We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
1 review
“Great Getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2008

My husband and I searched a long time for the a B&B to stay at in Savannah. This one was the lowest in price, so I was a little worried about "getting what we paid for." This place surpassed our expectations! It was a great in-town location, easy to get to, and great walking distance from all attractions. We stayed in the Tree Top Suite, which was complete with a full kitchen, living room, and a comfortable bedroom/bath. The breakfast were great, and they were very accomodating of dietary restrictions. We loved meeting people at the afternoon tea! It was the perfect place for a getaway, and we'd highly recommend it!

  • Liked — Great Value for the Location
  • Disliked — Noise from the Street Sweepers in the Morning
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    260
    88
    26
    20
See reviews for
113
579
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2007

On a trip with my mother to Savannah (me 30, she 50), this place was perfect for our stay. Not only was the rate amazing compared to other b&bs, but the quality was also surprising. Friendly staff, clean and well-appointed rooms and great location. We even changed rooms after the first night to an upgrade because of the off-day, and got the same price.

So ...
Pros:
Clean rooms
Clean bathrooms
Good breakfast
Nice courtyard and porch for sipping iced tea
Convenient location
Excellent price

Cons:
Because the building is old, the staircase to get to our rooms was very narrow. May be difficult for older folks.
Walls are a bit thin.
Staff was friendly, but I wouldn't trust their restaurant recommendations. Nicely, though, they do have a basket of menus so you can see what's around.

  • Liked — Charming rooms, great price
  • Disliked — Lacking a true concierge
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycjaunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2007

Savannah is so small that this place named itself The Bed and Breakfast Inn - like it's the only B&B in town. Well it may have been the first since in opened in the '70s when Savannah was just beginning it's gentrification process.

The accomodations are wonderful, the location is perfect - everything is within walking distance and they serve a full breakfast - homemade bread, homemade pecan syrup, eggs benedict, waffles, french toast - to die for!

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the wonderful breakfast
  • Disliked — Had difficulty with the shower valve
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mwells27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2007

The location of the B&B was good, parking was a real hasstle even though they say they would feed the meters, they never did for us, but they did give us some quarters. If we would have left it to them, we would have surely got a ticket! The rate we were quoted on a "room special" was not what we were charged. Took 4 phone calls to get credit and still not sure if it will come through. This is run like a Hotel. Never met innkeepers if there is one. Not friendly like a regular B&B. Not enough comfortable seating in main dining area and reception area to sit and read or socialize. Breakfast was just OK, nothing special. Had to pay for sodas and water (just like a hotel). For what you pay, you should expect and get more!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank kruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnbinnkeeper, innkeeper at Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2007
At the Bed and Breakfast Inn we try very hard to be good innkeeps and meet and exceed the needs of our guests. We went rooms for about half the cost of the competition, cook a full breakfast to order, bake fresh goodies each day, and pay our guests parking fees. Most often we succeed in meeting our guest's expectations and every now and then we don't. This time we clearly didn't, but will keep trying to do better anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2007

My husband and I, along with my parents, stayed for two nights at The Bed & Breakfast Inn. We were on a little trip down the coastline, and had previously been in Charleston and Hilton Head.
We found this inn in our guidebook while preparing and reading up on the area. It was listed in the "inexpensive" section of the guidebood. I'm not sure what the criteria is for each category, but we paid $149 per night.

My husband and I stayed in the Egyptian room, and my parents were in the Magnolia room. Both rooms are in the main house, up two flights of stairs. The Egyptian room was very nice, quite spacious, and the bathroom was fine. The Magnolia was smaller, and had a weird/ugly 1970's dropped ceiling. It did not have near the ambience that the Egyptian did. Both rooms were very clean.

There were two hard-of-hearing elderly ladies staying below us in the Turkish room. When they did not have their hearing aids in, they talked rather loudly and we could clearly hear their conversations. I don't think noise would ordinarily be a problem, but unfortunately it was for us.

Breakfasts were terrific. Each evening you made your breakfast selection for the next morning, along with your desired eating time. It worked very well. The first morning the chef's special (which was supposed to be fancy scrambled eggs - with cheddar, tomato, etc - had to be cancelled because they did not have tomatoes. Instead, they cooked our eggs to order, along with toast, sausage, and scones. There was cereal, fruit, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate. The second morning the special was belgian waffles with pecan or maple syrup, bacon, and fruit. The alternate option was scrambled eggs. Both mornings the breakfasts were great. My husband - who is kind of a waffle nut - said the waffles were some of the best he's ever had.

The parking was not an issue for us, although the inn goes to great lenghts to remind you to be aware of the street sweeping schedule. We were issued a parking pass which paid for our parking throughout the historic district for the time we were there.

All in all we were very pleased with the Inn. The location is well within walking distance of all the sights in the historic district. We ate lunch at Mrs Wilkes Boarding house. What an incredible lunch! They are only open M-F from 11am to 2pm. You simply line up on the sidewalk, as they seat each table of 8. We had 24 different dishes to eat. Yes, 24! It was wonderful for $15 per person, cash or check only.

The one thing that I wish would have been better was information from the staff. The staff was very friendly, but whenever we asked for suggestions, directions, or reccomendations, they didn't really have much to say. I

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tabcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2007

This place was exactly what we wanted. Cute, quaint, very "Savannah" and very reasonably priced. It was easy to find, the location was accessible to all the squares, restaurants and the park. The breakfast was good, with an attempt to make it unique and local. There is also tea and a snack in the afternoon. The staff was perfect. The bathroom in our room could use a facelift but it was clean. To make sure you are not mislead...this wasn't luxury but it was clean, safe, added to the experience of Savannah and tremendously good value!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank michelebration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2007

I love this place. I stay here at least once a year, and the one time I tried a different B & B, I was severely disappointed. The staff here are very friendly and the breakfasts are wonderful, cooked to order. The courtyard area is beautiful & a great place to relax. I recommend the Tomochichi room, as it is on the ground floor and has a private entrance to both the courtyard and the street.

  • Liked — The beauty of the rooms and the location
  • Disliked — Some rooms have a lot of stairs to climb
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Bookstoregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ballastone Inn
#14 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 121 W Gordon St, Chatham Square, Savannah, GA 31401-4908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah's Premier Bed & Breakfast Inn is in the heart of the historic district. Dating from 1853, the Inn is a block away from the splendor of Forsyth Park. The Inn combines the elegance of a historic private home with the comfort of a gracious inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing