We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Funky!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #37 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersGold level
Lynchburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class Funky!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while I was in the process of packing my local home to move 500 miles away, and was waiting for the moving van to load.
I LOVED the THUNDERBIRD INN! So fun, funky, clean. Beds were comfortable, staff was friendly. I wish there were a few more things to choose from for breakfast than just donuts (my thighs ask for this mostly), but, overall, I had the best time!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Cindy,

Love the title! We love to raise the funk factor!!! I hope you will keep up with us on Facebook! I appriciate you staying with us!

Mark Thomas
Inn Keeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    530
    224
    114
    69
See reviews for
336
652
94
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The T Bird is a great place to stay , its not The Hilton or the Marriott but... its very well priced. The little retro hotel kept to the retro feel!!! Instead of a mint on our pillow We received a RC cola in our ice bucket and a moon pie on our pillow!!!! Very very close to everything!!! walking distance from downtown and very close to River street. I will stay again!!! The house keeping lady was awesome. I wish there was a DVD player in the room but.... oh well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for the kind review! We try to do cool little things to set us apart from the box hotels... like the MoonPie on your pillow!

I hope you will come see us again!

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Really enjoyed stay at Thunderbird..the staff was EXTREMELY HELPFUL and FRIENDLY...the rooms were spacious, well kept, and bed very comfortable...also pet friendly--- its also very close to Welcome Center where the trolleys are located--- highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Glad you loved your stay! Our location is pretty fantastic for trolleys and quick access to the welcome center! I hope you will come back and see us again!

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We were in Savannah for our son to visit and tour the campus of SCAD. We loved the retro feel of the Thunderbird Inn. Shana, in the front office became a great friend. She advised us on the fabulous restaurants; ones the locals return to, the great tours the city offers and movie theaters and times. She even printed our mapquest directions for our trip home! We kept our car parked for free and walked all over the city. We were traveling with 2 boys, one 16 and one 19. They were tweeting on their phones about how "cool" it was at the Thunderbird Inn! It is always great news when the teenagers are impressed!! We will be back to stay again. I recommend it as a place to meet your needs that is very fresh and clean. The room smelled very clean every day. I am always concerned about safety and I was not concerned while staying at the T-Bird Inn!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
If we can please the teens we are doing something right!!!! I am glad you had a great time with us. I hope we will be your home when you come to visit your student at SCAD!

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had a great stay in this retro motel while we visited Savannah , good price, very friendly staff, and clean rooms , with the best beds and pillows ever...they were very friendly at the reception desk also and helped us with choosing how to fill our day . Also very close to the center of Old Town and River Street , only a few blocks away. The Old Town trolley is just across the street and we also made the ghost tour with Hearse Ghost Tours , who were so friendly to pick us up at the motel and bring us back afterwards... We would sure recommend this motel to anyone who is going to stay in Savannah. And we will be back... once...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about us! I am glad you loved us! The Hearse tours are AWESOME!!! Please come back. If you love places like ours... check out Travel Retro for your next trip

regards,

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We recently visited Savannah and stayed at none other than the Thunderbird Inn. We loved this hotel and would definitely stay again. The entire motel is straight out of the 60's which makes staying there even better. The lobby has a popcorn machine so you can snack while waiting to check in. Outside in the parking lot, there is 50's and 60's music playing to add to the retro feel. I felt like the rooms were very comfortable and clean. All of the staff was also very helpful and nice. Every morning when we would leave, we would pass Andrea the cleaning lady. She would flash a friendly smile and ask us how our stay was in Savannah. She was always super nice and it made our stay different from any other hotel. The last morning we were there, our bike rack on our car broke and we were in desperate need of some tape to fix it. Shad, the maintenance man, helped us out with that one. He was also a very sweet man and stood and talked to us like he had known us all along.
The other perk of the hotel is the location. We had our own bikes (the hotel also has bike racks to lock them up at night) so we rode everywhere we went; which is something I would recommend doing where ever you stay. The hotel is located off Oglethorpe which puts it within a mile or so of River Street.
All in all, I felt like the Thunderbird Inn was a very homely place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Love your title!!! Fantastic!

It is great you were able to meet Andrea and Shad. They are two of our shining stars! Thank you for staying with us. I look forward to your return.

stay hip,

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

My partner and I were looking for a property in the $100 range for a one
night stay in Savannah. We were not surprised that we could not find
anything under $190 in the historic area on our initial search.

It was our good fortune to have a friend recommend the Thunderbird Inn as
a good choice for our budget and location preference.

It is not more than 2 blocks or so to the beginning of the most charming part
of this historic jewel of a city. Our room was very comfortable, even though
it was not very large. The service was efficient, friendly and most helpful.
This property was very clean and, perhaps, even charming in its decor.

We certainly would not hesitate to take advantage of the value it offers on
our future trips to Savannah.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiBeachFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
I am glad you loved the value we provide! It is nice to hit that target with out cutting back on quality of product and staff.

I hope you will come again soon!

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Comfort Inn Midtown
#44 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#19 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing