We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay-pity about the breakfast...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Savannah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay-pity about the breakfast...”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We arrived for a nice quiet weekend in Savannah and we were quickly greeted at the door and checked in pretty much straight away. The 'office staff' were kind and helpful and provided us with a map and some advice of what to see and do in beautiful historic old Savannah. The room was very cozy, up on the third story, looking exactly as advertised on the website. The bed was comfortable and clean and the bathroom was spotless. However, one of the pictures on the was was beginning to fall down and in the 2 days we were there, no-one from housekeeping noticed or rectified it. Also the walls were in need of a new coat of paint. The cookies and cakes on offer were very much appreciated and a nice touch after spending a long day walking around the city streets.

Our only issue with our stay was the breakfast provided which we were not happy with either morning. The first morning was beautiful so we asked to be seated outside on the balcony. However, other residents were sitting down in the garden directly below us and were smoking, which was not nice first thing in the morning. We were bothered by it, as was the party of girls sitting beside us (one of which was pregnant), and we eventually asked to move inside. The breakfast itself was not of a high quality, the portions were small and there was no choice of what to eat, except for a very basic healthy option. The second morning was a pancake breakfast and in fruit we found a hair. The pancakes themselves obviously came from a box as they were small and dry. Also there were far to many cats roaming around the property, it would have been nice to know this as I am mildly allergic to cat hair.

We would absolutely stay here again, it really was that nice, but we now know to have our breakfast in one of the many lovely restaurants and coffee shops that are easily within walking distance of the B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Egyptian room which was just a nice size with a lovely view out onto the square. Li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie279110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    262
    91
    26
    20
See reviews for
114
588
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our first visit back to Savanah in 10 years and we wonder why it took so long to return. We found the Inn on line thru an adverstisement and were both thrilled and delighted. Our accommations were wonderfull. We booked the Masters Suite on the 2nd floor. Large, comfortable with a private balconly overlooking the courtyards as the property is several building joined to make up 15 guest rooms and suites. The staff is very friendly and more than helpful. I am sorry that I do not remember all of their names. Frederick, whom I had my first contact with makeing reservations is sincere, energetic and helpful. The rooms are very nicely furnished, comfortable and clean.
Breakfast is served when we like, you can choose the time, home made, freshly prepared for you as you sit down. All of the staff were upbeat and made you feel right at home.
I would return in an instant.
Easily with walking distance to what you want see as well as pedicabs are easy to get.

Room Tip: Look for the premium rooms. Larger and nicer. You do have to carry your luggage, park on the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Inn is located in what is known as the Squares of Luxury. The Inn provides a parking pass; cookies and milk in the evening; lemonade and desserts in the afternoon, Guests choose a time for breakfast and is made once you arrive in the dining room; two selections to choose from every day. Location provides easy walking throughout the historic district. Savannah had all the charm we expected.

Room Tip: Our suite, The Live Oak faced the square; others inside face a lovely garden area with wrought iron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Butch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I will start off by saying that I've never been to a b & b so have nothing to compare it to. That being said, we had an absolutely wonderful time. We enjoyed staying in the downtown historic district and being able to walk everywhere. I was traveling with my husband and my parents.
Our check in went smoothly. One other couple of right before us, so the lady took care of them while we went back to our vehicle to feed the meter (the inn pays for your parking). When she got pack she looked up our reservation and proceeded to check us in. She explained how the parking was taken care of and how breakfast worked. We could choose from 2 different menus for breakfast and pick the time we wanted to dine. People did not all dine at the same time and some chose to eat outside on the balcony so it was not at all crowded.
After we got settled, it was about 4 and they served squares and juice in the parlour. Very nice. We went out for a walk and later found a place to eat dinner. Later, around 8 freshly baked chocolate chip cookies and milk were served.
My husband and I had the Egyptian room which was really nice while my parents had the Parkview. These rooms overlook the street and are on the third floor. If you have any difficulty with stairs you want to be very careful choosing your room. In all, by the time we made it to our room we had climbed 47 stairs!! There is no elevator here.
For breakfast you had the choice of either an omelette with grits, toast, juice and coffee/tea. Or yogurt with fresh fruit, granola and toast. My father had the omelette, while my husband and I had the yogurt. As my mother wasn't feeling well she just ate toast. We all thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast.
The only con was that the internet wasn't working properly while we were there so it made it difficult to communicate with other family members but that could happen anywhere.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. The price was also much more reasonable than the other surrounding b & b's.

Room Tip: Main floor rooms where nosier with traffic in an out of the b & b and door opening and closing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikita42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This Inn is located in a beautiful area of Savannah surrounded by squares and parks in every direction and the architecture in the neighborhood is reminiscent of what you would expect to see during a visit to Savannah.

I was the previous owner of a Boutique B&B Inn (8 rooms) and when we travel, we like to stay in B&Bs as they offer a unique experience from a hotel.

However, I would say that Savannah B&B Inn has got far too large to offer this experience. We assumed it was a smaller place but were told that the B&B now consists of 7 separate buildings, all in a row and they have a total of 30 rooms. This means that on a nightly basis, they are housing 60+ people. This for me is more indicative with a small hotel and the B&B experience is lost.

We arrived shortly before check-in at 3 p.m, at the same time as 4 other couples. The lady doing the check-ins was very nice but I believe the check-in process needs to be reviewed.

We waited 20 minutes to be checked in as another couple arrived shortly before us. They proceeded to ask a bunch of questions about what tours to go on, what to see and do in Savannah etc. The check-in lady patiently answered all their questions. This meant that if the same attention was given to every check-in, the 2 other couples behind us were possibly going to be waiting up to 1 hour or longer?

I am acutely aware that keeping other guests waiting is unfair and can lead to unhappy guests. Many people have travelled a long way and would rather just get in their rooms, relax a bit and then find out all the things to see and do when they are a bit more rested. In the event of a group of people waiting to be checked in, I would suggest that the check-in should be more streamlined to include registration, handing a map over with the location, explaining about breakfast and afternoon tea and showing guests to their room. Then, a suggestion about returning for more local information later would be an option?

As the Inn has so many guests, you have to fill out a form the night before with your room name and whether you would like the healthy choice (granola, yogurt, fruit) or the Chef’s special (in this case, eggs, sausage with gravy, biscuit and grits).

If you have any special dietary needs, you are to write them down so the chef can cater accordingly. One of us is vegetarian and the other gluten free. When it came to preparing the breakfast, my husband had scrambled eggs (must have been from 1 egg as the portion was so small with gluten free toast). The eggs were way overcooked.

Breakfast was chaos. 60 people having breakfast did nothing to create a calm relaxed atmosphere. It was a loud noisy dining room with a conveyer of people coming in every minute and the breakfasts were being churned out of the kitchen as quickly as possible.

You were shown where the breakfast buffet was and the choice was minimal and didn’t look appetizing. There was one choice of cereal, yogurt and a small piece of cake (already cut up and going dry). The tea and coffee were at the opposite end of the room and there was a line up for this.

My husband and I ended up going out somewhere else after breakfast as we were still hungry.

On a positive side, the room we had was clean and very pretty and just what we wanted from a Savannah experience. The décor was nicely done. The bed is probably the most comfortable we have ever slept in.

If I were to be asked if I could recommend this B&B, I would have to say, look around at other places first.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisawhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orem, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We came to your area for our 35th anniversary. We enjoyed Charleston but thoroughly loved Savannah. Your B&B helped in that. We loved staying in a historic setting that went along with the charm and history of your area. You were very helpful anytime we needed something in the way of directions, tours, and suggestions.

Room Tip: We chose the Jasmine as it was mid priced, didn't realize that it was easy to get to the room. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Parlor room was very spacious. Breakfast was very good both days. Cookies and milk at were really good. Although parking is on the street, never had a problem finding a space.

Only negative is steep stairs getting into the B&B. If you have large luggage very difficult.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Noahjokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#26 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ballastone Inn
#13 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 121 W Gordon St, Chatham Square, Savannah, GA 31401-4908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah's Premier Bed & Breakfast Inn is in the heart of the historic district. Dating from 1853, the Inn is a block away from the splendor of Forsyth Park. The Inn combines the elegance of a historic private home with the comfort of a gracious inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Savannah Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Hotel Savannah
Savannah Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing