We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Thunderbird Inn
Ranked #33 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manteo, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This place has everything you want and need when visiting to sav. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed by the staff , instantly got a room for a great price, and Tracy from the front desk was extramly helpful and answered all my questions. 5 stars in my book

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    601
    251
    126
    80
See reviews for
400
752
113
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I have always wanted to have a retro inn hotel experience in the USA. I booked this hotel online for this very reason, and stayed 3 days there. The staff members were all polite,friendly and welcoming. Two staff members went above and beyond, in making sure that we had an awesome experience(helping with booking tours, and much more during our short stay there.) Will definitely stay retro again, and definitely at this place(hopefully for longer next time.) The manager and assistant manager were very helpful and even helped me to find my camera charger!(the manager)
Two very far from home Australians are still raving about this place, 5 months later...and wish all the staff the best, as they made us feel extremely welcome :D

Room Tip: There is a room that is close to noise, when we asked to be moved, they were very accommodating, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stace81350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wewahitchka, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at the thunderbird during our honeymoon in Savannah. Very cute room and friendly staff. The bed was ridiculously comfortable. Wifi was spotty but who cares when you're within walking distance to historic downtown savannah. Will return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I just got back to NC after traveling to Savannah for my 9 year olds gymnastics meet and had a very unfortunate experience at the Thunderbird Hotel. I traveled 6 hours, had 15 minutes to check in and walk to the meet and was greeted by "we overbooked and you don't have a room." I was also told I did not have a reservation, which I had the email confirmation WITH me. I was told I didn't put down a deposit yet they had my credit card number. I was told they tried to call me all day to let me know, well, I was TRAVELING all day, hence the hotel reservation. The girl at the desk was VERY disrespectful, was not apologetic or sympathetic and even had the nerve to call me irate and threaten to ask me to leave when I was only upset and needing a quick fix to the problem, which they SHOULD have figured out already. There was NO manager on duty and the rude "financial manager" I talked on the phone just kept reiterating "mam, I tried to call you the last 5 hours." I WAS DRIVING THE LAST 6 HOURS! Ugh! Anyway, it wasn't the double booking, mistakes happen. It was the sheer rudeness and lack of accepting responsibility for their huge mistake. Don't claim I didn't put down a deposit or have a reservation when I have a confirmation email and you have ALL my information. Worst experience ever and I am so glad my husband wasn't there because that awful girl behind the counter would have had a much worse day. I will be looking into contacting a higher management.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed by chance at The Thunderbird after booking on Hotwire.com. Staff and service were great! Room had very nice amenities (toiletries, coffee maker, fridge, wi-fi...) and very clean. I stayed 4 nights and every evening upon returning to my room I found my bed made, towels refreshed, and trash emptied, and all of my belongings were exactly were I had left them. The Thunderbird is 2 short blocks from the official "Historic District" grid, and right across the street from the free DOT shuttle stop which runs all over downtown. Groovy, man.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the center of the hotel as the housekeeping staff has facilities on the ends an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Adorable little retro hotel for a very reasonable rate in a very expensive area. It was fun. We just wanted a fun place in downtown Savannah and we thought it was very romantic and cute for the price we paid.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickiebabe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

For the price, this motel is in a great location. It's just blocks from the Riverwalk and the historical section of Savannah. It's also pet friendly. I was only in town for one night but I will definitely come back. It was so easy to just walk from the hotel with my dog to all of the outdoor eating establishments that were so close by. It's no frills but it's clean and that's all I really care about. I kind of liked how quirky the place was too.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Yamacraw Village
Fairfield Inn & Suites Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
B Historic Savannah
B Historic Savannah
#25 of 113 in Savannah
489 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#11 of 113 in Savannah
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thunderbird Inn

Property: The Thunderbird Inn
Address: 611 W Oglethorpe Ave, Savannah, GA 31401-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Yamacraw Village
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meet-up at our delightfully quirky motel where refined Savannah's so-historic location and so-hip eccentricities hook up. Discounted Savannah lodging was never so much fun! Hotel rates include Moon Pies and Krispy Kreme donuts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thunderbird Hotel Savannah
Thunderbird Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing