We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #33 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a functional hotel, with basic amenities, no more, no less. Staff was pleasant. Rooms were older, so you may see some mold in the shower tiles, etc.. Yes, it is across from the bus station, but we did not experience noise or anything else out of the ordinary from that being so. VERY accessible to downtown Savannah, you can catch a DOT trolley across the street. We easily walked all over: River District, City Market, Jones Street, the Victorian Districts, Forsyth Park... you get the picture. Did not rate above average because of age of hotel, but would give location and price an excellent, and staff a very good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Tbird and our staff. I am pleased you had a nice experience and was able to take advantage of the free DOT shuttle at the restored retro transit station located across the street. It is a great way to get around the city for free!

I am sorry you couldn't rate us above average. Maybe next time we will be able to push you up one ranking! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,730)
There are newer reviews for The Thunderbird Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,730 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

our first time in Savannah and we would definitely come back here.they are incredibly pet friendly and offer doggie beds and treats to all free family members.the entire staff is incredibly helpful and goes out of their way to meet any request.definitely worth the price, which is more than reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

A great staff is such a pleasant surprise, don't you think? I know that is my greatest asset. I am glad they wowed you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Staff were very pleasant, the rooms were basic but have everything you need. RC Cola and Moonpies were a fun touch and the breakfast Krispy Kreme doughnuts were lovely. Great location within easy walk of the places of interest in Savannah. Price was very reasonable given its location but would have preferred that the $5 parking charge was included.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Incredible_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us on your visit to the States! I thrilled you loved our little piece of Americana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The only reason to stay here is price - if you can find somewhere in the same vacinity to the town and its attractions then stay there.

On arrival it became apparent that the clerk was harrassed, this would have been ok but I had driven from Atlanta and I am conscientious of my H20 intake, the room he alloted was already occupied and my control was at breaking - in comes Tracy who with wit, charm and intelligence sorted my issue in a jiffy and politely ignored my hopping.

The room itself is basic and owes nothing to the 50/60s era it claims to throwback to. The shower was so degraded it was almost inoperable and the parking was beyond annoying. Some BMW owner (entitled self-worth some may say) took up two spaces when each car paid $5 and the spaves were at a premium!

The only reason to stay here is the cost and its proximity to central Savannah.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach_of_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Savannah and the Thunderbird Inn. The staff was very courteous and helpful throughout our entire stay. They made sure we had everything we needed and gave us tips on where to go and how to get there. This hotel is located on the edge of the historic district and very close to River Street. It is on the edge of a sketchy neighborhood but the staff made sure to tell us which way to go when we left the hotel to avoid it. The coffee and donuts were good and fresh every morning. The rooms could use a little updating but overall they were comfortable and clean. The water pressure is weak and the bathroom was small but clean. I would recommend this place for anyone wanting to stay near downtown at a cheap rate!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzieQReed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The staff of the Thunderbird Inn was outstanding. Each person we came in contact with went out of their way to answer questions, offer assistance or simply make us feel welcome. The hotel itself was quite retro and basic- but as advertised. Very comfortable beds, small refrigerators, coffee makers- all the basics plus free donuts and coffee every morning! Location was good- an easy walk to any part of the historic district. Compared to the price of other hotels in the historic district, this one was a real deal!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silco4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Facility-wise, this is a very average motel. Staff puts it above average.
PROS--Good price, comfortable bed, clean, friendly & helpful staff.
CONS--Carry the "green" theme to the point of inconvenience. Had to take lampshades off to read in the room; flow restrictor on shower brought flow down to a trickle; Sorry, but I prefer disposable cups in a public place for sanitary reasons. Sparcely furnished--had to pull desk chair over to the bed since there was only a nightstand on one side of the bed. Sign indicated it opened in 1964 and I would bet a lot of the furniture is original. Place is starting to need some TLC.
END RESULT--Would not stay here again. Prefer to pay a little more for a few more amenties.
BY THE WAY--Parking is not free as this website indicates. However it is mere $5/day which is more than reasonable in Savannah this close to the historic district

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sambucca45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#26 of 114 in Savannah
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: £95 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing