We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #36 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Staff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Thunder Bird INN It's the hospitality!! We had 2 rooms at this hotel and stayed for 3 days. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. We were staying with Girl Scouts and it is a great location to Downtown Savannah and Perfect walking distance to JGL House! The staff made sure we had enough towels, etc upon arrival. They were helpful with our questions and requests and we had a great time. If you are traveling with Girl Scouts or Kids or you have a sweet tooth this is the place for you! Moon Pies and Rc Cola await you in your room and Krispy Kreme Donuts for breakfast if you get a snack attack they pop fresh popcorn all day.(Sugar Attack for the Kids) The beds were comfortable, there is a fridge in the rooms. Heard no noise from the upstairs rooms or outside our room, the A/C is Awesome! Its a fun Hotel that I would stay in again and again! Hippest hotel in Savannah, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: get the interior rooms in the corner if possible you can get some traffic noise if you are in room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jflorida33912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    549
    231
    120
    70
See reviews for
350
680
100
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
194 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Thunderbird was a great find for a weekend trip in Savannah. It's located in the historic district and for this location, the price can't be beat. Plus, the rooms are super clean and the beds very comfortable. And for an older hotel, it has been updated with style. Don't expect luxury, but do expect to be pleasantly surprised. We sure were.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. I just loved the retro feel of the Thunderbird Inn. After getting such a great price, I wasn't expecting too much. Much to my surprise, the hotel was in a good location and it was very clean. The staff was the best I have EVER come encounter with. Spencer was at the front desk when we checked in and he was so awesome! He gave me a map and told me the best way to get to where I needed to go. He certainly went above and beyond. The hotel provided krispy kreme donuts for breakfast and those are my favorite. :) The rooms are a little small, but I don't spend much time in the room, so it was fine for me and my 2 friends. The hotel was only a 10 minute walk to downtown Savannah and City Market. Very convenient since we didn't have to struggle looking for parking downtown. FYI, no pool.... Normally this would be a turn off for me but I got over it as I had plenty to do in Savannah! The bed was FABULOUS! It was really plush for a hotel bed, very comfortable. Thanks Thunderbird! I will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacqAsh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
300 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while doing Savannah and we totally enjoyed it. It was very easy walking to anywhere, the service was great, friendly, and very helpful. The room totally clean and smelled nice. The beds were perfect to sleep in. The bathroom was spotless as well. It was great free parking, just leave your car here and walk or take the trolley, just around the corner. The breakfast is simple, but they do bring in Krispy Kreme donuts and there was always plenty of them. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Very helpful and personable staff. Great value, and just a few minutes walk to Riverfront and the Historic district. While the WiFi signal was very weak....it wasn't a deal breaker. I'll be back soon....I love this place !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Valley, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed at the Thunderbird for three or four nights. First, the pros: the bedding is very clean and soft. When they say they promise clean and soft bedding, they take it seriously. It has a creative feel. The office is decorated in 50s memorabilia. There are souvenirs that are available to purchase with the Thunderbird logo. It is a pet friendly place. The staff is incredible. They can tell you alot about attractions and places to eat. I even ran into one staff member on the street and she gave me advice about a good lunch place. It is right across the street from the bus station, in case you come in on the bus. Also, it is right down the street from both the Welcome Center and Visitors' Center, which is good if you have a tour that starts at either of these two points. I would say it is located on the furthest end of the historic district. There is alot of construction going on in that area right now. As for the cons: it is clean, but could be cleaner. Not that the staff does not clean, it is the type of clean where the carpet is not in need of a clean but probably needs to be replaced. The bathroom is small but there is a large counter space and sink outside of the bathroom. The iron I had did not work and the ironing board was a little bent. This is a good stay if your primary concern is a nice place, with helpful staff and clean bedding. This is not a luxury place or a big amenities place. It's not exactly the hub of the historic district but close enough.

Room Tip: There are two levels. This is more of a motel in that when you step out of the door, you are outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynt604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
292 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just to second several reviews below. Free parking, easy walk to places of interest, very friendly and helpful staff, clean and cheerful rooms, good pillows (!), and prices that are hard to beat anywhere you'd actually want to stay. Moon pies on the pillow are a nice touch, although I'd like an alternative to Krispy Kremes for breakfast. It's great to find an independently owned motel that isn't scary.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porcophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#20 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing