We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retro Equals Old” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #37 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersGold level
newjersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Retro Equals Old”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Facility-wise, this is a very average motel. Staff puts it above average.
PROS--Good price, comfortable bed, clean, friendly & helpful staff.
CONS--Carry the "green" theme to the point of inconvenience. Had to take lampshades off to read in the room; flow restrictor on shower brought flow down to a trickle; Sorry, but I prefer disposable cups in a public place for sanitary reasons. Sparcely furnished--had to pull desk chair over to the bed since there was only a nightstand on one side of the bed. Sign indicated it opened in 1964 and I would bet a lot of the furniture is original. Place is starting to need some TLC.
END RESULT--Would not stay here again. Prefer to pay a little more for a few more amenties.
BY THE WAY--Parking is not free as this website indicates. However it is mere $5/day which is more than reasonable in Savannah this close to the historic district

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sambucca45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    530
    224
    114
    69
See reviews for
336
652
94
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The staff was extremely cordial and accommodating. The guy behind the counter, Tracy, really hooked us up. I never had the sense he was just acting like he wanted us to enjoy the stay because it was a business transaction--I felt as though he really, truly, cared about us having a good time there.
Plus there are moon pies, RC colas, and Krispy Kreme treats at breakfast...and round the clock, free coffee in the lobby...
The neighborhood is OK, but just barely. We headed to the west by one block at night and were amazed at how sketchy the neighborhood was. However, to the east, there is a SCAD dorm and more hotels/motels, and we felt perfectly safe. It seemed like Thunderbird was right on the edge of where a traveller would want to be.
The bus depot wasn't a noise issue for us as the traffic seemed to die down at night. It was actually a perk that when we took the airport express, we were dropped off literally across the street, and it was easy to access the free shuttle bus that runs around town.
If you're driving, parking appeared to be a real bear in the Historic District, but you'd be able to leave your car at your room.
Comfortable bed, good access to the Historic District & SCAD stuff, and plenty of personality. Stay here if you want a very affordable room with a bit of flair and aren't put off by being in an only-OK neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnOwlintheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This motel is off of the main street but within easy walking distance to downtown.I liked this because it was quiet. The beds are very comfy and clean.
We had the 2nd floor and were outside sitting on our cooler having a cigarette when an employee came by and brought us chairs so we could be comfortable.
The front desk clerks were very friendly & helpful.
The continental breakfast was convenient and tasty. Free juice all the time in the lobby was a nice touch.
As there are only two stories you must carry your bags up the stairs so keep this in mind when booking.

Room Tip: You must carry your luggage up a flight of stairs if staying on the 2nd floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Playaplayer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The motel is located directly across from the Greyhound bus depot. It's also a major highway exit and lots of trucks pass by day and night. The air conditioner was very noisy.
That accepted, the motel was a regular 50's vintage design with excellent staff all around. The price was fair and lots of fun shopping and dining within 6-8 blocks.

If we return, we will choose a motel in the downtown area such as the Hampton Inn or, if you can afford it, one of the very old brick stone hotels. This a great town for touring on foot. If you're centrally located, you can visit just about everything.

Room Tip: I don't think you can find a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Highly recommend the Thunderbird, we spotted an advert in a brochure from the local tourist office. We were on our Honeymoon and Stephen was able to offer us an upgraded room which included a Magic Finger Mattress !! Just what we needed for our Honeymoon stay. Stephen behind the desk was a wealth of knowledge, he gave us a run down of what to see and do and where to eat for our short stay in town and his recommendations were perfect. Rooms were spacious and very clean and comfortable. Complimentary breakfast is cool you get tea/coffee and juice and ....Krispy Kreme Doughnuts. Parking on the doorstep. For those on foot the bus station was opposite the hotel and this did not cause any concern or noise at all for us. Make sure you take a hearse trip around town as Savannah is known as the most haunted city in the USA. We hope to stay with you again sometime and keep up the good work

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thespiritworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Prospect, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. It is right on the edge of the historic district - great location. The staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations, directions, everything! The room was clean and well maintained. Loved it! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

This is an old motel, but extremely clean. I can't even put into words how amazing, outgoing and helpful the staff are. I hope I have his name right, Adam (beautiful blue eyes) went above and beyond to help us make not only out stay, but our vacation PERFECT!!! I would recommend this inn to everyone, you simply so not get this kind of service anywhere else! The RC cola and moon pies were a cute touch. We will be back and can't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Comfort Inn Midtown
#44 of 113 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#18 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing