We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Thunderbird Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The DeSoto(Savannah)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Central Inn(Savannah)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$178
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Savannah(Savannah)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,742)
Filter reviews
1,742 results
Traveller rating
678
605
252
125
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
678
605
252
125
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoon pierc colakrispy kreme donutsretro feelretro motelfree popcornretro themegreat retrogreyhound stationhistoric districtfun place to staywithin walking distanceclose to downtownroad noisedowntown savannahbed was comfortableriver street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,225 - 1,230 of 1,742 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

No complaints at all... True what they say about being a hidden gem! Clean, friendly and amazing stay! Will return again and will recommend. We have stayed at other hotels in Savannah, and paid double and even triple the price, we was more impressed with Thunderbird Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThePorrHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you! It doesn't require tons of money to have tons of fun at the T-bird! We strive to provide a great experience that is close to town for a fair price. I am happy we achieved this with you! Please make us your go-to place when you're in Savannah!

Mark Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We love the Thunderbird. I've used discounts sites to stay at other places, but they always make up for my savings by charging me to park my car, $15 a day!! At the Thunderbird, parking is always free. Rooms are nicely appointed and clean. No need to pack shampoo or conditioner as these are provided. Free Moon Pies and RC Cola day of arrival. It's awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oddjoce77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for the kind words! I am happy we made you happy! Please come back when you need a RC Cola and MoonPie fix!

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My daughter booked this for us after she saw the retro decor because she knew this was our kind of place. We were not disappointed! The beds were super comfy, front desk and cleaning staff were friendly, and we had no trouble with parking. It's within walking distance to most everything, and if you want to take advantage of the free DOT shuttle, you can walk a couple of blocks to the visitor center and catch it there. My 3 year old grandson loved the music playing through the loudspeakers during the evening and getting popcorn from the front desk (how cool is that?). We did have to request additional towels and toilet paper a couple of days, but after that our room was completely stocked. We do not have any pets, but I did notice this is DEFINITELY a pet friendly hotel. They even have treats available at the front desk for pets. And don't forget...you get a moon pie on your pillow at check-in : )

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRCsGigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Love it!!! Thank you for giving us the opportunity to wow you, your daughter and son! I hope you will return when you come back to SCAD. A helpful tip is to book far in advance. We only offer a handful of discounts on peak visitation times. Booking early will give you a better opportunity to get great deals! Also, you mention you like the old school... check out TRAVEL RETRO. They have a fantastic collection of retro!

See you soon,

Mark Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Found this motel through a Groupon coupon. We were very happy with our stay there and with the amenities offered. The beds were super comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean although I did think the carpet needed cleaning. It is located a little bit of a walk from the River area - about 15 minutes - but close to the visitor center and tour buses. The tour bus company will even pick you up and drop you off at the motel so you can leave your car parked safely in the motel parking lot. No swimming pool if you're looking for that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

What's the word?.... Thunderbird!

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you! I am glad you found us through Groupon! We love using them to raise awareness of our coolness! Just so you know... We always have the best rates in Savannah. Also, if you are price shopping and find a better rate on line, call us; we will match or beat that rate!

Please come back again!

Mark Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel was just amazing. The service was wonderful, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were cute and clean with good amenities, breakfast was great, and of course the moonpies! This place was quite a pleasant surprise. During the day they have 50's music playing throughout the office and outside giving this place a quirky fun vibe. The only thing I could say about this place that doesn't make it perfect, is the distant from River Street, though it really isn't far at all. It's right off the highway and very convenient, highly recommended, we will be back!! =)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maluakua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

"Ah-mah-zing!" -- My staff makes us that way! I am pleased they rocked it out for you. Let me tell you, if they could have brought the river closer... for you they would have!

Please come back again!

Mark Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews