vicinity of the hotel, but make sure you read the signs carefully. I would love to return to Savannah for an extended stay, and would definitely consider staying at the HGI.

Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pokymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StacySturgis, Social Media Sales Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District, responded to this review, 27 April 2010
Pokymike,

Thank you so much for your review!! We love to hear from our happy guests!

Sincerely,
Stacy Sturgis
Social Media Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2009

If you have a room that is on the Bay Street side, it's impossible to get a good nights sleep. It's like there are no walls. Room is average. Noise was really a problem. Several good local bars/restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slckstnPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin,ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed 3 nights here to see the wonderful town of Savannah. The lady at the desk was courteous and helpful. A request for an ashtray was met swiftly and politely. Our room was average size,good size bed and worktop with chair. It looks a little old now,could do with some renovation. We had breakfast in the hotel,it was pretty good for the price.

This hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Savannah. Everywhere could be reached on foot which is definitely the best way of seeing everything. The city market is right behind the hotel along with a few bars/restaurants which are a good deal less hectic than those on river st. at night.

I'd definitely stay here again if i was to return to Savannah.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnK9874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, GA
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2009

I have stayed at Hilton/Hampton Inns all over the North America and Europe. This was the worst I have stayed in. Booked 3 weeks in advance, asking for their largest room and got a double double. The Beds were terrible and not the ones I expect at a Hilton. There were no local materials at all in the room. Everything seemed basic and not worth the $176/night I paid.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELD0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#32 of 113 in Savannah
2,889 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Address: 321 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
#18 Green Hotel in Savannah
#19 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#20 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore historic downtown Savannah from Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District hotel, situated one block from River Street, City Market, and historic Broughton Street. Located just 20 minutes from Savannah International Airport, this hotel is within easy access of Savannah’s vibrant night life, shopping, dining, and entertainment options.Wake up to a delicious, full, cooked-to-order breakfast at Great American Grill® or sip on cool, evening drinks at this Savannah hotel’s inviting pub. Enjoy a fantastic selection of snack, treats, and microwavable meals in the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry® convenience store or feel invigorated with a revitalizing workout in the modern fitness center. Lounge in the outdoor pool or bathe in the warm, soothing whirlpool. Positioned near to a variety of businesses, this historic downtown Savannah hotel boasts five modern, versatile meeting rooms. Host a conference or special event for up to 120 guests and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Enjoy a comfortable, quiet space for work in the 24-hour Business Center and stay connected with complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing