We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #33 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for the price.”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

1. Very good place for women traveling alone.
2. Good price.
3. Comfortable bed.
4. Excelent location: In front of the Greyhound bus station.
5. Nice people in the front desk.
6. Fast Check-In.
7. Good parking lot.
8. Nice retro ambient.
9. Nice breakfast included (donuts, juice and coffee).
10. Nice staff.

1. Bad wi-fi conexion. Was imposible to check my e-mail.
2. I asked for a clean room because of my allergies and the sheets were dusty (I did not stop sneezing) and the same happend with the coffee pot, very dusty.
3. The bathroom was not very clean.
4. The telephone room was out of order.
5. Very noisy outside, you need earplugs to sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the second floor, mine was downstairs and I could hear the people talking and laugh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussie60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Tbird. I am sorry we missed the mark on some of the issues. The dust is unacceptable! I will speak to my team and the inspector to get this improved more consistently.

As for the WiFi, it was struck by lightening in all of the bad thunderstorms we've had. The new box is on order. I am sorry it was an issue for you.

I hope you will try us again to see this issue you pointed out have been improved upon.

regards,

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    600
    250
    125
    79
See reviews for
398
749
113
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

After reading the excellent reviews on here, we were super excited for our visit. Sure, the staff is very friendly and helpful when it comes to advising places to visit. They even were kind enough to extend our check out until noon since we were arriving in the middle of the night. However, the room was rundown - the ac unit had a funky smell, the bathroom looked as if the mildew had taken an extended stay, the shower knob was busted, their quirky signature soaps (permanent pumps in the shower) had something floating in the bottles. The worst part was that after arriving in the middle of the night and anxious to get a decent night's sleep, we were rudely awakened around 8:00 am to the boisterous yelling conversation of the house keepers that never let up. We left feeling exhausted. We paid $99 for the night, but the value was closer to a room that should have been $60. It was nice to be comped $10, but that didn't cut it for us. We don't reccomend this hotel at all. Last piece of advice for management, please don't roll up the rubber bath mat with the towels - GROSS!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelinMackd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am terribly sorry that we did such a poor job living up to the expectations set on TripAdvisor. I can assure you, the reviews tell the story and your experience is a rare one!

I will use this review to reinforce careful cleaning and inspection along with curtesy from my staff. Please feel free to reach out to me mark@thethunderbirdinn.com

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is a great place to stay in Savannah! The price is great, the staff is awesome and the rooms are quite comfortable. The location is within walking distance to all the area attractions. Even though we weren't traveling with a dog, the hotel is very pet friendly. We were traveling with our 18 month old baby and were concerned that there might not be enough room in the standard King size room to accommodate the pack-n-play. But, it fit great! We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raegan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us! The king rooms are nice and spacious. I am pleased you had a nice time!

regards,

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while I was in the process of packing my local home to move 500 miles away, and was waiting for the moving van to load.
I LOVED the THUNDERBIRD INN! So fun, funky, clean. Beds were comfortable, staff was friendly. I wish there were a few more things to choose from for breakfast than just donuts (my thighs ask for this mostly), but, overall, I had the best time!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Cindy,

Love the title! We love to raise the funk factor!!! I hope you will keep up with us on Facebook! I appriciate you staying with us!

Mark Thomas
Inn Keeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The T Bird is a great place to stay , its not The Hilton or the Marriott but... its very well priced. The little retro hotel kept to the retro feel!!! Instead of a mint on our pillow We received a RC cola in our ice bucket and a moon pie on our pillow!!!! Very very close to everything!!! walking distance from downtown and very close to River street. I will stay again!!! The house keeping lady was awesome. I wish there was a DVD player in the room but.... oh well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for the kind review! We try to do cool little things to set us apart from the box hotels... like the MoonPie on your pillow!

I hope you will come see us again!

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Really enjoyed stay at Thunderbird..the staff was EXTREMELY HELPFUL and FRIENDLY...the rooms were spacious, well kept, and bed very comfortable...also pet friendly--- its also very close to Welcome Center where the trolleys are located--- highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Glad you loved your stay! Our location is pretty fantastic for trolleys and quick access to the welcome center! I hope you will come back and see us again!

Mark Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We were in Savannah for our son to visit and tour the campus of SCAD. We loved the retro feel of the Thunderbird Inn. Shana, in the front office became a great friend. She advised us on the fabulous restaurants; ones the locals return to, the great tours the city offers and movie theaters and times. She even printed our mapquest directions for our trip home! We kept our car parked for free and walked all over the city. We were traveling with 2 boys, one 16 and one 19. They were tweeting on their phones about how "cool" it was at the Thunderbird Inn! It is always great news when the teenagers are impressed!! We will be back to stay again. I recommend it as a place to meet your needs that is very fresh and clean. The room smelled very clean every day. I am always concerned about safety and I was not concerned while staying at the T-Bird Inn!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
If we can please the teens we are doing something right!!!! I am glad you had a great time with us. I hope we will be your home when you come to visit your student at SCAD!

Mark Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 113 in Savannah
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing